We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value country hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Black Lion Royal Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lampeter
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great value country hotel.”
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Have stayed at 'The Lion' a few times now, first time decided to stay here despite the reviews as it's the only hotel in town. As always I've arrived to find the staff friendly the room and bed clean and tidy. Breakfast is always good. At £50 including breakfast, for two, I'm not expecting the Ritz. And I'm certainly getting all I pay for. Great as ever.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angus B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    39
    45
    31
    32
See reviews for
32
49
18
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 December 2012

Ok so I came into this expecting bad things, after reading reviews, but I have to say I was relieved!

Staff were very busy, but when I found one he quickly took me through the payment, I'm on crutches, so he offered me a room swap for a single/twin. I decided against it and was put in 209.

Pub itself is lovely, old, traditional, and the food although I've not had any smelt amazing.

The room, is good. It has everything I could want, there was the dreaded funny smell in the toilet, but that's due to it not being very well ventilated. 10 minutes with the bathroom door open and the room window and hey presto!

Room itself isn't exactly modern, but we're not in a very modern town, or building. It has everything I need, wifi, a phone, clean sheets, towels, and room.

In the end, I paid £51.85 for a room, in a pub, on New Year's Eve, with 2 breakfasts, what more should I really want?!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CiaranMckeown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 December 2012

We arrived really late and the bar staff were very welcoming and helpful. Room as expected, a big room, could do with a deep clean, and re decoration, but what do you expect for £39 a night. The first morning the housekeeping staff nearly walked in. As we hadn't left the room by 9:30 the room was never made up that day. the next day we didn't know what time to check out so thought 11:30 on a Sunday seamed reasonable. A knock on the door at 11:00 and we were confronted by the Housekeeper, hand on hip, "You should have checked out". We tried to explain that there was no guidence when she barged into the room to check. We told her to leave us alone! She was not amused, clearly fed up with having a hotel full and having to work a bit harder, she needs sacking. Appart from that we recommend it if you want a budget hotel with no frills, we would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveladdict254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
125 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

This is not on the road of every visitor and I liked it. It has genuine feeling. I like these pub hotels from time to time and this one was good choice. The staff was helpful, food was good in the pub, rooms was clean with proper shower, there was a parking place at the back of the hotel. It was just perfect stop on the roadtrip and very pleasant suprise. Everything is on order. Price was reasonable

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

We stayed one night at this hotel as we were visiting relatives in the local area. It was just great! As previously said it is a little tired but excellent value for money, beautiful old building and the staff could not have been more helpful and nice. The food was great and the rooms were wonderfully clean. We are used to 100 years old as being old certainly not 600 years! It was an amazing evening for us all. It was right in the centre of town and easy to find, even when we got lost on a morning walk!! Wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

Room Tip: Perhaps ask for a room facing the beer garden at the back as the traffic does start quite early. Doe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morrine2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Look beyond the tired paint work and creaking floors (after all this is an old building) and the Black Lion provides a comfortable and inexpensive hotel. the rooms could do with some investment, but at the price charged it is difficult to see where this will come from. The staff were excellent, very helpful and the food was plentiful and good quality. The 'very good' rating reflects the £39 a night paid, although be warned breakfast is extra (but at £6.95 for full English it is good value).

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tachyporus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales
Level Contributor
60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

I stayed here with 14 other cyclists on Saturday September 15th. Excellent value for money right in the middle of the town. We all ate there in the evening and the food, service and staff were excellent. Everything arrived exactly how we ordered it and at the same time. Faultless.

Mike

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeCfromEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lampeter
0.9 mi away
The Falcondale Hotel
The Falcondale Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lampeter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
9.7 mi away
Y Talbot
Y Talbot
#1 of 1 in Tregaron
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
11.6 mi away
Feathers Royal Hotel
Feathers Royal Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aberaeron
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Aberaeron
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
20.2 mi away
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
#6 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
17.2 mi away
Emlyn Hotel
Emlyn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newcastle Emlyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Black Lion Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Lion Royal Hotel

Property: The Black Lion Royal Hotel
Address: Black Lion Royal Hotel Dyfed High Street, Lampeter SA48 7BG, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Lampeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lampeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Black Lion Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Black Lion Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Black Lion Royal Hotel Lampeter, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing