We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic luxury getaway treat!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Falcondale Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Falcondale Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lampeter
Certificate of Excellence
Wigan
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fantastic luxury getaway treat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Booked this break through Secret Escapes - and it turned out to be a fantastic buy! Hotel is a lovely classic - with beautiful grounds and very friendly staff. Our room was beautiful, with lovely views. Had the taster menu on our first night, which was just fantastic, fine dining at it's best....and very generous portions! Although we had intended to eat out on our second night, we could not have found better, so ate in the hotel - we were not disappointed. The attention to detail is also top class, and the superb breakfast reflects this. We would highly recommend a visit to this hotel for a peaceful getaway; it is also superbly placed to explore beautiful Ceredigion.

Room Tip: We had room 18 which is classed as a "better room", and was spacious and delightful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falcondale H, Front Office Manager at The Falcondale Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you Cathy D from Wigan for making the journey to stay with us here at The Falcondale. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with and hope that we may be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Diolch yn fawr, Meleri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    492
    135
    34
    10
    3
See reviews for
63
478
11
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

First time at this hotel . Stayed for a weekend, went for a bit of a rest and good food, was not disappointed at all, we had an evening meal the first night and enjoyed much we had our evening meal there on the Saturday also, even though there being many places to eat in the near town.
Room we had was very clean and nicely decorated and furnished, with a grand view down the valley, had a very nice sun rise in the morning peaking over the tree tops ( I am an early riser). Food we had was superb on both nights enjoyed with a couple of bottles of wine, the list of which is very nice, we had a warm welcome and good friendly service, and we will be returning in the future.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 25taff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falcondale H, Front Office Manager at The Falcondale Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you 25taff for taking time out in writing your review, the whole team here at The Falcondale appreciates your effort.

We hope that we will be able to welcome you back again soon.

Diolch, Meleri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

We recently stayed here on a Travelzoo deal that included a taster menu evening meal, full welsh breakfast and overnight stay. The food was great and although the decor felt a bit dated, the staff were very nice and overall the hotel was a lovely place to stay. Location next to Lampeter was ideal for touring this part of Wales and the gardens, grounds and views were lovely.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sigad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falcondale H, Front Office Manager at The Falcondale Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you very much for reviewing us on Tripadvisor. I would agree we are not a modern hotel, and offer rooms with a country house atmosphere. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope we can tempt you back to explore more of the Ceredigion coast and Cambrian Mountains.

Diolch, Meleri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Beautiful hotel hidden away just outside Lampeter.Excellent place to stay for a quiet relaxing couple of days taking in the beautiful countryside and nearby coast.
The meals were of a very high standard, the room was pleasant,spacious and very comfortable.Highly recommended for a touch of peace and luxury

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falcondale H, Front Office Manager at The Falcondale Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you so much Martin R for your review, the whole team here at The Falcondale appreciates your effort.

If you would like some more peace and quiet any time soon, take a look at our Escapes and Offers page. You never know we may be able to tempt you out of the "big smoke" in Cardiff for another few days quiet relaxation.

Diolch, Meleri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abertillery, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

we only stayed one night (wish it could have been more) and were given a warm welcome and shown to our comfortable clean room with a wonderful view .we then took advantage of the sunny day and had several drinks relaxing on the patio overlooking well tended gardens.

The dinner that night was indeed fine dining at its best it saw really lush equal to any Michelin star'd restaurant.the breakfast was also a1, cant wait to go back again.

Richard & Andrea.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank huxley7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falcondale H, Front Office Manager at The Falcondale Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you Richard and Andrea for choosing to stay with us at The Falcondale and also for your lovely review.

Take a look at our Escapes and Offers page on-line, we may have something there to tempt you back for a longer stay. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Diolch, Meleri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Great location, views from our room across the lovely garden down the valley were amazing, made even more so with a spectacular thunder storm!
The food was very good with plenty of choice, the breakfasts really set you up for the day and the Chorizo and lobster risotto starter was to die for!
Our room was spacious and very comfortable. The staff were very friendly and efficient, nothing was too much trouble.
Very relaxing and enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Room 17, fantastic views, lift to 1st floor but then another small flight of stairs up to room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank George1017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falcondale H, Front Office Manager at The Falcondale Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you George1017, your effort in writing a review is greatly appreciated by the whole team.

I believe I saw you on arrival and suggested a room move if the stairs up to room 17 was too much, but you decided that the views over the valley was worth it! I would agree with you.
We get a phonecall from Chris the fisherman telling us when he has caught lobsters off the Cardigan Bay coastline, which he then delivers to our doorstep on the same day. They are an amazing sight.

We hope that we may be able to welcome you back soon. Diolch, Meleri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

We stayed here on a two night package including 7 course dinner on one evening.

The food was exceptional as was the level of cleanliness and the customer service. The grounds were pretty and the setting idyllic. The staff were lovely and welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. However, the room decor was tired and the bed was saggy in the middle and soft.
Our stay at The Falcondale was great but it could have been wonderful if the rooms were refurbished. It's a beautiful mansion which just needs a bit more TLC to the rooms. We'd definitely return if we heard a refurb was on the cards.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FirstTimeVisiting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falcondale H, Front Office Manager at The Falcondale Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you very much for reviewing your stay with us here at The Falcondale.

It would be lovely to know which room it is you stayed in so that we could investigate your concerns. The house was built and designed as a private house in 1859. which means that the elegant rooms vary in size, shape and outlook. They are classically decorated with varying colour schemes, you may find a different room more to your taste. Some beds are harder than others, so please ask at time of booking.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Diolch, Meleri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lampeter
9.7 mi away
Y Talbot
Y Talbot
#1 of 1 in Tregaron
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Black Lion Royal Hotel
10.7 mi away
Feathers Royal Hotel
Feathers Royal Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aberaeron
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.7 mi away
The Lake Country House & Spa
The Lake Country House & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llangammarch Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 860 reviews
17.0 mi away
Conrah Hotel
Conrah Hotel
#3 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
10.9 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Aberaeron
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Falcondale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Falcondale Hotel

Property: The Falcondale Hotel
Address: Falcondale Drive, Lampeter SA48 7RX, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Lampeter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lampeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Falcondale Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Falcondale hotel and 2AA rosette restaurant near the University town of Lampeter is only 30 minutes from the coastal villages of Cardigan Bay and hilly, marshy regions of the Cambrian Mountains. A wealth of walking, cycling, fishing, and open gardens within easy reach of this central location in Wales. Why not visit the local National Trust before sinking into a warm, comfy sofa in the lounge with a glass, or two, of wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, SpeedyBooker.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Falcondale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lampeter
Lampeter Best Western
The Falcondale Hotel Lampeter, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing