We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Haverfordwest
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rosemoor Country Cottages and Nature Reserve
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Oppressive”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

A sad September visit by responsible adults. Yes, the owners have good eco credentials but we felt surrounded by lists and regulations, including a letter when we arrived saying the cottage would be inspected (no wonder everyone left early) and boards in the garden banning playing there. It was like being back at school. When I raised the question of the uncomfortable chairs I was lectured on not having raised it earlier, which hardly addressed the issue of why comfortable chairs were not provided in the first place. When looking at the property details and brochure we had failed to take on board the various disclaimers and the fact that photos and drawings are out of date.

Room Tip: Kitchen and bathroom well equipped, plenty of hot water and warmth. Sitting area very uncomfortabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank r0sp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applefan52, Owner at Rosemoor Country Cottages and Nature Reserve, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
We are sorry to find Rosemoor depicted as "oppressive", and, frankly, just a little overstated and untrue. We do not think it wrong to ask guests to notify us when they leave so we have the opportunity to check the property; rental cars get checked, rented tools get checked, everything rented gets checked. In actual fact, the contributor of this review knows that the cottage was NOT checked upon their departure.

It is only a little disingenuous to refer to everyone leaving early, when the reasons for departure can be as simple as having booked only for a few nights, having other commitments, or what have you.

As to the boards in the garden: there are signs saying "no ball games" in the gardens behind the cottages. These are there to give parents/adults a quiet moment or two on their patio, and to prevent windows from being broken. So their object is to give guests the chance to get away from being too close to a school playground. There is a huge playground a short distance away in the grounds, where any type of ball game can be played.

The level of comfort provided by the chairs is a highly personal issue. Everyone has their preference, and a (any) type of furniture is bound not to please someone at some point. We are not happy about that fact, but can do very little about it, other than to say that in 12 years we have never before had a complaint about these chairs. The "lecture", if that's what it was, went like "you should have let us know earlier, then we could have done something about it earlier, and you wouldn't have had to be uncomfortable for so long".

We explicitly invite our guests to let us know if/when things are not as they expect them to be (in that same welcoming letter) so that we can do something about it. Hardly lack of willingness to provide a pleasant and comfortable stay.

We are at a loss as to the photos and drawings being out of date: we know for a fact that they are not so in any material way.

We can only refer to the many very positive other reviews about Rosemoor. It is unfortunate that you felt uncomfortable in the furniture provided in your cottage. We corrected things immediately when we were made aware of them; if things are not 100% to guests' liking the very next best thing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    4
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
9
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We have just returned from our ninth visit to Rosemoor cottages, our second Springtime visit to Spring cottage! John and Jacqui always make us feel so welcome, and little touches like a copy of the Radio Times,mini Easter eggs and complimentary toiletries add to the experience.
We have spent the last seven Christmas's at Rosemoor, four in Holly Tree and three in Spring Cottage. It is great to return after a cold Winters walk to a warm and cosy cottage, a hot shower and a welcoming Christmas tree! This year friends are joining us and have booked Rose Cottage.
We are already looking forward to our next stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 746HilaryK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

We're just back from a week staying in First Cottage at Rosemoor and we were very impressed with the quality of the accommodation and the amount of thought and care which has gone into it all. The furniture and fittings are all excellent quality - solid, sturdy furniture, really comfy beds, pillows and duvets, excellent kitchen units and appliances, and the whole place was spotlessly clean when we arrived. The kids loved the table tennis room and the playground. The information the owners send is extremely comprehensive including very clear directions. Remember to take your own towels. There is wifi access in the table tennis room - it would be great to have it in the cottages too but quite good for us to have an enforced break from the internet too! We thoroughly recommend Rosemoor - we're delighted to have found it.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Judith O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012 via mobile

Rosemoor is one of the most beautiful self-catering properties we have ever stayed in. John, our host, was very kind and knowledgeable about the area, giving very good advice on activities. His suggestions on Skomer island and Marloes Sands beach were all spot on, and they were the highlights of our week in UK. We stayed at the Coach House, which was spacious with a very well-equipped kitchen - it even has a slow cooker ! The kitchen must have been newly refurbished as the equipment all look new. Our children enjoyed playing with the chickens in the yard, and the cows nearby. The beds were very comfortable. We are rather fastidious when it comes to hygiene and the cottage, and all its nooks and crannies, completely met our standards. There was fast wifi available at the office building next to the Coach House. The view from our garden was fantastic - rolling Wales countryside. After Rosemoor, we went to other places in Europe but for our kids their favourite part of the holiday was their time at Rosemoor. We only wished we had time to explore the nature reserve adjoining !

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nippongirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kildare
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

we stayed in the First Cottage and it was nice and comfortable, the bathroom was always nice and toasty due to underfloor heating. the kids especially loved the big four seater seesaw. Would be handy though if the wifi extended to the cottages given that it is the evening time or the rainy day that one would like to be able to go on the net for a bit and the table tennis room is not as comfy for that as the comfort of the nice sitting room ;-)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelmoremadam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, UK
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

The cottages at Rosemoor are perfect for us. John and Jacqui have gone out of their way to create comfortable holiday homes with minimum environmental impact. The whole group of cottages runs on their biomass boiler, several have superb underfoor heating, all are well heated and cosy. The problems you often encounter in rented holiday lets (cheap beds, horrible decor, inadequately equipped kitchens, terrible sofas that give you backache, showers that just don't work, electricity meters, freezing in winter... I could go on) are nowhere in evidence at Rosemoor. We've been going there for 5 yrs and I honestly don't think I would even consider staying anywhere else in Pembrokeshire. The main reason we keep going back there is because of the maginc combination of ideal accommodation and the sublimely beautiful national park (and puffins of course).

Room Tip: If you want a sunny patio to sit out in the summer, make sure your cottage has one, because not all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulineBristol_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, UK
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

We already knew and loved Pembrokeshire; now we really like Rosemoor too. We had Apple Cottage and it was great for us. Being "cottages" these are not huge accommodation units, but there was enough space for us all, including 3 children and a dog; the downstairs bedroom and bathroom are particularly spacious, having been designed for wheelchair access. Loved the nature reserve which is effectively on-site. Parking right outside the door in case it's pouring down (well this is Wales). Ideal location for exploring the Pembs Coast and many lovely beaches. We met the owners a couple of times and found them friendly and easygoing.

Room Tip: Read their website to see which cottage suits you best
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hktelfords
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Haverfordwest hotels
3.6 mi away
Silverdale Inn & Lodge
Silverdale Inn & Lodge
#3 of 3 in Johnston
105 reviews
6.5 mi away
Roch Castle Hotel
Roch Castle Hotel
#1 of 5 in Roch
300 reviews
11.0 mi away
Wolfscastle Country Hotel
Wolfscastle Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wolf's Castle
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Slebech Park
Slebech Park
#3 of 6 in Haverfordwest
481 reviews
6.7 mi away
Cuffern Manor Country House
6.5 mi away
Premier Inn Haverfordwest (North/A40) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosemoor Country Cottages and Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosemoor Country Cottages and Nature Reserve

Property: Rosemoor Country Cottages and Nature Reserve
Address: Walwyn's Castle, Haverfordwest SA62 3ED, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Haverfordwest
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Haverfordwest
Hotel Class:4 star — Rosemoor Country Cottages and Nature Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely self-catering cottages on old Victorian country estate in Pembrokeshire, West Wales, UK. Close to sea and beaches, renowned Skomer Island, and the Pembrokeshire coast path. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rosemoor Country Cottages And Nature Reserve Haverfordwest, Wales - Pembrokeshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing