We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissapointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton by Hilton Newport East
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Magor
Certificate of Excellence
Polperro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Dissapointing”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We were in a party of seven who come up from Cornwall as our daughter and our friends daughter were competing at the David Broom Center. We arrived on fri. 25th and left sun 27th and had three rooms booked. After having a shower we went to the bar and had a meal which was average with a very limited choice of dishes. After spending the evening there we noticed people were having food delivered and eating at the tables in the restaurant, even having plates given to them, there was a party of workmen who had pizzas and a party of about 6 who had an indian brought. We inquired if we could do this on the saturday night and were told "yes after 10pm" as we would be later back after competing. On the saturday we went to the bar at about 9 in the evening, had a drink and asked about the places that did takeaway food to be delivered, we were given a list of places with the phone numbers but were told we would have to eat in our rooms which was a complete contradiction to the previous night. After trying to explain that the previous evenings manager and staff had said it was o.k.we were more or less called liars!!!!! We then tried to order food from the bar, MOST things were unavailable and we were eventually told they had not had a delivery on the friday.This they would have known earlier. There were no pizzas, chicken for the burgers no large yorkshire puddings or fillings. Our friends wife was starving so she asked what they actually had and ended up with a cumberland sausage with 2 very small yorkshire puddings, black "roast" potato brown cauliflower some other kind of mashed veg and gravy that was so thin and insipid it looked like dishwater, she complained and the manager came over and gave her the money back and saying sorry it wasn't up to standard, it was actually impossible to eat. We then ordered pizzas to be delivered as by now we were all hungry, while we waited for them to come two ladies had an indian delivered and sat in the restaurant to eat it on plates that had been given to them by the STAFF,if you read previous reviews you will see other people have had takeaways in the bar area, this seems to be double standards!!!! We went to our room just after finishing our pizzas and my wife closed the curtains and noticed something on the floor behind the sofa bed (which we didn't use) this was a pair of socks which must have been there for the 2 days we had stayed there.The housekeeper said he could not understand it as the rooms were cleaned every day and everything was pulled out as a matter of course, not checked enough! The beds were also some of the hardest we have ever had the misfortune to try and sleep on and the central heating seemed to have a mind of its own , fluctuating between 19 and 25.9degrees. Overall the stay was nowhere what we expected from a chain with your name behind it. The friday staff were pleasant and helpful and the saturday staff seemed to have one rule for some and not others and complete jobsworths. I have been in the catering trade for over 50 years and having our own restaurant for 30 years (which had five stars on tripadvisor) and i would never send out anything from the kitchen we would not eat ourselves and i said to your chef he must have been embarrassed to send the food out of the kitchen. Overall better staff training,

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank pol-seagull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    636
    450
    130
    44
    21
See reviews for
376
398
57
309
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, UK
Level Contributor
219 reviews
202 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 326 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Stayed for 3 nights, one using HHonors Points the other two nights paid. Found a really good rate which represented good value for money. Plenty of free parking available and easy to access Cardiff, Bristol etc. We drove to Cardiff waterfront to eat, lots of good choices of restaurants and not really so far to travel.

Check in was quick, staff are very friendly. Breakfast had been extended until 11am due to bank holiday weekend. Rooms are comfortable, clean, air conditioned. I personally miss a fridge, but I know this isn't standard with the Hampton brand. The hotel could maybe invest in an Ice machine though.

Breakfast the first morning was great, although there are not a lot of choices if you are vegetarian or don't eat pork. I've seen better breakfasts in other Hampton's, but it was hot and plentiful and staff had set out extra tables as they knew they would be busy.

On the second and third morning, breakfast got worse. Children running around, not behaving themselves. Running out of items and most annoyingly running out of plates. I did mention this in my follow up survey and received a reply from the manager to say that more crockery had been ordered.

Standing queuing for a plate is not really the best start to your day! They just need to do the maths, total number of rooms x 2 persons per room, allowing for 1 child or those who might take two plates... Despite these annoyances and some of the clientele the hotel is a great find and I would be happy to return again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

This was our third visit to this hotel. Rooms are of a high standard, the air con is difficult to get just right but we are getting better at this! Staff are helpful. The breakfast is decent but possibly a little " plastic" but given the room prices what can you expect. Good location and preferable to the similar hotels in Bristol which is a short drive away. I'm sure we will stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roger_goldsworthy, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Newport East, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you very much for your kind words,
Enormous effort has gone into creating this new UK brand, with the aim to deliver the best Hotel experience within the focused service sector.
The key to delivering this ambition is not only to build high quality Hotels with top of the range fixtures and fittings, but to ensure the quality of the service and welcome match this aim.
When this is recognised with comments such as this my whole team are encouraged to try even harder to make every stay for our guests a great experience.
We all look forward to seeing you again soon.
Thank you
Roger Goldsworthy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2014

O.k so apart from the bed being rock solid and the pull out bed injuring my child (a piece of metal protruding from the end caught his knee and he was in pain for ages) I feel that some senior management should get down to Wales and sort the place out. For a start, the menu on reception for 24/7 snacks (which includes pizza and nachos) finishes at 10 pm sharp Uh!( 24/7?) we were told on the Friday night that 10 minutes later and we would have missed out. We were informed by the manageress that we could order a take away and eat in the dining area or reception after 10 pm this we decided to do on the Saturday night after witnessing two groups of people doing exactly that, but Oh no! the Saturday crew were having none of it they didn't believe us! even though there was nothing left on the menu almost everything was out of stock apparently not ordered on the Friday that being the case we ordered pizza from a local take away and decided that we were going to scoff the lot in the reception as we had just witnessed a couple of women take an outside Indian meal to the dining area with the managers permission! talk about double standards!!! We did try to eat at the hotel but the food was terrible and my wife got a refund on a horrible burnt spud and pee looking gravy meal, yes it looked like pee! anyhow as the place was busy and the staff pushed (weekend) the next morning we could see what the problem was, the manager was washing up and sorting the swill (what a come down) all of the staff seem to have multiple jobs and impossibly long hours.To be fair the reception staff held it together and couldn't be more helpful even though they knew we were telling the truth they were overruled by the manager, fair play to them. I won't stay there again and neither will my friends whom found a pair of socks down the side of the bed after the cleaners had been, but that is another review.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank woz R R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roger_goldsworthy, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Newport East, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
This Hotel does not respond to reviews that include inaccuracies and derogatory comments aimed at our team members.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swansea
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Excellent value for money ,hotel easy to find convenient for the m4 corridoor ,quiet hotel no sound from traffic which was great. Stayed on the first floor of 4. Bed was nice and firm but comfortable.good gymnasium decent filling breakfast.Staff were attentive and very friendly,WILL DEFINATELY STAY AGAIN

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nigel m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roger_goldsworthy, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Newport East, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you so much for this review,
I am very glad your stay was an enjoyable one.
We will have been open just over 3 years and I am pleased it is still looking like new as we take great care in the upkeep and maintenance of the Hotel.
We work hard every day to make the building spotless, and work closely with our team to ensure they give great service and offer the relaxed friendly environment we wish to create
Please come and see us again soon
Roger Goldsworthy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights - unexpected trip to visit relative in Newport hospital. The hotel is easy to find and very convenient for the M4 but you don't hear the traffic. Good views from the 4th floor. I found the bed to be firmer than I would like, but that's probably personal taste. Good range of toiletries, spotlessly clean shower/room (hairdryer inside the wardrobe). My only complaint was the air conditioning seemed to have a mind of its own in my room. A very helpful member of staff came with me to show me how it was supposed to be (I had been doing it right all along), but the control panel constantly shifted back to the mid 20 Deg C range (I prefer a cooler room). This was mentioned on departure and I have also received an apology email from the Manager who said the unit is probably faulty and will be changed. Helpful staff and good choice of breakfast - a notch above Travelodge for sure, but I think Premier Inn still have more comfortable beds.

Room Tip: Even numbered rooms have views over the countryside, odd numbered rooms face southwards to the Brist...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elswickian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roger_goldsworthy, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Newport East, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to give us your views ,
We try very hard to make this Hotel a fantastic place to stay, and helpful feedback like this is very useful.
I am pleased to say, we have now introduced free Wi-Fi throughout the Hotel as another benefit to our guests.
Please come and see us again soon.

Roger Goldsworthy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights and have no complaints really, the internet speed was excellent, breakfast was great and a reasonable gym. Aah, we weren't pleased with the menu options in the restaurant, preferred MacDonald across the road. Location wise, Cardiff city center is around 20 mins drive, however we didn't find anything interesting in the surrounding area. Overall experience, I would strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Amit D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roger_goldsworthy, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Newport East, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to give us your views,
We try very hard to make this Hotel a fantastic place to stay, and helpful feedback like this is very useful.
All the comments I receive are discussed with the whole team as we strive to learn from every response in order to continually improve our service and facilities.
In addition to all the facilities we offer at the Hampton Hotel we are opening a new restaurant on site , which will up and running this summer.
We very much value the business we received from you .
Thank you for coming to stay with us please come and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Magor
6.2 mi away
St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club
8.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newport
3.7 mi away
Premier Inn Newport Wales (M4, J24) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Ramada Resort Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel & Spa
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Newport
Holiday Inn Newport
#8 of 18 in Newport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Parkway Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton by Hilton Newport East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton by Hilton Newport East

Property: Hampton by Hilton Newport East
Address: M4 J 23a; Wales 1 Business Park Newport, Magor NP26 3RA, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Magor
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Magor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton by Hilton Newport East 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton by Hilton Newport/East is proud to be the first newly built brand hotel providing the perfect location for a visit to South Wales close to Junction 23a of the M4 [Opened September 2010]. Start the day off while enjoying a relaxing hot & cold breakfast in our dining area or in our work zone with our free Wi-Fi or even back to your room for a high speed internet connection. With a focus on unfussy service & great facilities this contemporary hotel is only a 25 minute drive to Cardiff. With an enviable location close to the M4, Newport, Bristol & Cardiff the Hampton by Hilton Newport East hotel puts you near it all. We’re close to Cardiff City with Cardiff Castle, Millennium Stadium & Cardiff also Bristol Hippodrome. Newport train station is 8 miles away; Bristol airport and Cardiff airport are only 34 miles & 26 miles respectively. Whether you’re travelling for business or pleasure the Hampton by Hilton Newport East hotel puts South Wales and Southwest England at your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hampton by Hilton Newport East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton By Hilton Newport East Hotel Magor
Hampton By Hilton Newport East Magor, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing