We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Break with Taster Menu Evening” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Falcondale Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Falcondale Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lampeter
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Break with Taster Menu Evening”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

We recently stayed here on a Travelzoo deal that included a taster menu evening meal, full welsh breakfast and overnight stay. The food was great and although the decor felt a bit dated, the staff were very nice and overall the hotel was a lovely place to stay. Location next to Lampeter was ideal for touring this part of Wales and the gardens, grounds and views were lovely.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sigad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falcondale H, Front Office Manager at The Falcondale Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you very much for reviewing us on Tripadvisor. I would agree we are not a modern hotel, and offer rooms with a country house atmosphere. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope we can tempt you back to explore more of the Ceredigion coast and Cambrian Mountains.

Diolch, Meleri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    492
    135
    34
    10
    3
See reviews for
63
478
11
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Beautiful hotel hidden away just outside Lampeter.Excellent place to stay for a quiet relaxing couple of days taking in the beautiful countryside and nearby coast.
The meals were of a very high standard, the room was pleasant,spacious and very comfortable.Highly recommended for a touch of peace and luxury

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falcondale H, Front Office Manager at The Falcondale Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you so much Martin R for your review, the whole team here at The Falcondale appreciates your effort.

If you would like some more peace and quiet any time soon, take a look at our Escapes and Offers page. You never know we may be able to tempt you out of the "big smoke" in Cardiff for another few days quiet relaxation.

Diolch, Meleri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abertillery, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

we only stayed one night (wish it could have been more) and were given a warm welcome and shown to our comfortable clean room with a wonderful view .we then took advantage of the sunny day and had several drinks relaxing on the patio overlooking well tended gardens.

The dinner that night was indeed fine dining at its best it saw really lush equal to any Michelin star'd restaurant.the breakfast was also a1, cant wait to go back again.

Richard & Andrea.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank huxley7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falcondale H, Front Office Manager at The Falcondale Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you Richard and Andrea for choosing to stay with us at The Falcondale and also for your lovely review.

Take a look at our Escapes and Offers page on-line, we may have something there to tempt you back for a longer stay. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Diolch, Meleri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Great location, views from our room across the lovely garden down the valley were amazing, made even more so with a spectacular thunder storm!
The food was very good with plenty of choice, the breakfasts really set you up for the day and the Chorizo and lobster risotto starter was to die for!
Our room was spacious and very comfortable. The staff were very friendly and efficient, nothing was too much trouble.
Very relaxing and enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Room 17, fantastic views, lift to 1st floor but then another small flight of stairs up to room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank George1017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falcondale H, Front Office Manager at The Falcondale Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you George1017, your effort in writing a review is greatly appreciated by the whole team.

I believe I saw you on arrival and suggested a room move if the stairs up to room 17 was too much, but you decided that the views over the valley was worth it! I would agree with you.
We get a phonecall from Chris the fisherman telling us when he has caught lobsters off the Cardigan Bay coastline, which he then delivers to our doorstep on the same day. They are an amazing sight.

We hope that we may be able to welcome you back soon. Diolch, Meleri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

We stayed here on a two night package including 7 course dinner on one evening.

The food was exceptional as was the level of cleanliness and the customer service. The grounds were pretty and the setting idyllic. The staff were lovely and welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. However, the room decor was tired and the bed was saggy in the middle and soft.
Our stay at The Falcondale was great but it could have been wonderful if the rooms were refurbished. It's a beautiful mansion which just needs a bit more TLC to the rooms. We'd definitely return if we heard a refurb was on the cards.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FirstTimeVisiting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falcondale H, Front Office Manager at The Falcondale Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you very much for reviewing your stay with us here at The Falcondale.

It would be lovely to know which room it is you stayed in so that we could investigate your concerns. The house was built and designed as a private house in 1859. which means that the elegant rooms vary in size, shape and outlook. They are classically decorated with varying colour schemes, you may find a different room more to your taste. Some beds are harder than others, so please ask at time of booking.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Diolch, Meleri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield County
Level Contributor
142 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Once you drive up the long road and driveway through a residential area, you see a large ivory and tan manor house overlooking the valley and gardens. Inside there are multiple sitting areas to relax, have a drink or food. There is a beautiful sun room and outdoor terrace overlooking the gardens where you can enjoy drinks or a snack. Our room overlooked the beautiful gardens and valley. It was a suite and had 2 rooms, a sitting and sleeping room, 2 baths, comfortable furniture, high ceilings and plenty of storage. Hotel has been owned by 2000 by Chris and Lisa who are very involved in the running of the hotel. It was refurbished 10 years ago and they are planning to do some upgrades and fix ups. Local fisherman Chris comes in his wells to bring fresh lobsters and seafood. The neighbor farmer brings fresh lamb and the mushroom guy shows up with local mushrooms. Staff is all local Welsh. Great food and ambiance. Temple Spa amenities in the room. Would be nice to have a spa on the property. They said they are planning a treatment room.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the gardens and terrace with the high windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SharonConnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falcondale H, Front Office Manager at The Falcondale Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
We are so glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially as you have come from such a long way! Thank you very much for writing a review about your stay with us, we hope to welcome yourself (and your fellow countryman) to Wales in the future.

Diolch, Meleri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Stayed for one night via Secret Escapes, upgraded room.

Room itself was lovely, with a great balcony overlooking the gardens, which were beautiful.

My girlfriend, upon entering the bathroom, immediately called dibs on the toiletries, which is a first, so I can only assume that they were amazing. The shower was okay, if a little weak.

The bed was amazing. Beautifully comfortable, with the most comfortable linen I've ever slept in (not even kidding). There was some debate as to whether we could get the mattress through the balcony doors and into the car without raising suspicion, if i'm honest.

Breakfast was lovely, too.

The gardens were in full bloom, and in the sunshine/weather, they looked beautiful.

The person who showed us through on the evening was somewhat officious and serious, although not 'bad'. The girl who checked us out was far more personable, full of welsh charm and cheer, and sent us on our way feeling very sprightly.

Whilst it doesn't have the rugged charm of northern Wales, it was a lovely hotel and well worth the stay (the restaurant was amazing, and I have reviewed that separately for fairness).

(it should be noted that we stayed on a Thursday, and it was very quiet - i think there were only 4 or 5 other rooms occupied, so it's possible that if it's full it's a different experience)

Room Tip: Worth the upgrade to get one of the balconied rooms with the beautiful views, although we stayed on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falcondale H, Front Office Manager at The Falcondale Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you James A for your lovely review, it is greatly appreciated by the whole team.

Whether the hotel has 5 rooms or 15 rooms booked we aim to provide the same high level of friendly customer service - with a bit of Welsh charm thrown in!

We have escapes and offers available on our website, please take a look and see whether we can tempt you back again soon.

Diolch, Meleri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lampeter
9.7 mi away
Y Talbot
Y Talbot
#1 of 1 in Tregaron
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Black Lion Royal Hotel
10.7 mi away
Feathers Royal Hotel
Feathers Royal Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aberaeron
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.7 mi away
The Lake Country House & Spa
The Lake Country House & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llangammarch Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
17.0 mi away
Conrah Hotel
Conrah Hotel
#3 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
10.9 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Aberaeron
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Falcondale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Falcondale Hotel

Property: The Falcondale Hotel
Address: Falcondale Drive, Lampeter SA48 7RX, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Lampeter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lampeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Falcondale Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Falcondale hotel and 2AA rosette restaurant near the University town of Lampeter is only 30 minutes from the coastal villages of Cardigan Bay and hilly, marshy regions of the Cambrian Mountains. A wealth of walking, cycling, fishing, and open gardens within easy reach of this central location in Wales. Why not visit the local National Trust before sinking into a warm, comfy sofa in the lounge with a glass, or two, of wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and SpeedyBooker.com so you can book your The Falcondale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lampeter
Lampeter Best Western
The Falcondale Hotel Lampeter, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing