We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely stuff! Busy bar!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Royal Oak

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Royal Oak
Ranked #23 of 34 Restaurants in Lampeter
Cuisines: British, Pub, Welsh
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely stuff! Busy bar!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2012

Great food! Lovely service from a pretty, polite young lady, food was excellent. The bar however was rammed so we didn't venture in there but once! The bar staff were friendly and chatty but very rushed... Apparently Lampeter won at rugby today!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Annettesc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    9
    1
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
bucks
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food in restaurant but give pub bar a miss”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012 via mobile

As an occasional visitor to the area, I've never been let down by the food here, it's always been nicely prepared and presented. Midweek it can be quiet in the restaurant, however the staff have always been cheerful and welcoming but left me alone to eat in peace. I don't like the bar area of the pub but I have to say that the beer is very well kept.

Helpful?
1 Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Mid-Week visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

A large menu offered plenty of choice. We were the only five in the restaurant and each of us ordered a different meal. Although we hadn't noticed, the Chef apologised that the meal took a long time to arrive and awarded us with a dish of extra onion rings.

Starters were HUGE which meant that the main course could not be completed. I don't think one of us attempted the chips/mashed potatol. Apart from there being just too much following on from large starters, the food was excellent.

The waitress was lovely.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The most welcoming pub in Lampeter”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

I was visitng friends at uni and we went to the pub quiz on a tuesday. We ate yummy food, halloumi salad, thai vegetable curry and brownies with ice-cream. It was superb. The drinks are relatively cheap, the lady doing the quiz was friendly and chatty. We all really enjoyed ourselves, it was a good night out considering it was a Tuesday!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Gypsyr0selee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Deerfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“One of our better pub experiences in Wales”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

We had dinner here one evening during our week-long stay in Lampeter. While the food was nothing spectacular, the service was attentive and friendly.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kris_has_wanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Royal Oak also viewed

Lampeter, Ceredigion
Lampeter, Ceredigion
 
Lampeter, Ceredigion
 
Lampeter, Ceredigion
Lampeter, Ceredigion
 

Been to The Royal Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing