We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton by Hilton Newport East
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Magor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2012

This was our first visit to a Hampton and we weren't disappointed, much higher standard than a Travelodge or Premier Inn. The staff are extremly helpful and friendly and as we have a 10 month baby even offered us a cot on check in. We checked in at 3pm and the room was ready for us. We booked through Expedia so a slightly cheaper weekend rate with breakfast included. The breakfast was a bonus as plently of choice with hot and cold buffet. The room was plenlty big enough for our travel cot and nicely presented. Would definately use this hotel again, a great visit to Wales.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TreesyEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roger_goldsworthy, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Newport East, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2012

I’m so glad you enjoyed your stay, to receive such positive comments is very encouraging to all the team here in Newport.
Please come and see us again soon
Roger Goldsworthy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,422)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,265 - 1,271 of 1,423 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2012

Our first visit to a Hampton - the room was excellent higher standard than other budget hotels we have stayed at. The bathroom fittings of high quality and well presented/spotless. The room rate included hot buffet breakfast - the only plates to be found were side plates - perhaps they were anxious guests not take too much!! The coffee was in pre filled urns and stewed, although instant sachets were available and good quality coffee was available at the bar for an additional cost. The reception staff were professional and helpful - we would use this chain again when traveling.

Room Tip: The hotel is on an industrial park and there seemed to be a very strange smell in some areas on low...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BusybeeSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roger_goldsworthy, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Newport East, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2012

Thank you for all your positive comments
Just to let you know, we have just ordered some bigger plates for breakfast; Hampton has reviewed this standard and now allows us to buy a larger one, we always listen wherever possible to comments that will improve our service
You are right there is sometimes a smell in the area, we are situated opposite a brewery, and twice a week when they brew we can catch the smell of hops.
Please come and see us again soon
Roger Goldsworthy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

We stayed here for four nights while seeing friends in the area and found it incredibly comfortable and a great value for the money. This was an excellent hotel in terms of staff, breakfast, and environment. The simple bar at reception is surprisingly well-stocked, and the lobby is a pleasant place to relax.

You must have a car to stay here, since it location in a business park is rather remote and not near anything - even the closest town, Magor, is too far to walk.

The only real problem was the internet - the wi-fi did not reach to our room, on the third floor at the other end of the building from the lobby. Even in the lobby, my computer would not connect to the hotel network. Several other guests I spoke to had this problem as well. My wife's computer, however, could connect, so I'm not sure what the issue was. If internet connectivity is important for you while staying here, be sure to get a room close to the lobby.

Room Tip: We were on the side next to the motorway, but didn't notice any noise. Again, though, the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Orenco06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roger_goldsworthy, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Newport East, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2012

Thank you for all your kind comments
We are increasing the bandwidth for our free internet connection.
We have become so successful in promoting what is a great new brand which includes this free service, therefore the usage has increased dramatically ,we recognise this is an issue and are installing additional lines this week to solve this problem.
Please come and see us again soon
Roger Goldsworthy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We were traveling through the UK ; seeing the beautiful sights of Wales and booked a night at this hotel. We booked a Queen with sofa bed. I was ready to stay in a place that was cramped, maybe a bit dated, etc. This was by far one of the better places we stayed. The staff was helpful, friendly and competent. We went down later and ordered drinks, which were fine. The next morning we had the buffet breakfast which was decent with some variety of hot and cold foods. We didn't have to pay for hotel parking, which I read another reviewer complaining about, so I'm not sure what that was about. We didn't purchase snacks from the front desk because they are always expensive no matter what hotel it is. That being said, we would most definitely stay at this property again.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 2nd floor, never heard any noise above us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oneaznative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roger_goldsworthy, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Newport East, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2012

Thank you for all your great comments
I can confirm we do not charge for car parking, the review you were referring to was for the Hilton Hotel in Newport, which does indeed charge for car parking and WI Fi neither of which we do.
Plus of course we offer a full breakfast which is also free.
Please come and see us again soon
Roger Goldsworthy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

My wife and I used this hotel as a base for walking the nearby Wales coast path. The hotel is new and well cleaned and maintained. I am an experienced hotel user and this is amongst the best especially the value for money. I was impressed with the quick no fuss check-in and check-out. The breakfast set up is different but there is no lack of well cooked food and other options.

Room Tip: Our room was on the third floor. There was no sound from other rooms, the M4 or any other unwanted n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorcesterBathBoy146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roger_goldsworthy, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Newport East, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2012

Thank you for all the lovely comments
We are indeed in a great part of Wales , not only do we have the great City of Cardiff on our door step , but the wonderful picturesque Wye valley is only minutes away,
Please come and see us again soon
Roger Goldsworthy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

The best base for a south Wales trip, good price for a lot in return, extremely good value for money. suits business, family, couples.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MZQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roger_goldsworthy, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Newport East, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2012

Thank you for all the lovely comments
Indeed, we pride ourselves in offering 4 star accommodation and service at a budget price.
And as you noted all our rates include free breakfast, and free Wi Fi.
Please come and see us again soon
Roger Goldsworthy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Have recently stayed at the new Hampton by Hilton in Newport, First time staying at a Hilton Hotel. The service by all staff was excellant, the rooms were bright and modern and had a real quality feel about them. Free breakfast in the morning was really good and plenty to choose from. Having stayed at many Travelodges and premier Inns in the past and paid above the price for this Hotel, this far exceeds their standard of rooms and quality of hotel and service. the only one thing that could improve this hotel would be to have a better choice of evening menu.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NeilBry123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roger_goldsworthy, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Newport East, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2012

Thank you for all the lovely comments
We pride ourselves in offering 4 star accommodation and service at a budget price, but if you feel we offer 5 star services I will not disagree, it’s very flattering
And as you noted all our rates include free breakfast, and free Wi Fi.
Please come and see us again soon
Roger Goldsworthy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Magor
6.2 mi away
St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club
8.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newport
10.3 mi away
Best Western Royal George Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel
3.7 mi away
Coldra Court Hotel
Coldra Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Langstone
460 reviews
5.6 mi away
Ramada Resort Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton by Hilton Newport East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton by Hilton Newport East

Address: M4 J 23a; Wales 1 Business Park Newport, Magor NP26 3RA, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Magor
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Magor
Price Range: £46 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton by Hilton Newport East 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton by Hilton Newport/East is proud to be the first newly built brand hotel providing the perfect location for a visit to South Wales close to Junction 23a of the M4 [Opened September 2010]. Start the day off while enjoying a relaxing hot & cold breakfast in our dining area or in our work zone with our free Wi-Fi or even back to your room for a high speed internet connection. With a focus on unfussy service & great facilities this contemporary hotel is only a 25 minute drive to Cardiff. With an enviable location close to the M4, Newport, Bristol & Cardiff the Hampton by Hilton Newport East hotel puts you near it all. We’re close to Cardiff City with Cardiff Castle, Millennium Stadium & Cardiff also Bristol Hippodrome. Newport train station is 8 miles away; Bristol airport and Cardiff airport are only 34 miles & 26 miles respectively. Whether you’re travelling for business or pleasure the Hampton by Hilton Newport East hotel puts South Wales and Southwest England at your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton by Hilton Newport East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton By Hilton Newport East Hotel Magor
Hampton By Hilton Newport East Magor, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing