We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Falcondale Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lampeter
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We stayed for st dywnwens day, with a groupon deal. It was fantastic value for money. The staff were very friendly and accommodating, the room was fab, great views. Stunning food. Only downside was the weather , we would have loved to explore the grounds. Thank you falcindale.
Carys Romney

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CARYSLOUISEROMNEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falcondale_Hotel, Front Office Manager at The Falcondale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Falcondale for St. Dwynwen's Day. We are glad that you enjoyed your evening, and hope that we may be able to welcome you back when the sun is shining. Take a look at our lastminute room rates on our web page.

Diolch,

Meleri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (746)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

405 - 411 of 746 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2014

My husband and I stayed at The Falcondale recently and really enjoyed it. Everywhere was clean, our room was very nice with a Juliette balcony overlooking the gardens (which were also lovely). The bathroom was a bit basic, but fully functional. The owner was both interesting and interested in us, which was refreshing.
On the Sunday evening we were the only ones dining, which might have rendered the dining room a little lacking in atmosphere but we really enjoyed the Butler Service.
The food was delicious, and whilst called a tasting menu each course was plentiful - to the point that we had to leave some. Breakfasts were good too.
Thank you for a very pleasant stay, in a very nice area of the world and we look forward to returning at some point.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GillEAndrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falcondale_Hotel, Front Office Manager at The Falcondale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Thank you "GillEAndrews" for your lovely review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope that we can welcome you back very soon.

Take a look at our seasonal Escapes and Offers on-line.

Diolch, Meleri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

I stayed at the Falcondale this past November. It was a wonderful stay. Our room was clean and comfortable, and very pretty. We got an upgraded room for the price of a cheaper room because they had the space.

The lounge area for guests is lovely with a bar and fireplace. We met friends there for drinks and had dinner at the restaurant that night. The restaurant was a bit pricey, but the food was very good.

The staff was always very accommodating and the grounds are absolutely beautiful! We missed the breakfast, which was a shame, and was included in the price. Otherwise, we had no regrets!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the grounds, the gardens are lovely. Ask if they can upgrade you for f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Littleleez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falcondale_Hotel, Front Office Manager at The Falcondale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely review, the whole team here at The Falcondale really appreciates your time and effort.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that we may be able to welcome you back in the future.

Diolch, Meleri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We were a group of eight who came here to celebrate and welcome in the new year, the staff and proprietor could not have been more welcoming and accommodating. The food that we had on the three nights were superb and especially the taster menu on new year's eve which was followed by a great local DJ with music to suit all present and ended with Dafydd Iwan's "Yma o hyd" . It was a truely Welsh welcome with some excellent food. Bendigedig

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 60celebration
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa H, Owner at The Falcondale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

We are so pleased you all enjoyed your new Years Celebrations with us - thank you for taking the time to write your review and let everyone else know . The team also really appreciate the feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back hopefully very soon.

Best regards to all the "Lewis" party
from us all at The Falcondale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We had an excellent night. There was a lovely atmosphere, we received fabulous food and there was a good choice of music provided by the DJ/ curator! The staff were brilliant and nothing was too much trouble.
Diolch yn fawr.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank Iona W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa H, Owner at The Falcondale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Dear Iona W,

Thank you for taking the time to post your 1st review after your New Years at The Falcondale, we really are delighted that you enjoyed the dinner, wine ,dancing and fireworks. Lets now hope its a good year for everyone.
We are now organising some wine and dinner events for the year ahead so keep your eyes on our website or follow us on twitter and facebook to find out what we are up to.

Once again thank you
Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

My husband recently celebrated his 60th birthday and he was given this trip as a birthday present. When we arrived we had a welcoming glass of Prosecco. The log fire and cosy surroundings were in tune with the time of year. After being shown to our room, which was very nice, we experienced the seven course taster menu. The food was excellent and the two young men waiting at our table were praiseworthy.
We visited Aberaeron the following day, which was about 13 miles away. The shops were very interesting and we managed to make some unusual buys. Upon our return the hotel was extremely busy with lots of people enjoying Christmas lunch. We were lucky enough to book a table for the second evening and the food was just as good as the taster menu. As a matter of fact, my husband chose the same starter as the previous night as he enjoyed it so much. Breakfast on both mornings was excellent.
The only fault in which was a lovely weekend, was that the walls seemed very thin and we could hear the occupants of the room next door, (different occupants on the two nights) On the second night our sleep was disturbed. We did get an apology after the second night.
However, we would definitely stay in this lovely hotel again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MadiDado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falcondale_Hotel, Front Office Manager at The Falcondale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

We all hope that your husband enjoyed his 60th birthday present of a stay with us here at The Falcondale.

Thank you very much for your lovely review, we look forward to be being able to welcome you back soon.

Happy New Year to you both,

Meleri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We stayed earlier in the year and had a great time, so when we booked again for a short break last week we hoped it would be as good as we remembered. Pleased to say that it was not just as good, but even better! The hotel is so comfortable, with friendly and helpful staff and the food is simply superb. I travel the all over the world and am lucky enough to stay in some very nice hotels, but the Falcondale is right up there as one of my favourites. Our two chocolate Labradors also had a wonderful holiday and especially enjoyed the home made biscuits!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carrie1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falcondale_Hotel, Front Office Manager at The Falcondale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

It is always a joy to welcome guests back to The Falcondale, and we are happy that you enjoyed your second break away with us.

Great to hear that your dogs enjoyed their stay also!

Merry Christmas - we hope to see you again in the New Year.

Meleri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lampeter
9.7 mi away
Y Talbot
Y Talbot
#1 of 1 in Tregaron
334 reviews
17 mi away
Conrah Hotel
Conrah Hotel
#4 of 13 in Aberystwyth
526 reviews
10.8 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Aberaeron
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Feathers@Aberaeron
Feathers@Aberaeron
#1 of 2 in Aberaeron
230 reviews
16.4 mi away
The Plough Rhosmaen
The Plough Rhosmaen
#1 of 3 in Llandeilo
859 reviews
20.4 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Falcondale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Falcondale Hotel

Address: Falcondale Drive, Lampeter SA48 7RX, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Lampeter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lampeter
Price Range: £86 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Falcondale Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Falcondale hotel and 2AA rosette restaurant near the University town of Lampeter is only 30 minutes from the coastal villages of Cardigan Bay and hilly, marshy regions of the Cambrian Mountains. A wealth of walking, cycling, fishing, and open gardens within easy reach of this central location in Wales. Why not visit the local National Trust before sinking into a warm, comfy sofa in the lounge with a glass, or two, of wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your The Falcondale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lampeter
Lampeter Best Western
The Falcondale Hotel Lampeter, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing