We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our 1st visit to the Skirrid Inn.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Llanvihangel Crucorney
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Skirrid Mountain Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdare
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Our 1st visit to the Skirrid Inn.”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Our 1st visit to this lovely old pub and it certainly won't be our last. Geoff and Sharon, the landlord and landlady really made us feel welcome. They and their staff are so friendly.
We had a lunchtime meal of steak, guiness and mushroom pie which was excellent and the chips were the best we've ever tasted. There is a good choice of menu and reasonably priced.
The place is steeped in history and they gave us a guided tour which was very interesting. We will definitely return and hopefully have an overnight stay.

Room Tip: Our favorite room would be room 1. The spookiest seems room 2.!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ellymay-martin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    67
    19
    12
    11
See reviews for
42
91
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blackwood, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

I have eaten hear many times over the years, it's a lovely old place with bags of history, I understand that it can't be altered and I wouldn't want it to be!! But it's not very clean!! The bar area which you can eat in could do with a scrub from top too bottom, some seat cushions, some new table mats and clean condiments would go a long way!!! Moving on to the toilet area, well let's just say it should be ripped out and totally replace!! I know it's old, but it doesn't have to be dirty!! Having said that the food is ok and very reasonably priced, but it makes me think if it's dirty where we can see, how clean is the kitchen where we can't see???

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank crazyhorses111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

For some reason best understood by others the SO and I decided to visit this venerable inn. Travelling twixt Abergavenny and Lock's Garage we slipped off the main road and turned into a minor nightmare. We should have turned away as soon as we walked in. Shabby and damp smelling with grey people listlessly sipping stale beer whilst waiting for their microwaved or deep fried food to appear. The place is redolent of one of those sixties fairground ghost rides with tacky hangman's noose décor and a 'scary' mannequin on the stairs. It was so grim. The food (cheese ploughmans) was as we expected - rubbery cheese, three cocktail silverskins, some boil in the bag lettuce and a slice or two of nasty dutch tomatoes. The food was scary enough I suppose..

Room Tip: Don't, if they are like the rest of the place they will be grim.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jasper T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delft, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
59 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

The food was rather disappointing: the veg was microwaved from frozen, the nut roast too greasy, and the chocolate fudge cake smelled stale. The building is pretty, but it's a pity the food doesn't match the setting.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Saskia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We have recently stayed here for two nights for my husbands 50th birthday and had a great time. There are 3 rooms, we had room 2, very large and spacious and the sun pours in onto the four poster bed in the morning. Being Wales oldest inn it is steeped in history albeit at times a tragic one but added to the excitement. The food was plentiful, so much value for money and the host was very attentive. We can only recommend this to everyone who wants to stay in a haunted inn where you will not be disappointed. My husband has not stopped thanking me for the experience which he said he will remember with fond memories.

Room Tip: If you want a more scary experience, we were told room 3 was the best for ghostly activity
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank abby h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 March 2014

So loved spending the night at the skirrid, warm welcome, great food, and great breakfast. Slt well, but felt uneasy going in bathroom, so soon ran out quick. Will be going back again soon with my friends to spend the night. Thanks for making us feel welcome.

Room Tip: Haunted room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hungerford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

a must for all super natural buffs , and people who love history , it has a fantastic atmosphere , and has a spooky twist , with a sense of feeling in a warm abode , it has great food and ales , and the landlord and his wife are very friendly, the rooms are great and you have the freedom of venturing out on ghost hunts if you wish , much more than expected and a fantastic friendly atmosphere , the landlord geoff , will go out his way to make your stay extra special , and knows a lot about the history of the area and will show you around , it was three good size rooms which felt very cozy and non threatening , but still has the eerie effects of all its character , the food was very enjoyable and cater for vegetarians, a big thumbs up from us !!

Room Tip: Room 1 and 2 are similar and room three has more character !
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanvihangel Crucorney
4.4 mi away
The Angel
The Angel
#1 of 2 in Abergavenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
6.8 mi away
Llansantffraed Court
Llansantffraed Court
#2 of 2 in Abergavenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
The Swan at Hay
The Swan at Hay
#1 of 1 in Hay-on-Wye
3.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
4.4 mi away
Kings Arms
Kings Arms
#3 of 29 in Abergavenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
1.1 mi away
Brynhonddu Country House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skirrid Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skirrid Mountain Inn

Property: Skirrid Mountain Inn
Address: Llanvihangel Crucorney NP7 8DH, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Llanvihangel Crucorney
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Llanvihangel Crucorney
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Skirrid Mountain Hotel Llanvihangel Crucorney
Skirrid Mountain Inn Llanvihangel Crucorney, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing