We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Garn Isaf

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Haverfordwest
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Garn Isaf
Ranked #5 of 51 Haverfordwest B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Prince Albert, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolute Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

We have recently returned home from a holiday in England, part of which included a walk along the Pembrokeshire Coast Path. Our stop with Anne at Garn Isaf was excellent! The welcoming cup of tea in the sun room was a soothing treat, and because we arrived on a day when Anne was unable to cook supper for us, she went far out of her way and provided transport to the nearest local pub, a walk we would have found changeling after our long day. I can’t say enough about how comfortable, clean and relaxing Gran Isaf is – Anne even provided fresh milk for the tea in our rooms. There is a wide and unusual variety of breakfast items to choose from, including Indian dishes and vegetarian options. Our breakfast was excellent (everything fresh); wonderful yoghurt and a superb fruit salad, followed by a cooked Welsh breakfast. The packed lunch Anne provided, for a very reasonable price, was very nice indeed as well as hearty and well suited to our walking needs. The surroundings are beautiful, and even if you are not walking the trail Garn Isaf is a marvellous place to stay on its own.A

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
47
42
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Keighley
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

This beautifully secluded campsite was recommended to us by a friend three years ago. We had a large private pitch surrounded by banked nature areas which means you can't see anyone else on the site until you go for a walk around. You also get a stone circle for a campfire, (Anne can supply wood for that) and a picnic table, which was great for us all to sit around for most of our mealtimes. We have three children who enjoyed it so much they wanted to come back again the next week! Well we couldn't quite do that, but we returned last year with some friends and their three children this time, who were also extremely impressed with it! It's peaceful, friendly and so close to nature. There are some marvellous coastal walks along the cliffs, seals in the coastal bays nearby, plenty of varied beaches along the coast and its close enough for easy day trips to places such as Milford Haven, Haverfordwest, Tenby, and St Davids. We even managed to get to Caldey Island last year, which is something I'd wanted to repeat since my first visit as a little boy.The Welsh people are so friendly and helpful too.
The highlight of last year was sitting at our picnic table watching a huge buzzard hunting over the newly harvested cornfields right next to our pitch, on a couple of occasions coming within ten metres of us.
Last (but certainly not least) is Anne. The perfect host, she welcomes everyone like they were old friends. This, quite simply, is because most of them already are. Almost everyone we spoke to on our stays had been going there for a number of years, so if you get the chance, why not become one of her friends too? You won't regret it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantwich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

This will be our fifth year at Y Garn, self catering at Garn Isaf, we don't normally go to the same place more than once or twice but this to us is a very unique and special place to spend quality time. The area is peaceful, beautiful and welcoming in every way, it is somewhere to spend time if you like non commercial entertainment, the opportunities for outdoor fun are endless, kayak, walk, fish, dive, explore, its all here. The property is excellent, well thought out with everything you could need, comfortable and spacious with a lovely rear garden . Anne is a great hostess, nothing is to much trouble, we feel very comfortable with everything here, particularly as she welcomes us like friends. Thank you Anne, see you soon.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spaced_invader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Langley, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

Thank you Anne for your welcoming and thoughtful advice on how to get the most of from our short stay deep in the countryside of Pembrokeshire Wales. St David's and Dinas Head seaside walks were wild nature at their best. After a good day of walking the bed in our room felt as soft and lovely as the white clouds that sailed across the blue skies each day. Your place was the one we enjoyed the most in our three week ramble through Wales and the south of England. I hope the girls and you continue to enjoy your rambles and they even get to chase a rabbit, just a little bit, once in a while.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Apismellifera6735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

When arranging to walk the second half of the PCP Abercastle was the ideal place to provide the best balance of distances over the seven days we planned to walk 95 miles. Garn Isaf was the only option but what a find!
Annie was a lovely and friendly hostess and we were particularly impressed that she asked our names when we arrived and remembered them.
A very homely place that appears to have been recently (and very well) refurbished. The number of electric points in our room was really useful for the multitude of phones, cameras etc. that we seem to accumulate.
We enjoyed the welcome cup of tea when we arrived, and met Annie's two dogs, Ruby and Amber, who were great company.
We hadn't booked a packed lunch for the next day but Annie kindly offered and produced 4 sandwiches (a round and a half each - ham salad or cheese salad) the next morning.
Breakfast was probably the best one of our seven days along the northern half of the PCP, including a delightful fresh fruit salad, and a full cooked spread with locally-sourced sausages.
Lots of local interest books and Ordnance Survey maps to read/borrow for your visit.
All in all a lovely place and definitely one I would like to revisit.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull UK
Level Contributor
92 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

I have lost track of the times we have stayed at Garn Isaf, but this time Annie was away, and John was in to cover. No problem. Same service, rooms clean as a whistle. Great breakfasts kept us going on long sections of the coast path, skipping lunch. If you have a dog, ask for the room with the bridge, it means you can let it out without going through the house.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noshy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Dunmow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Just returned from a 3 night stay at Garn Isaf. What a treat, the accomodation was tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean. The breakfasts were excellent quality and perfectly prepared. Anne the hostess was welcoming and helpful without being intrusive. What more can I say, other than Perfect.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonnes262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haverfordwest
7.9 mi away
Twr y Felin Hotel
Twr y Felin Hotel
#1 of 6 in St Davids
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cranog Trefin
Cranog Trefin
#1 of 6 in Trefin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Old School Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Penrhiw Hotel
Penrhiw Hotel
#3 of 21 in St Davids
5.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
8.4 mi away
Ramsey House
Ramsey House
#2 of 21 in St Davids
5.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Ferryboat
The Ferryboat
#1 of 22 in Fishguard
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garn Isaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garn Isaf

Property: Garn Isaf
Address: Abercastle, Haverfordwest SA62 5HJ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Haverfordwest
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Haverfordwest
Hotel Class:4 star — Garn Isaf 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Garn Isaf Haverfordwest, Wales - Pembrokeshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing