We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some redeeming features !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Black Lion Royal Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lampeter
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Some redeeming features !”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

It is hard not to agree with many of the aforementioned comments posted by others about this establishment. I have stayed here a couple of times and have always found the staff to be very nice and the food in the restaurant in the evening has been good.

The general state of the accommodation in the hotel is below par. However, the linen is spotless and the bathroom was furnished with a good supply of towels. Yes, there are broken fittings and yes, the decor has definitely seen better days. But as the old adage says 'You get what you pay for. ' And I have definitely stayed in worse !

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pdcaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    39
    46
    31
    34
See reviews for
32
49
19
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Asked for an upgraded room dread to think what the normal ones looked like.
On arrival main light in room was not working. Went to reception and the chef immediately changed it (would have been better with no light).
On every wall the wallpaper was coming off and also the ceiling. I would not walk on the carpet without my shoes on. There were large spiders webs where the ceiling met the walls. The net curtains which should have been white were very dark grey. You could not sit and do your hair or makeup at the dressing table because there was a tv on it in the way of the mirror. Therefore had to do my hair and makeup standing up.
On a good point the bed and bedding were very clean and also the bathroom being the only reason I stayed the night. The only problem in the bathroom was that your mirror had not been cleaned.
Across the road I believe is the town hall (not sure) but it has a clock on the top of it and it chimes very fifteen minutes therefore as you can imagine I did not get much sleep.
We had an evening meal there which was very good and also breakfast which was very good.

Would I stay here again - NO

Needs a lot of work doing to it

Room Tip: Do you stay at the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lampeter hotels

Romsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Stayed 1 night at this hotel, Breakfast good,Rooms dated,the one we had was 209 had a terrible smell of sewage eminating from the bathroom. We also had the noise of the bells going on all evening all you could do was cat nap, also sharing our room was several big spiders (big phobia)also their webs ( i thought the housekeeper was thinking ahead and left as decorations for xmas)
Overall not too bad would not stay again. My advice is get rid of housekeeper and employ one that takes a pride in her work

Room Tip: wouldn't advise for long stay,
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sue h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

The bar food was good and the Breakfast ok. The cost of the room was £30 per night and as such I was expecting budget. I stayed 2 nights décor is definitely tired dirty looking wallpaper large cracks all over the ceiling. Public areas are bad As regards the furniture, there were 3 legs on the bed, behind the bed there was a dirty old towel and the skirting board was thick with dust the Dressing table stool stained with god knows what the furniture generally knackered. The walls in the window was covered with black mould as were the tiles in the shower. Bathroom Extractor was dripping dust & the light didn't work The light fitting over the sink does not comply with electrical regulations The shower control was covered in years of grime and to top it all it didn't work. black cobwebs everywhere and the Net curtains in the room and public areas were Black with filth. Needs a damn good clean putting aside the worn out décor. I didn't investigate the mattress or duvet in case it was filthy and there is no where else to stop in Lampeter This Hotel is owned and operated by a Brewery - Brain's, on the plus side the Staff were friendly and there was free internet - avoid if you can

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank r60djk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hengoed
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Stayed for one night before moving on to the Falcondale if you are expecting a five star experience this hotel is not for you. I agree with other reviewers that the decor throughout is a little tired but for me this added to the character of the place. The room like the hotel needs renovation, but everything you need for a hotel stay was provided. Some lampshades were missing but unlike others this did not overly detract from my stay. The traffic noise and clock were apparent but strangely did not disturb our nights rest.

We were up early for breakfast so there was no wait, unfortunately later arrivals would not be able to say the same. The one person who was taking orders, cooking and serving worked hard to keep up but this understaffing meant meant the self service items were not replenished and a wait for service was unavoidable, this could have been easily resolved with another member of staff being present. But as I said we were first in so didn't experience the issues faces by later arrivals.

In conclusion our stay was OK and I didn't pay a fortune for the privilege, given the choice and number of overall hotel beds in Lampeter I can see why despite the reviews, money has not been invested on this hotel. This is a shame because the hotel appears to be part of the Brains brewery chain who should be able to carry out the improvements that are needed, not sure they can do much about the town clock though.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Voghos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

My husband and I stayed for a couple of nights at this old coaching inn. Granted to décor is tired, but to me the important thing is getting a good nights sleep in a comfortable bed, and a nice breakfast in the morning. The bed was fine, and meant I didn't get up with backache, BUT when it came to having a bath the cold tap would not turn which meant I had to have a shower. The fan in the bathroom didn't work. I've been assured these would be attended to. I didn't report them on the first day of our stay, not wanting to make a fuss, but that all changed on the second morning. Breakfast is served from 7.30 - 9.00. We came down to breakfast about 8.30. The cooked breakfast took ages to arrive because there were several other people waiting. I asked for the toast to be put onto a separate plate with a clean knife because on the first morning it had been placed on the same plate as the cooked breakfast, with no spare knife. So far, so good, but when I came to get a cup of coffee, which incidentally is instant coffee placed in a bowl for guests to help themselves, the clean cups had been removed because it was already 9.00. I asked for cups, then had to ask for the hot water to be replenished. I'd had to ask for this on the previous day as well, and then had to ask for the marmalade as this too had been cleared away.

My advice to the staff serving breakfast would be to talk to their guests if they want to clear everything away whilst there are still people sitting eating breakfast. It's not hard, and would have prevented so much aggravation. I'd also suggest that the waiter does not walk around with a grey tea towel on his shoulder. It makes me wonder whether their kitchen hygiene is up to the mark.

Room Tip: The room we had was 205. Although the town clock could be heard in the background chiming every qua...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank naterbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
101 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

This hotel looks as though it was originally a coaching house and is obviously a very old building with masses of character which reflects on the style of furnishings in the general seating and dining areas on the ground floor. The food was excellent and the prices were quite reasonable, it was quite refreshing to be able to see into the kitchen and watch the food being prepared in a hygenic enviroment. Reception was at the bar but was very informative and eager to please, staff were also very helpful. We stayed in room 103 and were generally pleased with the standard of carpet,furnishings and bathroom, although the room was clean it was sadly let down by the wallpaper which was curling back at the edges. Although we only had a continental breakfast other guests enjoyed an english breakfast. Overall this was good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oebep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lampeter
0.9 mi away
The Falcondale Hotel
The Falcondale Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lampeter
698 reviews
9.7 mi away
Y Talbot
Y Talbot
#1 of 1 in Tregaron
312 reviews
11.6 mi away
Feathers Royal Hotel
Feathers Royal Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aberaeron
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
The Cawdor
The Cawdor
#2 of 3 in Llandeilo
438 reviews
11.8 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Aberaeron
163 reviews
4.4 mi away
No photo provided
Glasfryn Guest House
#4 of 12 in Lampeter
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Black Lion Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Lion Royal Hotel

Property: The Black Lion Royal Hotel
Address: Black Lion Royal Hotel Dyfed High Street, Lampeter SA48 7BG, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Lampeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lampeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Black Lion Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Black Lion Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Black Lion Royal Hotel Lampeter, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing