We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Room and breakfast okay but the owners need a lesson in hospitality” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of College Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
College Guest House
Ranked #11 of 49 Haverfordwest B&B and Inns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Room and breakfast okay but the owners need a lesson in hospitality”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

We have just checked out of the college guest house two days early, having only stayed one night of a planned three. We had problems with the flush on our toilet - which meant the toilet didn't clear - and could not get any hot water at 5pm after returning from a day out. As we were going out for the evening the owners said that they could fix the toilet while we were out. However, when we left our key with them we were told, completely without apology, that the toilet wouldn't be fixed during the bank holiday weekend as they would not be able to able to find someone to fix it. We were also told that if we weren't happy we would have to find somewhere else to stay - so we did, and received a partial refund. A shame really, as the location was okay, the room comfortable enough and the breakfast had been quite good. We were just very disappointed at the owners' handling of our request for assistance and their rude approach to paying customers.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
college93, Owner at College Guest House, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
To answer your review, Yes the toilet was broken sorry about that , but that these things happen in life, YOU SAID THAT THE TOILET WAS NOT WORKING ON ARRIVAL but the problem WAS NOT REPORTED FOR TWENTY-TWO HOURS LATER, you told the cleaner about the toilet around mid day , i went up at once to fix your toilet which only needed silicone you came back a few hours later, flushed the toilet, not giving the silicone time to dry. So I said to you I will try a diffirent silicone that will dry in ten min. you then said you are going out for dinner. 20 min later you were still complaining the toilet was not fixed. Im not a miricale worker and you could see that I was trying to fix the problem. you said it was disgusting and you dont want to see a dirty toilet. so we said to you will give you a full refund for the 2 nights. but you wanted a full refund and a £100 compenation as well, you then came back 2 hours later when your toilet was fixed but this still was not good enough for you. And your comment about no hot water after 5pm is very childish and malicious,and I have a recording of our converstaion if anyone would like to listen Im quite happy to play it to them. I think its you who should get some manners.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    33
    14
    6
    1
See reviews for
19
46
20
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

Working locally so booked into College Guest House in pretty Haverfordwest.
Colin gave us a friendly welcome and filled us in on all we needed to know about the guest house and local area......
Our twin room was fresh. clean and bright with some nice touches. It was top floor so had a good view over the tops of the houses of the surrounding countryside.
Plenty of tea and coffee and a fresh bottle of water in our room too... Tv as usual and free wifi.!
Extra bonus was the lounge where you could sit back and enjoy it as if it were your own. If you fancy a takeaway there is plates and cutlery and even a microwave too. Grab a dvd, sit back and relax..
Breakfast was excellent and also included plenty of fresh fruit...
We lost our phone chargers but Colin came to the rescue and had spares to borrow us for our stay...
If I'm back in the area I will be back to College Guesthouse.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FollowJohnPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
totnes
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed with Colin for 3 days and were sorry to leave .
This a unique experience which we greatly enjoyed especially the eggs from his own chickens,!
This 8 roomed grade 2 listed guest house provided excellent acommodation & excellent breakfasts.
We will certainly recommend it to all our friends.Good value for money too.

Graham&Carol

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sarvessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadway, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013 via mobile

Was here on business for a one night stop over. I should have brought the family as I had a double room with 3 single beds as well! No curtains on front window, you simply close the shutters. Breakfast was very tasty and prepared fresh when you go to breakfast. If you walk there from the railway station, be prepared for a steep hill climb! If I'm ever back in Haverfordwest I will use this place again.

Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Gray2057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

Booked in here for two nights with a colleague as working in the area. Our twin room on the top floor was lovely and spotlessly clean, the beds were comfortable and we slept soundly, there's a safe, overlooked, public car park with free parking right opposite the hotel. The breakfast in the morning was absolutely delicious and set us up well for a days work.
I can't fault this place at all, heartily recommend it and i would most definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeteJWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
college93, Owner at College Guest House, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Many thanks for review hope to see you again it's nice to know you appreciate what we do here .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

Stayed one night. Thought it was a little odd in that there are lots of trinkets in the reception hallway and could also smell really strong incense. The owners have dogs behind the reception which might put none dog lovers off. Plus point - there are a few chickens out back whose eggs were served with the welsh breakfast with bacon and sausages also locally sourced. The breakfast menu was extensive and service was prompt and efficient. The rooms were comfortable and the en-suite was obviously new. However it was a shame to invest in a large walk-in shower and not go that little bit farther to install a pump to give good pressure. There was barely a trickle to rinse off the soap!

Room Tip: Note that parking is in a public car-park across the road which worried us but the car was ok next m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank siamesecatpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
college93, Owner at College Guest House, responded to this review, 14 May 2013
I find it a bit bizarre that you put that we just had a trickle from our shower perhaps you didn't turn it on enough ,why did you not mention it me during your stay and also you come from Manchester where you have a very high crime rate and you are worried about you car in Haverfordwest that has the lowest crime rate in the uk.
Also Our dogs are kept in our private accommodation so why people would worry about the dogs . Reading your other reviews about Haverfordwest business I suggest you stay in Manchester .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2013

Reviewed 27 August 2012


A beautiful building both inside and out decorated with care, style and taste. The rooms/suits are private, comfotable and just that little bit special so that you feel that you are having a special treat just by staying. Colin and Pauline are welcoming and make you feel like part of the family. Too the breakfast, oh my god.... Just divine!...

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tosh3535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Haverfordwest hotels
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Haverfordwest (North/A40) Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mariners
Hotel Mariners
#5 of 7 in Haverfordwest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.4 mi away
The County Hotel
The County Hotel
#7 of 7 in Haverfordwest
3.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Slebech Park
Slebech Park
#3 of 7 in Haverfordwest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
2.9 mi away
Silverdale Inn & Lodge
Silverdale Inn & Lodge
#2 of 3 in Johnston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.7 mi away
St. David's Guest House
St. David's Guest House
#2 of 49 in Haverfordwest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to College Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about College Guest House

Property: College Guest House
Address: 93 Hill Street, Haverfordwest SA61 1QL, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Haverfordwest
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Haverfordwest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — College Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a grade ll listed building built in 1837, All our 8 rooms are ensuite a day are 4 star guest house graded by THE AA and VISIT WALES. We try use local produce from Pembrokeshire eggs from our own chicks when they laying. We have a guest lounge with a microwave so you can save money by cooking your own meal. There is some free parking in Hill st but limited or use the car park across the road max £1.50 for 24 hour. We have bike hire on Daily hire. There is also a leisure centre 80mts away with a swimming pool open from 6.30am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your College Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
College Guest House Haverfordwest, Wales - Pembrokeshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing