We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want to have perfection this is the place to stay .”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Falcondale Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lampeter
Certificate of Excellence
wales
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“If you want to have perfection this is the place to stay .”
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

Well worth a stay , went here to work in Lampeter the following day , it was a lovely clean quiet place and the food was 5 star , would love to have a night with my husband here pure relaxing .the hotel has lovely grounds.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snecky33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falcondale_Hotel, Front Office Manager at The Falcondale Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you for lovely review, it is greatly appreciated.

Take a look at our website for all the latest escapes and offers, where I'm sure you will find the perfect romantic break for you and your husband.

Look forward to welcoming you back.

Diolch, Meleri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    514
    147
    41
    10
    6
See reviews for
67
512
11
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

The hotel is set in beautiful grounds complimented by the surrounding area. The staff were very welcoming, helpful and attentive throughout our stay. February appeared to be a quiet time in the area so we were more than pleased to use the restaurant on the three nights of our stay and were not dissappointed. Excellent breakfasts were served each morning and overall the hotel lived up to our expectations and proved to be well positioned for our first trip to this part of S.W.Wales.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J0hnS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falcondale_Hotel, Front Office Manager at The Falcondale Hotel, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Great to see that you enjoyed your stay with us here at The Falcondale. February is a quieter time of the year. The sun is out this week, so we should expect things in the area to "perk-up" and get a little busier.

Hope to welcome you back soon.

Diolch, Meleri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Good old fashioned traditional customer service, attention to detail and nice subtle touches made this an extremely welcoming hotel to stay in - the fire was lit in the lounge on arrival and we were invited in to sit down and relax with a drink while our cases were taken to the room. The staff are all attentive and understand your requirements, Lisa (the owner I believe) is particularly helpful and nothing is too much trouble. Being in the secluded country location (a mile or so from Lampeter) it was great to walk the woods and explore, with no pretentiousness to wearing willies!! By far the best part of this stay was the food - spectacular flavours and perfectly executed! For the evening dinner I chose the Market menu and enjoyed effectively 5 courses - canapé, pre starter, starter, main and desert - each course delicately presented, precisely timed and exactly the right amount of food on the plate, left feeling perfectly satisfied! The dining room is also a lovely atmosphere if you appreciate the traditional mansion house setting - everything here is of an extremely high standard. Needless to say breakfast didn't disappoint and again offered a range of options to cater for all - like dinner it was all high quality local produce. We wouldn't hesitate to come again, for us it was a fantastic drive over through Wales and for anyone who likes twisty roads with great scenery through the valleys it was a petrol heads delight!! Can't recommend strongly enough. Our room was also very clean, spacious and comfortable - all first class. Thank you again, see you soon.

Room Tip: We chose the 'Better' spec room and found it to be superb, also a nice countryside view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LyndonBull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falcondale_Hotel, Front Office Manager at The Falcondale Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us here at The Falcondale, and for your lovely review.

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the food. We certainly hope to "see you soon".

Diolch, Meleri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We were impressed from the outset by the quality of the welcome, our wet coats were taken and dried off, our luggage was carried up to our room. We were ushered into the lounge to enjoy a glass of prosecco. Our room was a better double with a balcony and beautiful views. Everything was clean and comfortable. We found the room to be peaceful - no noises were heard from other guests .
An area had been prepared for our dog, along with dog biscuits in a dish.
We hadn't brought the dog - but we intend to bring the dog next time.
Dinner was superb, cooked and seasoned to perfection. The staff were exceptional. I have racked my brains for something to criticise - tiny detail, I noticed that the hot top in the bath had lost its top.
On the strength of our experience my sister and her husband have made a booking.

Well done all the The Faclondale. 10/10 and an absolute delight.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falcondale_Hotel, Front Office Manager at The Falcondale Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
We are all pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us here at The Falcondale.

Thank you for your recommendation on Tripadvisor, and to your sister and husband. We hope that we can welcome you back next time - with your dog.

Diolch, Meleri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 February 2014

My husband & I arrived with our dog Skipper on a very wet Friday afternoon as soon as we arrived we were all made very welcome! Had Prosecco and a much needed cup of tea in the conservatory whilst admiring the glorious view, our room was lovely and there as even a blanket and bowl with two biscuits for Skipper.
We enjoyed a beautifully cooked 3 course dinner with tasty canapés beforehand in the lounge if I was to be very picky it would be that we had the same menu offered to us on both nights - which was fine for us although the amuse bouche on both nights was the same a very light soup which was Celeriac and Pea plus all the main course meat on the menu was red so if you didn't eat red meat or fish you were somewhat compromised. You could not fault the breakfast absolutely fantastic the bacon especially and the choice on the buffet table was superb. We enjoyed a beautiful walk on Saturday the weather was perfect and the views were spectacular my husband & I love birds of prey and we were not disappointed seeing Kestrels, Buzzards and of course Red Kites. So peaceful we really relaxed and recharged our batteries and Skipper loved it too fantastic walks for dogs.
We really enjoyed our weekend our only regret was that it wasn't longer maybe next time we will stay till Monday so we can sample the Sunday lunch! Many thanks to all at Falcondale for making our stay a very special one, we hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJP52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falcondale_Hotel, Front Office Manager at The Falcondale Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
We are very glad to read that you and Skipper enjoyed your stay with us. The comments on the menu will be passed over to the chef. We don't completely change the menus from one day to the next as there are lots of choices available, and will of course cook something to order if requested. Vegetarians are offered a separate menu (when we are informed prior to arrival).

Sunday lunches are a traditional roast with a selection of desserts served from a buffet a table - well worth staying an extra night for!

Thank you very much for your great review, we hope that we can welcome you and Skipper back very soon.

Diolch, Meleri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biddulph, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Stayed at the hotel for 2 nights with my wife and two friends. Had a really nice stay, the staff were great, and the rooms very comfortable. The food in the restaurant was very good. I would whole heartedly recommend the hotel to anyone wanting a break in mid Wales. The Falcondale is set in the middle of some of the most beautiful Welsh countryside, and it is within walking distance of Lampeter town centre. Lampeter itself is now a little run down as is the University and pretty much all the pubs / hotels in town. We went to university there 22 years ago, and unfortunately the place is still stuck in the late 80's, not in a nice quirky way, but unfortunately in a non investment dilapidation way... But it does have plenty of shops, and also an extremely good Indian restaurant. I'd return to stay at the hotel and use it as a launching point to visit other areas in Wales, but I think this is probably the last time I go back to my old University town as it's too depressing to see what's happened to it...

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falcondale_Hotel, Front Office Manager at The Falcondale Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thank you to your little group for choosing to stay at The Falcondale, and thank you also for taking time out and writing a lovely review on Tripadvisor - it is greatly appreciated.

Lampeter as a town, is a little bit "quirky" these days, but with investment now happening at the University and new shops opening we believe that improvements will now be made - although we would quite like to keep the old hardware shops that stock anything and everything!

As you said we are ideally situated from Cardigan Bay and the Cambrian Mountains, and so we hope that we can tempt you back to sample more of the locality.

Diolch, Meleri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We were treated to a Sunday stay over and supper as a gift and it was a real treat (and superb value)
Had visited the hotel before so knew that room 23 was really spacious, enormous bed, sofas etc with great views.
Relaxed but attentive staff, log fires, fab food
All really good and highly recommended and we have already recommended to 2 friends who are looking to book soon.

Room Tip: The rooms facing down the valley have superb views and morning sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falcondale_Hotel, Front Office Manager at The Falcondale Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
What a lovely gift to be presented with - a stay at The Falcondale. Thank you very much for recommending us to others, and we hope that we can welcome you back soon.

Diolch, Meleri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lampeter
9.7 mi away
Y Talbot
Y Talbot
#1 of 1 in Tregaron
322 reviews
10.7 mi away
Feathers Royal Hotel
Feathers Royal Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aberaeron
223 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Black Lion Royal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Aberaeron
171 reviews
17.0 mi away
Conrah Hotel
Conrah Hotel
#4 of 13 in Aberystwyth
505 reviews
23.7 mi away
The Lake Country House & Spa
The Lake Country House & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llangammarch Wells
905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Falcondale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Falcondale Hotel

Property: The Falcondale Hotel
Address: Falcondale Drive, Lampeter SA48 7RX, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Lampeter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lampeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Falcondale Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Falcondale hotel and 2AA rosette restaurant near the University town of Lampeter is only 30 minutes from the coastal villages of Cardigan Bay and hilly, marshy regions of the Cambrian Mountains. A wealth of walking, cycling, fishing, and open gardens within easy reach of this central location in Wales. Why not visit the local National Trust before sinking into a warm, comfy sofa in the lounge with a glass, or two, of wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Falcondale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lampeter
Lampeter Best Western
The Falcondale Hotel Lampeter, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing