We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location to get away from it all.”
Review of Boulston Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Boulston Manor
Ranked #9 of 45 Haverfordwest B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect location to get away from it all.”
Reviewed 20 February 2011

We stayed with Jules and her husband in September 2010 in the Gold Cup room which was magnificent. Huge queen sized bed, balcony with stunning views down to the estuary and a large bathroom with a whirlpool bath. The room itself is very spacious and as Jules used to be an interior designer all of the fabrics and furnishings are very special.
We couldn't have had a warmer welcome, everything was perfect and as I run my own B&B I am a very fussy customer! The breakfasts were delicious and very prompt which when you have a 2 yr old is important, they don't like to be kept waiting!
All in all, we had a lovely stay despite horrible weather and that was mainly down to Boulston Manor, a luxurious haven at the end of each tiring day.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachelclearvewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    13
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
12
45
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kettering, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 November 2010

This place is exactly what I imagine a B&B should be. Originally going to Pembroke and a nice Georgian hotel, but that was booked up, which turned out to be a stroke of luck. Seriously hidden away, you pull up to something out of a Jane Austin novel. Very welcoming hostess and the friendly dogs are a nice touch. The property has been modernised just enough, none of this modern chic rubbish, all in original style. We stayed in the big room as well, and cant recommend it enough, it is huge, and then you go through to the bathroom and this is just as big. Recommending this to all family and friends, and will certainly be coming back next year.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tempo1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WILTSHIRE
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2010

wonderful place in every respect.We were lucky enough to stay in the room with a extremely large bathroom the view from which was lovely,breakfast, welcome and accomodation first class.Well off the beaten track but well worth the effort.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MEANDERINGDUCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bunwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2010

Boulston Manor is off the beaten track in the heart of Pembrokeshire providing the perfect location to get away from the current hustle and bustle of everyday life. We had been recommended it by friends who said it was superb - they were so right.
My wife and I spent 4 nights there mid April 2010, staying in their Gold Cup Room which far exceeded our expectations and is certainly as a minimum of 5 star hotel standard. Breakfast was excellent and you will need a good appetite to finish it...!! To cap it all the hosts Rod and Jules are simply charming. Having stayed at many B&B establishments throught UK and Ireland, plus many 4 and 5 star hotels, I can honestly say that Boulston Manor really is a jewel of a find.
We had never been to Pembrokeshire before and found it to be a stunning location with a good variety of sandy beeches, high cliffs, hills to walk in and country pubs serving good food. It is like Cornwall, but better, without the stress of traffic bottlenecks and herds of people. We will be back and Boulston Manor will be our first choice to stay.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Propajob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 March 2010

With the pace of life so hectic these days, my wife and I desperately needed to recharge our batteries with a peaceful weekend away. We chose Boulston Manor due to its beautifully peaceful secluded location overlooking the river Cleddau. The Gold Cup Room had a fantastic view across the river, so much so we didn't draw our curtains at night and in the morning awoke to views of the morning sun shining on the river which we could see from our bed, it was heavenly. The owners, Rod & Jules made us feel so welcome and served a superb breakfast on both days we were there. We certainly plan to return later this year with our friends for another idilic weekend. Thoroughly recommended B&B!.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KEBOY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 30 August 2009

We visited in late Aug 2009. The place is quite simply charming and unlike any B&B you're likely to visit. It's a large manor house, set in magnificent grounds with wonderful views down to the estuary. Rooms are grand, spacious and I think all come with the rural idyll views. Breakfast is a treat - lots of choice, well organised and taken in a wonderful dining room.

What makes the place really special though are the hosts and the whole vibe of the place. It's a family home, which means it's welcoming, cosy and homely - above all, it's got a charm that no hotel could ever capture and a luxury that no standard B&B could ever deliver.


It really is very special and a real treat of a find.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mthornley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2009

I'm surprised this B&B doesn't come higher up the ratings but as the owners have only been doing it for a year or so I think that explains why (also explains why there aren't many reviews of it on Trip Advisor - don't be put off! It is however in Alistair Sawday with some useful photos.)
My husband and I spent a night here for our 3rd wedding anniversary and were very pleased with it - the house is gorgeous - packed with antiques and very stately feeling and the owners are extremely welcoming and friendly. Breakfast was full English - hugely generous and in a dining room with fabulous views out over the grounds - the house is sandwiched between a farm and lands owned by the owner's relatives and it's all been in their family a long time. Very historic and the kind of place you could imagine being used for film-sets and weddings etc, but it's also incredibly remote (if you have a nice shiny sports car beware of mud and pot-holes on the way up - the dead-end track up to Boulston Manor is a bit of a surprise!)
The family have two lovely dogs, incredibly well-behaved and we didn't hear any barking at all (I think one is a pointer and the other a Jack Russell) - very friendly and good with kids.
It was a full house when we were there and not surprising.
I looked at a few other B&Bs in the area when researching for our night away and we nearly stayed at The Grove near Narbeth (?) (listed on Mr and Mrs Smith etc) but they have building works on and some poor reviews really put us off.
This place was perfect - we had a lovely room with a gigantic bath with feet - so long you could hardly touch the ends! Very quiet and just an idyllic location.
We went to the Black Sheep in Haverford West which was very good (there is a slightly limited choice for restaurants locally unfortunately).
The owners are thinking about hosting weddings maybe next year - this looks like a lovely spot for a wedding so I wish them the best of luck with it.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank forgetful_cat_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haverfordwest
3.6 mi away
Slebech Park
Slebech Park
#3 of 6 in Haverfordwest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
3.1 mi away
Premier Inn Haverfordwest (North/A40) Hotel
2.4 mi away
Hotel Mariners
Hotel Mariners
#5 of 6 in Haverfordwest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Wolfscastle Country Hotel and Restaurant
7.3 mi away
Grove of Narberth
Grove of Narberth
#1 of 1 in Molleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
2.8 mi away
Silverdale Inn & Lodge
Silverdale Inn & Lodge
#2 of 3 in Johnston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boulston Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boulston Manor

Property: Boulston Manor
Address: Boulston, Haverfordwest SA62 4AQ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Haverfordwest
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Haverfordwest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Boulston Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boulston Manor is the family home of Rod & Jules and we hope you will feel very welcome and relaxed. Located just 3 miles from Haverfordwest, this beautiful Georgian Manor House is set above traditional parkland which sweeps down to the River Cleddau. The sweeping drive is the first indication that you are leaving the rest of the world behind and entering a place where peace, tranquility and relaxation are at the top of the agenda. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Boulston Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boulston Manor Haverfordwest, Wales - Pembrokeshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing