We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family friendly, outstanding luxury barns in a beautiful location, close to the coast.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Asheston Eco Barns

Asheston Eco Barns
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Asheston Eco Barns
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Family friendly, outstanding luxury barns in a beautiful location, close to the coast.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2011

We stayed at Asheston Eco Barns - in the Cart House and as soon as we approached the barns we knew we had found something special! The pictures on the website do not do it justice at all! The converted barns are stunning inside and out, and have the most wonderful views across the Welsh hills. The Cart House is a really lovely, characterful holiday home with everything you could wish for - good quality furnishings, fluffy white towels, comfortable beds, luxury walk in showers, and there were even toys and games for the children, and a most impressive welcome hamper of local goodies! The Cart House has a huge arched window in the front room, with the most amazing views. We had a lovely sitting out area - with table & chairs, a barbecue, and the grounds are beautifully landscaped. The grounds were perfect for young children - with an enclosed play area, and lots of ride on cars and tractors, etc. You are away from the road - so it is perfectly safe. The owners live on site in their farmhouse and were very welcoming, friendly and helpful. We loved the area, and had some fantastic days out. The Pembrokeshire coastline is glorious! We completely fell in love with the barns, and at the end of our week, we did not want to leave! And we would definately stay here again. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jewels114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    13
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
45
11
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2010

The Eco Barns are high quality barn conversions providing self catering apartments with lots of character. Each barn has its own design with all the household amenities you'll need - just bring some food.

It's advisable you do that when you come, since the Barns are located down quiet country lanes about 10 mins drive from the local beach of Newgale, where you can find a small shop for basic items. For a big shop (Tesco etc) then a drive into the main town of Haverfordwest is 30 mins away.

This location is suitable if you want a very quiet location with nice views across the fields. Some people might find it a bit off the beaten track but it depends on what you're looking for. It's worth mentioning that there is no internet or telephone coverage on site. Also, most mobile networks struggle to gain reception, with Orange doing the best.

We started in the Cart House but found the kitchen had a strange smell and then moved to the Cow Shed. We enjoyed that much more and although we took a look at all the barns, we'd probably stay in the same apartment again. My only comment was that there were too many cobwebs and the cleaner needs to pay a bit more attention, as the wood and stone walls quickly attract spiders to build homes!

The bedrooms have wooden floors and antique furniture which creates quite a homely effect. I do wish that, like in most accommodation, there were bigger double beds.

The site is pretty safe for kids with a play area and grass for a football kick about. The best thing for kids is Newgale which has a very clean beach. Adults will enjoy walking around St Davids, the smallest city in the UK, as well as taking in the unspoilt countryside and coast.

The hosts, Jeff and Karen, met us on arrival and were helpful in getting you settled in, providing a welcome basket with local produce.

If you're looking for a quality self catering apartment, away from all the hustle and bustle of daily life, then you'll enjoy it.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hoods_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2010

We had a great weekend at the barns. Our girls loved running around in the grounds, playing in the small playground and just exploring in the safe environment. The barns were just what we wanted, with spacious bedrooms, comfortable lounge area and a kitchen full of everything that was needed.
We will definitely be going back to Asheston at some point soon.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrlisty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeshire, England
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2010

I stayed in the Cart House with my husband, son and parents. We coudln't asked for a more modern, eco-friendly, clean and comfortable place to stay. They even provided things such as soap, washing powder and dishwasher tablets! The walk in shower is fantastic and as there were two bathrooms with shower and bath it meant that we never had to queue in the morning. The owners are very friendly and helpful.
A cot, high chair, toys, monitor, stair gate and plug socket covers were all provided. There were plenty of outdoor toys for the toddlers to play on.
The only thing I would recommend is to take plenty of food with you as there are no shops nearby. There is a freezer so you can stock up! A welcome basket is provided with some bread, wine, fudge, squash and cakes which was lovely.
We will definately return as we didn't get to see all the sights in one week.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BonJovisBiggestFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2010

Having seen the out buildings before they were converted into holiday accommodation, I can only marvel at the transformation. These are 5 star, top quality conversions by a couple who had a plan and have achieved it spectacularly. How ever long your journey takes, this is a tranquil place at which to arrive and unwind at once. Peacefull and child friendly with spectacular views of the countryside. The accommodation is well equipped and the welcome pack full of local goodies. I fully recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AuntieJLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2009

Just stayed for a week at Asheston Barns, The Cart House sleeping 6. From arriving to leaving we had a fabulous time. On arrival we were met by Karen, Jeff and their son who immedately made us very welcome and took us round the property. The Cart House has wonderful interesting rooms, every room is different and very tastefully designed and the walk in shower was just brilliant. Everything was supplied within the property, there was nothing that they hadnt thought of, even putting a lovely welcome pack with goodies in which was a lovely surprise. The location of the property is in a very quiet area where you can go to relax and definately unwind, the stars at night are stunning and the views in a morning just wonderful. If you want to go where it is more lively then St David's is only 20 mins away and there is a wonderful beach called Whitesands Bay which is great for the kids to surf. Overall we had an excellent time, going cycling, walking and surfing would definately recommend if you want a relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suscart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haverfordwest
6.2 mi away
Warpool Court Hotel
Warpool Court Hotel
#3 of 6 in St Davids
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
5.9 mi away
Twr y Felin Hotel
Twr y Felin Hotel
#1 of 6 in St Davids
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
22.0 mi away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Roch Castle Hotel
Roch Castle Hotel
#1 of 4 in Roch
5.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
1.0 mi away
Southwood Farm Bed & Breakfast
6.3 mi away
Penrhiw Hotel
Penrhiw Hotel
#3 of 21 in St Davids
5.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asheston Eco Barns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asheston Eco Barns

Property: Asheston Eco Barns
Address: Asheston House | Penycwm, Haverfordwest SA62 6NH, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Haverfordwest
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Haverfordwest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Asheston Eco Barns 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Asheston Eco Barns Haverfordwest, Wales - Pembrokeshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing