We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nostalgic return to Lampeter”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Falcondale Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lampeter
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 April 2014

My husband was at university in Lampeter in the 60s and hasn't been back to the area since then. So when we saw a Groupon deal for the Falcondale we took the opportunity to return. We very much enjoyed our two night stay and were made to feel very welcome. Our room was large and immaculately clean. Lots of lovely touches - catetiere coffee, a flyer with the daily weather forecast, good quality toiletries and the best selection of magazines in our room and in the hotel lounges that we have ever encountered - catering for every taste. My husband read all the recent copies of Grand Designs!
The food was wonderful - you had to savour every mouthful. Just a pity that the chef didn't come out to speak to us after all the compliments.
Even though we are unlikely to be back in this part of Wales, we will be recommending this hotel to our friends.
One tip - we loved visiting Aberaeron. Excellent Tourist Information and next door was the Harbour Master's where we had coffee.

Room Tip: We were very happy with our room 21.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 22A3347D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falcondale_Hotel, Front Office Manager at The Falcondale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely review, it is greatly appreciated.

The Groupon offer has now ended, but we have fabulous escapes and offers (and advanced purchase) available direct from our own website.

Our chefs are a little shy and don't like to come out of the kitchen too often, however we will be passing on your comments.

Diolch yn fawr, Meleri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (736)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

377 - 383 of 736 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2014

It was my lady's birthday and I wanted to treat her to a stay in a top class hotel on my limited budget. Groupon had a deal which had apparently run out when I tried to book it but the receptionist / manager offered me a matching deal.
Lovely setting and nice welcome - but a bit of a let down thereafter.
The bedroom carpet was worn and stained and the room smelled stale and was in need of decoration, the bathroom was very small with nowhere to put toilet bags. It also had that irritating toilet seat which would not stay up - not to mention the time it took for the cistern to refill !!
The carpets throughout the hotel need renewing.
The "market" dinner menu was a take it or leave it meal. An upgrade to full a la carte was £10 per head, and there were some supplements on top .
Very noisy through the night - bad sound-proofing, and dog noises!
Now the good news - the breakfast was first class. Full Welsh and seconds if you wanted. Excellent
Overall I feel that the price we paid ( about half of the published tariff) was a lot too much. The hotel needs complete refurbishment before they can justify the prices charged.
A beautiful location sadly let down.

Room Tip: The hotel is 'dog friendly'. Be aware of this if you are not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa H, Owner at The Falcondale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Well Ian L, sometimes we just don't get it right - and this is one of those times!

I beg to differ over some of the points, but for me I just don't understand when you are not happy with a room or there is a fault with something during your stay - such as the toilet - that you don't bring it to the attention of myself or the manager on duty at the time - so that we are able to try and do something about it. All our rooms are different and as such each have their own features and styles - some are more classical than others and a range of the bedrooms can be seen on our website.
I think Ian L should perhaps have read the original offer more carefully as to what was included as it was clearly stated that dinner would be from the market menu - of which a sample is available on our website and accommodation would be in a standard room all for a total price for 2 people of £139.00. If he had wanted to upgrade on either it was possible. With regard to being dog friendly, I make no apology- we are very clear on our own website and the confirmation letter also made Ian L aware of this before arrival.
We are in a time when everyone is looking for and using deal sites, and what many do not realise is that as well as 20% VAT, there is a very high commission to come off the price that is paid -usually around 20- 25% - so there is not normally a profit made on a 1st visit. Our main aim is that our guests enjoy their time with us and hopefully return to us direct. We are obviously disappointed that this was not the case for Ian L.

We are constantly refurbishing and updating something - but over the last few years it has been more important to me to make sure that our welcome, hospitality, clean rooms, great food and keeping our "team" in employment has been the highest priority rather than reacting to the latest interior decorating trend.
We are excited and delighted that our ground floor carpeting will be completed this year. We have no plans to change the carpet in room 6, which contrary to the opinion of Ian L is not worn out - or stained unless that was when he opened his own bottle in the room!
When I said at the beginning we sometimes don't get it right, I should not have extended to him the deal that was ended but he said he didn't know how they worked as he doesn't use the internet much!! and with a total spend of £3.95 - it won't help with any future refurbishment plans!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We booked our stay as a last minute thought and were looking forward to it. We weren' t dissapointed.Lovely friendly hotel, nothing was too much bother, the food was fantastic, the setting was superb, would definitely return.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank accebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falcondale_Hotel, Front Office Manager at The Falcondale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Thank you for taking time to write such a lovely review, it is greatly appreciated.

Maybe next time you should take a look at our website for the latest escapes and offers so that you can stay that "little bit longer".

Diolch, Meleri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the Falcondale Hotel for one night for a mini break for our first wedding anniversary. We also booked the 7 course tasting menu for dinner.
Upon arrival we were checked in, our bags taken to our room and given a glass of Prosecco to enjoy in the lounge.
Our room was lovely and had a beautiful view across the grounds.
The food we were served for the tasting menu was superb and the chef even had to think on his feet to cover my husbands aversion to fish. The waiters were fab and everyone was so helpful and polite. We offered our compliments to the chef on the night but hopefully this review fully commends his food.
The breakfast in the morning was delightful and the staff we encountered during breakfast and checkout were second to none.
The only downside is that we live so far away otherwise I think I would spend more time there.
Just to add we stayed on a Monday night and we appeared to be the only guests. I have experienced this in other hotels and it has been a sorry affair. At the Falcondale the atmosphere created by the happy staff made the hotel so welcoming you really didn't feel lost on our own.
I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Hayley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falcondale_Hotel, Front Office Manager at The Falcondale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Thank you Hayley T for taking the time and effort in writing a review of us here at The Falcondale, it is greatly appreciated by the whole team. It is great to see that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that we may be able to welcome you back in the future.

Diolch, Meleri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We bought a property near Lampeter and stay at the Falcondale Mansion untill our plaqce is finished. What a stay!!! The room was excellent, warm, inviting and very very comfortable.On the night we stayed we enjoyed a several course meal, each served with a different wine, as it was a special wine tasting evening when we were there. The food was excellent, the service you could not fault and the owner/ hostess Lisa is the most delightful lady anyone could meet. Nothing is too much trouble at the Falcondale and we will be staying again, new property or not. Midsommer event will be one to look forward to.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the veiw over the valley are exquisite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frederic J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falcondale_Hotel, Front Office Manager at The Falcondale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Thank you "frederic J" for your great review, it was lovely to meet you at our wine and dinner evening. Our next event on the 21st June "Midsummer Night's Delight" will be more of a dinner and dance evening which we are very much looking forward to, and hope that we can welcome you back.

Diolch, Meleri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

25 of us travelled from London to stay at The Falcondale for the weekend to celebrate the Christening of my daughter. We have held similar family events at luxury hotels across the UK and this was no disappointment, we were so pleased with the rooms, food and service, the staff went out of their way to ensure that we had a comfortable stay. We will certainly visit again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maribeth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falcondale_Hotel, Front Office Manager at The Falcondale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Falcondale for you families christening. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope that we may be able to tempt you back soon.

Diolch, Meleri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We had one night here and I can only urge you to stay for at least two. We were greeted by very friendly reception staff and given a jug of fresh milk on request for our brew in the room. The "hospitality tray" was excellent with a variety of teas, coffee, fresh ground coffee and a cafettiere and a sachet of hot chocolate together with two biscotti. The room (22) was very comfortable with a beautiful soft bed and crisp good quality linen. It was toasty warm as an additional electric heater was provided. my only complaint would be the bathroom ws cold as it had no heat. Towels were lovely and fluffy and everywhere was spotless.
Our evening taster menu was superb, just be warned even though it is 7 courses portion size is not small! See my separate refi on the restaurant.
After a great nights sleep with the only noise being early,or ing birdsong we had a great breakfast. Only complaint here was that the toast was rather cold and hard and could be cooked to order. we were still rather full from dinner but managed to sample the delicious sausages and bacon.
We had a walk around the grounds before we had to leave and would love to return in the summer to see it all in bloom as it is certainly a pretty location. I would love to have had another night to relax and enjoy another meal.
A great stay in a beautiful location made special by the comfort, good food and great staff.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank mabel98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falcondale_Hotel, Front Office Manager at The Falcondale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Thank you for your lovely review, the whole team here at The Falcondale greatly appreciates your time and effort.

We hope that next time we can entice you stay longer - escapes and offers can be found no our website.

Diolch, Meleri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lampeter
10.7 mi away
Feathers@Aberaeron
Feathers@Aberaeron
#1 of 2 in Aberaeron
227 reviews
9.7 mi away
Y Talbot
Y Talbot
#1 of 1 in Tregaron
331 reviews
10.9 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Aberaeron
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 mi away
Conrah Hotel
Conrah Hotel
#4 of 13 in Aberystwyth
524 reviews
20.4 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
496 reviews
17.1 mi away
The Cawdor
The Cawdor
#2 of 3 in Llandeilo
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Falcondale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Falcondale Hotel

Address: Falcondale Drive, Lampeter SA48 7RX, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Lampeter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lampeter
Price Range: £107 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Falcondale Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Falcondale hotel and 2AA rosette restaurant near the University town of Lampeter is only 30 minutes from the coastal villages of Cardigan Bay and hilly, marshy regions of the Cambrian Mountains. A wealth of walking, cycling, fishing, and open gardens within easy reach of this central location in Wales. Why not visit the local National Trust before sinking into a warm, comfy sofa in the lounge with a glass, or two, of wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your The Falcondale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lampeter
Lampeter Best Western
The Falcondale Hotel Lampeter, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing