We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Recommended”

The Black Lion Royal Hotel
Ranked #26 of 36 Restaurants in Lampeter
Price range: US$21 - US$31
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

Excellent sunday lunch. Well recommended. My wife was a chef before retiring & if she says its good then it is GOOD.

Helpful?
Thank brilyn1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackLionLampeter, Manager at The Black Lion Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thank you very much for your positive comments. We are glad you both enjoyed your Sunday Lunch and hope to see you at the Black Lion again soon. Many Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    30
    21
    10
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Oh Dear”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

Lovely warm welcome and charming staff. But the food! It was overcooked and greasy. I know it was a Sunday evening but perhaps it would have been better if kitchen had been closed as I presume the kitchen was not being manned by resident chef.
?

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackLionLampeter, Manager at The Black Lion Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
I'm a little confused with regards to this review. We don't have a French chef working here at the Black Lion Hotel and also we don't do a carvery style service. It does seem like this review is supposed to be for a different establishment. If you wish to contact me here our phone number is 01570 422172. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Wales
Level Contributor
301 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Good Value, quick service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

They have a Brains Menu. Some special offers. I ordered the jacket potato with pulled bbq pork. Very tasty, but the potato was on the small side. But can't complain. It was only £5.95. My wife had a beef burger. She also enjoyed.
Friendly staff and quick service. The kitchen is open plan, so you can see the kitchen staff at work.
Nice place on Lampeter High Street with parking at rear (entrance through the arch way).
I would particularly like to complement them on having Welsh language songs on their playlist of background music. Da iawn a diolch yn fawr.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Craffwr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good hearty food cooked well”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

Very good value food, lots of special offer nights. Service was quick and friendly, definitely worth the stop off if you're passing through the area. The portions were hearty, and their cheese board was enough to feed a small army!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank cre4tive1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“wheelchair friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

We have eaten here a few times and always found it good value and a pleasant experience. I have had to use a wheelchair for the last couple of months due to a broken leg and the complexities of going out for a meal in a wheelchair have not been easy! We have eaten in the Black Lion at lunchtime and evening and the staff have been so helpful. Food is good and good value, and it is easy to access for a wheelchair. Double doors, parking on street or in car park, slight slope to entrance at side, level floor to table, plenty of room for manouvre and small but adequate disabled toilet. Staff happy to help if needed.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Weeekender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Black Lion Royal Hotel also viewed

Lampeter, Ceredigion
Lampeter, Ceredigion
 
Lampeter, Ceredigion
Lampeter, Ceredigion
 
Lampeter, Ceredigion
Lampeter, Ceredigion
 

Been to The Black Lion Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing