We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Falcondale Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lampeter
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Located in stunning countryside on the edge of historic market town, Lampeter, this hotel was once a private mansion in the Italian style and staying feels like a true country house experience. We stayed in the mini suite (all the standard rooms were booked) and I wish we had been celebrating an event as it was luxurious! The food is light, tempting and utterly delicious, served with style in the stunning dining room. The staff are all very friendly and helpful. The hotel provides picnics for touring lunches.

There is very limited internet, but this was not a problem staying for a short time, and was part of the "get away" feel. The grounds are at the head of a valley and very beautiful to walk in when it isn't raining!!! The hotel offers a loyalty card with discount and other special offers. It's not cheap, but you can get deals, and it is far and away the best place to stay in Lampeter and a very good base to explore the countreyside.

Room Tip: Ask what they have and book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kanga78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falcondale_Hotel, Front Office Manager at The Falcondale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2013

Thank you very much for your kind review, it is very much appreciated. The internet connection has been dodgy over the past couple of weeks, but I think whatever problem there was is now fixed.

We hope that we can welcome you back in the future, and maybe explore some more of the Welsh countryside and coastline.

Diolch,

Meleri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (740)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

478 - 484 of 741 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2013

We stayed earlier this month during the fabulous spell of weather. The hotel was very comfortable with with sumptuous gardens. Each evening (we were there for four nights) started with drinks on the terrace watching the light change. The food was delicious and staff very helpful. We took a picnic provided by the hotel on two days and amonst other things, enjoyed the gold mines and the beaches.

Our little fur baby enjoyed his holiday too and took his first paddle ever at New Quay!

Try and get a package offer, we did and it was fantastic! The best staycation in a long time!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yorkshire_Cyclist01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falcondale_Hotel, Front Office Manager at The Falcondale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at The Falcondale for your staycation; and thank you for taking time out in making a review.

Our 4 day explorer package is ideal for a midweek break or long weekend, and offers great value with dinner, packed lunches and tickets to Llanerchaeron National Trust Property. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed this package.

We hope that we can welcome you (and your fur baby) back to the Falcondale soon.

Diolch,

Meleri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

We live in nearby Pembrokeshire and visited for one night with a Groupon voucher. We had n't heard anything about this hotel so what a lovely surprise we had when we drove up the long driveway. Not only is it a very imposing building outside but also it is quite unique inside with the splendour of the past on show and the grounds are very beautiful with all the rhododendrons in bloom. Our room was huge and well maintained with a view across the gardens and an amazing tree outside( wondered what it was). We struggled through the 7 course taster meal which was delicious, very filling and the presentation of each course was in itself a work of art. The staff were all friendly and polite which is not always the case in some of the big hotel chains. Will certainly recommend a visit to friends and family and I hope we can return for a longer stay to this first class hotel.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Rita E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falcondale_Hotel, Front Office Manager at The Falcondale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2013

We greatly appreciate you taking "time-out" of your busy lives to review us on Tripadvisor. Adam (our gardener) puts in a lot of effort to make the lawns, shrubs and woodland as picture perfect as possible. The rhododendrons and azaleas this year are particularly beautiful as due to the weather they've all bloomed at the same time.

Being that you are relatively near to us here at Falcondale, we hope that now you've found us we will be able to welcome you back on a regular basis.

Diolch,

Meleri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

The Falcondale is located in a lovely rural situation on the outskirts of the rather nondescript town of Lampeter but less than 30 minutes drive from the pretty coastal town of Aberaeron on Cardigan Bay. So it is a good base for touring that part of west Wales.

The hotel itself is fine for a short break particularly if you take advantage of the special deals on offer through Groupon etc. My wife and I had a good value overnight stay which included an enjoyable 7 course tasting menu for dinner and full Welsh breakfast the following morning. Whilst we thought the tasting menu was interesting and imaginative, we would have felt short changed if we had paid the usual rate of £67-50 per person for the experience. It was definitely not worth that sort of money and the al a carte menu looked to be much better value.

The rooms are comfortable and well proportioned with all the amenities you might need, including a king sized bed. The staff are friendly and attentive and make you feel at home. All in all we enjoyed our stay and found it very easy to relax and unwind in the Falcondale.

Room Tip: Ask for a "better" room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeP47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falcondale_Hotel, Front Office Manager at The Falcondale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2013

Thank you for making time to write a review on Tripadvisor. Your comments (whether positive or negative) are a way for us to monitor and take action in areas as required. When comparing ourselves to other places of the same standard we believe we are on the lower end of the price scale, but still understand that to some people we can still appear to be expensive and so we will continue to monitor.

On the other hand, we are happy to hear that enjoyed your stay with us, and that you were able to unwind and relax in the manner that we hope all our guests are able to do.

Diolch,

Meleri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Booked two nights with my partner mid week and paid extra for an upgrade. When we arrived we were greeted by Mel and Lisa and shown to our room, which we were told was a free upgrade on our upgrade. The room was big with a huge, very comfy bed and the best views from three large windows overlooking the gardens and down the valley. We booked the 7 course taster menu for that evening which was divine, with the chef preparing some tasty veggie cuisine for myself and the meat version for my partner. My partners parents also came along to the Falcondale with us and were equally as happy with their room (although they did not book an upgrade) and the food there .Breakfast was also good with a varied selection of drinks, continental and full cooked. Lisa the owner is very nice and attentive, as are the rest of the staff. Would I go back there, yes for sure.

Room Tip: Room 23 is large with a huge, very comfy bed and fab views over the gardens and down the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tania L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falcondale_Hotel, Front Office Manager at The Falcondale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2013

Thank you to you and your parents for choosing to stay at The Falcondale, and for your great review - it is appreciated by the whole team.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Diolch,

Meleri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Myself and my two sisters have got to an age where we have decided instead of buying each other rubbish for birthdays we will 'treat' ourselves to something a 'bit posh'
Our first 'treat' was an overnight stay at The Falcondale with afternoon tea, 7 course gourmet taster evening meal and breakfast. On arrival it wasnt looking too good....although the staff were very friendly and attentive the afternoon tea was quite disappointing....however it just got better and better...the room was very comfortable and spacious....the evening meal was absolutely ..'to die for' even my fussy eater sister enjoyed every bit of it......Reception/lounge area was very comfortable and welcoming....toilets in this area (even the disabled one) were spotlessly clean. we liked the touch of individual small towels for drying hands instead of the usual paper or electronic dryers. Breakfast was also very good.The location of the hotel was beautiful...Will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne_1948528791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falcondale_Hotel, Front Office Manager at The Falcondale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2013

Thank you for taking time out in making a review. The afternoon tea booked along with your offer only included scones and biscuits (as per the voucher), and we are disappointed to hear that you were expecting more.

Although, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us for your birthday celebrations, and hope to welcome you back again.

Diolch,

Meleri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

My wife and I visited for a two night mid-week break. We arrived at about 2.00pm in the pouring rain but were very warmly greeted by Lisa at reception. Lisa immediately settled us into the conservatory with a lovely cream tea. What a view! Lisa then advised that she had taken the cases from our car to the room, which surprised us a little as it was still tipping it down – what service!
Our room didn’t have the greatest of views – it overlooked some roofing just below our window - but it was a very good size.

We enjoyed the ‘taster menu’ that evening – 7 courses beautifully prepared and presented in just the right portions. However, it was still a struggle to ascend the stairs to our room afterwards!

On the strength of the quality of the meal we decided to eat in the restaurant the following evening. My starter was scallops followed by venison and my wife had the plaice. Although I love my puddings I decided that two courses were sufficient but when the young waitress came to take our sweet orders I said jokingly that I only had room for a ‘Baked Alaska’ (it wasn’t on the menu). Hey presto! About 20 minutes later it arrived on our table! How accommodating – but I was advised that this was a typical example of how flexible the chef is prepared to be.

Make no mistake, the food here is brilliant. None of this nouvelle cuisine rubbish where you order venison for example and it arrives on your table as a sausage! (From a previous review). The breakfasts were also very good – freshly cooked and the kitchen happy to oblige with any special requests.

Negatives? – Well our room had a double bed and we would have been happier with a King size. In addition, we didn’t find it too comfortable – a mattress on a wooden frame rather than a spring base – not good enough imho for the advertised room rack rates.
The wine was a little pricey - £6+ for a 175ml glass of fairly ordinary wine. That equates to £24/£26 a bottle.

Nevertheless, I cannot recommend the Falcondale highly enough – lovely friendly staff, good clean accommodation, great location and excellent food!

We will definitely go again.

Room Tip: Room 20 is a really good size but not the best view and a double bed rather than King size
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JohnyCash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falcondale_Hotel, Front Office Manager at The Falcondale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2013

Indeed - Wow. Thank you for taking time out in writing a review, as it is greatly appreciated. Your comments (good and not so good) will be passed over to the team and reviewed where necessary.

We hope that we can welcome you back to The Falcondale in the very near future.

Diolch,

Meleri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lampeter
9.7 mi away
Y Talbot
Y Talbot
#1 of 1 in Tregaron
332 reviews
10.7 mi away
Feathers@Aberaeron
Feathers@Aberaeron
#1 of 2 in Aberaeron
229 reviews
10.8 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Aberaeron
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17 mi away
Conrah Hotel
Conrah Hotel
#4 of 13 in Aberystwyth
525 reviews
20.4 mi away
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
#8 of 13 in Aberystwyth
369 reviews
16.7 mi away
Emlyn Hotel
Emlyn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newcastle Emlyn
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Falcondale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Falcondale Hotel

Address: Falcondale Drive, Lampeter SA48 7RX, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Lampeter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lampeter
Price Range: £103 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Falcondale Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Falcondale hotel and 2AA rosette restaurant near the University town of Lampeter is only 30 minutes from the coastal villages of Cardigan Bay and hilly, marshy regions of the Cambrian Mountains. A wealth of walking, cycling, fishing, and open gardens within easy reach of this central location in Wales. Why not visit the local National Trust before sinking into a warm, comfy sofa in the lounge with a glass, or two, of wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your The Falcondale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lampeter
Lampeter Best Western
The Falcondale Hotel Lampeter, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing