We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming traditional hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Falcondale Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lampeter
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 May 2014

What a great 1 night stay we had this week at the Falcondale. We bought a Groupon deal which included dinner,a "better room", and breakfast for 2. The hotel is beautiful - the smart stately entrance gave way to polished slate floors, through to very traditional lounges and a sun room with the most remarkable view of the valley, framed with rhododendrons and acers - simply stunning. The evening meal was excellent - a great menu, including chorizo and lobster risotto, cod brandade, beef that was meltingly tender ... Accompanied by a great wine list, reasonably priced wines, from just under £20 to around £60.
Our room was just as good - with the same views out towards the driveway. Traditionally furnished, very clean - just lovely. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TJW_Woking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falcondale_Hotel, Front Office Manager at The Falcondale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

A "charming traditional hotel" sums us up quite well THJ_Woking!

Its great to see that you enjoyed the surroundings and food on offer and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Diolch, Meleri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (735)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

369 - 375 of 735 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed here for 1 night and it was lovely. We were in one of the better rooms and it was really spacious and clean. The hotel looks lovely as you arrive and the grounds were immaculate, it was a shame it was raining as we couldn't go outside and walk around them properly.

The things that really made this stay were the service and the food. The staff were polite and there was no rush, everything was in your time. From the presseco on arrival to the dinner service. The food itself was amazing, we were on the set menu but upgraded to the a la carte menu and we were not disappointed. However I suspect that if we had had the set menu we would have been pleased. They seem to pride themselves on the finishing touches, provided by their staff.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falcondale_Hotel, Front Office Manager at The Falcondale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Thank you so much "natalie M" for your review. The weather (unfortunately) is something we cannot control; but we have lovely areas within the lounge, bar and conservatory to sit and enjoy the country house surroundings.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Diolch, Meleri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We stayed on a 3-night break with 2 evening meals included. We were well looked after from the moment we arrived. The (included) cream tea (lots of cakes!) was delicious and our room (9) was quiet and comfortable with a super view along the valley. The garden areas were impressive too - with rhododendrons in bloom. The staff recommended one of the short (3-mile) walks around the vicinity of the hotel one evening (leaflet provided), which was really good. We would also recommend their "Twm Town Trail" from Tregaron (similar length but hilly and not a town trail at all!) and a visit to the coast at Aberaeron. The evening meals were delicious - and plentiful. Overall we would recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank candd19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa H, Owner at The Falcondale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Dear Candd19,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased you enjoyed our Bank Holiday 3 night package, which gave you time to fully relax and recharge the batteries - as well as be a little indulgent.
We have availability for this break over the Summer bank holidays at the end of May and August.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Falcondale in the near future.

Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We all thoroughly enjoyed our brief stay in the Falcondale. We had underestimated our travel time and so arrived much later that we had anticipated but the staff were very understanding and made us feel very welcome. The main delight is that the hotel is dog friendly and our dog was overjoyed to find dog biscuits waiting for him in a bowl in the room when we arrived. The grounds and gardens surrounding the hotel are lovely and we were very lucky to have a bright and sunny early morning walk which started the day off perfectly. The birdsong all around was terrific. Thank you to everyone at the Falcondale!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa H, Owner at The Falcondale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Dear Jane S,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review - we are so pleased that you all enjoyed your stay with us. It is important to us that everyone is included in being spoilt when away including your 4-legged family member!!
- It is worth noting that we are only 15 minutes from the coast and that some of the beaches have dog friendly areas, but that from the end of September they can enjoy all the beaches until the following May.
We look forward to seeing you all again
Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We stayed here for one night on a Travel Zoo voucher, only wish it could have been longer. We received a very warm welcome at reception, and were shown to the lounge and served a glass of Prosecco while our bags were taken to our room. We had upgraded our room and it was well worth it, with beautiful views out over the surrounding countryside. The room was spacious and well appointed, the bed extremely comfortable. At dinner we were served the taster menu, by very pleasant staff, the meal was amongst the best I have ever eaten. Breakfast while excellent, would, I think be improved by the addition of fresh fruit, and perhaps some cold meats and cheeses, but this is only a minor thing. The staff, at all times were, friendly, courteous, and efficient. Highly recommended, I look forward to visiting in the future. Diolch yn fawr.

Room Tip: Room 9 has an excellent view over the countryside towards Llanbedr Pont Steffan ( Lampeter)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trevor D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falcondale_Hotel, Front Office Manager at The Falcondale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

It was lovely to welcome you to The Falcondale, and are grateful to you for taking time out in writing a review. We hope that next time you'll be able to stay for longer.

Diolch, Meleri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We had a very pleasant stay at Falcondale - everyone was very helpful and the word 'no' did not appear in their lexicon. My only proviso was that the tasting menu should not be undertaken by anyone who is not a confirmed trencherman. It is not really a 'tasting menu', rather a 7- course gargantuan feast. It was all excellent, but we felt it was just too much - we enjoyed the normal menu very much more. The kitchen team is excellent - not only does the food look appetising, it is full of flavour and beautifully seasoned; it is also brought to table as soon as it is cooked. Well done, guys - we shall be back.

Antony Moore.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank antonymoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falcondale_Hotel, Front Office Manager at The Falcondale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thank you "antonymoore" for your lovely review of us here at The Falcondale.

We hope that we may be able to tempt you back at a later date.

Diolch, Meleri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

could not fault the food,rooms or service- all of a very high standard.

Took our dog and it was perfect for walks in the ground very dog friendly.
Will certainly recommend to friends particularly those who like superb
food and a very reasonable wine list .
Cant wait to go again!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helenr501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falcondale_Hotel, Front Office Manager at The Falcondale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Falcondale, and again for staying an extra night.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Diolch, Meleri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lampeter
10.7 mi away
Feathers@Aberaeron
Feathers@Aberaeron
#1 of 2 in Aberaeron
227 reviews
9.7 mi away
Y Talbot
Y Talbot
#1 of 1 in Tregaron
331 reviews
10.9 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Aberaeron
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.4 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
495 reviews
17.0 mi away
Conrah Hotel
Conrah Hotel
#4 of 13 in Aberystwyth
524 reviews
17.1 mi away
The Cawdor
The Cawdor
#2 of 3 in Llandeilo
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Falcondale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Falcondale Hotel

Address: Falcondale Drive, Lampeter SA48 7RX, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Lampeter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lampeter
Price Range: £99 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Falcondale Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Falcondale hotel and 2AA rosette restaurant near the University town of Lampeter is only 30 minutes from the coastal villages of Cardigan Bay and hilly, marshy regions of the Cambrian Mountains. A wealth of walking, cycling, fishing, and open gardens within easy reach of this central location in Wales. Why not visit the local National Trust before sinking into a warm, comfy sofa in the lounge with a glass, or two, of wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your The Falcondale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lampeter
Lampeter Best Western
The Falcondale Hotel Lampeter, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing