We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heaven in West Wales”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
St. David's Guest House
Ranked #2 of 51 Haverfordwest B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wales
2 reviews
“Heaven in West Wales”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We had spent 2 nights here in 2012 and instantly re-booked for 7 nights in 2013. This spacious and beautifully decorated and furnished guest house is complimented by brilliant hosts Estelle and Colin. We used the Picton and Chepstow rooms which are both very spacious, beautifully decorated and furnished, the former with a double bed and the latter with twin beds, which better suited our 88 year old mother. Our hosts moved an armchair from the Chepstow Room to the Picton room so that all three of us could watch the evening television and enjoy a cup of tea/coffee together. Estelle was always chatty at breakfast time and was keen to learn just what we had been doing each day. Towards the end of our stay Estelle's parents came to stay and we soon struck up an accord with them even discovering that we had a mutual friend living in Chepstow, Gwent. This is a place where you will feel totally relaxed and will certainly wish you had booked for a longer stay. Roll on next year. We will be back again.

Room Tip: The Chepstow is first floor with twin beds, The Picton is first floor with a double bed. There is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dynion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stdavidsguesthouse, Owner at St. David's Guest House, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Many thanks for all the lovely praise. We enjoyed having you here and look forward to seeing you again next year. Having such wonderful guests makes our job of looking after you a real pleasure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    275
    4
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
54
153
13
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Droitwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Where do I start ? Never have I been so compelled to write a review before.
We stayed at St. David's Guest House for a couple of nights as Haverfordwest is an ideal base for exploring Pembrokeshire.
On arrival, we were welcomed by Estelle and offered help with our luggage. After showing us to our fabulous room with four poster bed and jacuzzi bath, we had tea, coffee and welsh cakes brought to our room.
The room, along with the rest of the accommodation was impeccably clean and very well equipped with everything we could have wanted. The bed could not have been more comfortable !!
Breakfast was plentiful, with a good choice on offer and Colin is to be commended on his yummy full english.
Both Colin and Estelle were the perfect hosts, friendly, informative and most importantly, down to earth so easy to chat to. Each morning Estelle showed an interest in what we'd done the previous day.
On leaving, we were asked if there was anything we'd change. Answer: NO, NO, NO !! Everything was spot on and we wouldn't hesitate in staying at St. David's again. Well done Colin & Estelle, keep up the good work.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stdavidsguesthouse, Owner at St. David's Guest House, responded to this review, 29 September 2013
thank you for your lovely words, we always think its a 2 way street , you were the couple easy to chat to and a pleasure to look after. do come back sometime and see us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

During our 5 day stay we were more than impressed by this beautiful old rectory and it's charming owners. Chepstow Room was large, luxurious and comfortable and everything was so thoughtfully provided for a relaxing break. Nothing was too much trouble for Colin & Estelle, whose friendly, helpful yet unobtrusive manner was perfect for us. There was an extensive choice at breakfast and portions were huge and delicious! We felt completely at home and can't wait to visit again. Thank you for a memorable holiday - Steve & Ruth.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stdavidsguesthouse, Owner at St. David's Guest House, responded to this review, 29 September 2013
glad you enjoyed your stay and your dash around to see all Pembrokeshire has to offer. You were both very easy to look after and we would love to see you both again. glad to hear you both felt at home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

The initial greeting tells us a lot about a B&B and Estelle's very warm welcome gave us a good feeling right from the start - especially when that was followed up with tea and Welsh cakes to revive us after a long journey.

I was in Haverfordwest for 6 days to walk most days with a group of Ramblers (staying about 4 miles away) but my wife is not a walker and so we were looking for a base that had easy access to the town but where she could stay in if she wished to do some embroidery or reading.

We had the Manorbier suite on the ground floor which had a good size bedroom (with a very comfortable bed) a dressing room and a wet room containing a very stylish suite of loo, wash basin and shower (not forgetting the heated mirror). The Manorbier suite is ideal for anyone with mobility problems as there are no steps, bath sides or shower pans to cope with. It also meant that we had easy access on the same level to the front door and breakfast room/lounge

Estelle and Colin are great hosts and love talking to their guests - providing helpful advice on restaurants to try and places to go. They are also keen to adapt to the requirements of their guests rather than expect their guests to fit in with their rules and timetable. I was having to meet up with my fellow walkers at 8:30am and that meant that I needed breakfast at 07:15am - earlier than their normal breakfast time. Not a problem especially as I did not want a full Welsh breakfast when walking but was very happy with a bowl of porridge. a bowl of fresh fruit and some toast. (I did manage Colin's full cooked breakfast on two non-walking days and enjoyed both of them).

Each morning Colin brought in a very good selection of newspapers for the guests and so my wife was very happy to sit in comfort reading those while I went off to do another stretch of the Pembrokeshire coast path. The St David's Guest House is in its own grounds and has good parking for all the guests so I never had any problem extracting my car early in the morning - which was a relief.

Having watched a number of TV programmes about B&Bs we asked ourselves what changes would make it even better. The answer was "nothing" - it was spotless and beautifully furnished and we thought it was perfect as it was. That was all down to Colin and Estelle's attention to detail and to their warm personalities. We can't wait until our next trip to Pembrokeshire - we know where we will be staying! Thank you Colin and Estelle.

P.S.
1) For eating out we had quite different, but very enjoyable, meals at The Bristol Trader, The Georges (fabulous, quirky and a bit pricey) and The William Owen (Wetherspoons). The latter was a good value choice on a Sunday night when many other restaurants were shut.
2) While the St David's Guest House is within walking distance of Haverfordwest town centre it is at the top of a hill and so might not be an easy return walk for anyone with walking difficulties. However, it is a relatively short level walk from St David's Guest House to the new Withybush Retail Park (Marks & Spencer etc) and Withybush Hospital where you can catch the free Little Green Bus (services 301 & 304) to and from the town centre.

Room Tip: Manorbier ground floor suite ideal for anyone with walking difficulties
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duncan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stdavidsguesthouse, Owner at St. David's Guest House, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
thank you for the most wonderful and most extensive review we think we have ever had. It was a pleasure to look after you both and we would love to see you again some time. Pembrokeshire has so much to offer apart from the wonderful coastal paths so come back and enjoy the rest.
The flowers were amazing , we both thank you for them ,looking after you was easy so flowers were just wow!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Colin and Estelle are the perfect hosts...you are made to feel at home the minute you walk through the door. The old vicarage is impeccably furnished to a very high standard, in keeping with the age of the property and the food provided is of an equally high standard. Attention to detail in every respect is outstanding....... this is definitely not your average B&B. We will not even consider staying anywhere else when we return to the area. All friends and relatives are going to be made aware of this jewel in West Wales.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 49woody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stdavidsguesthouse, Owner at St. David's Guest House, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
many thanks for the wonderful review, in all the best comment of your stay was that you really felt at home, glad you enjoyed your stay and please do pass us on to friends and family .
See you again we hope.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We Stayed here because of the central position in Pembrokeshire as we wanted to visit both St. David's and Tenby and also because of the impressive reviews (which we definitely endorse!). We had the room with the four poster and enormous bathroom with jacuzzi bath. The bed was very comfortable and the service and breakfast were excellent. Estelle and Colin were great hosts and seemed to have thought of everything that guests could require. We wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NOTTM10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stdavidsguesthouse, Owner at St. David's Guest House, responded to this review, 7 September 2013
Many thanks for the great review , we are glad you enjoyed your stay and was very pleased to hear you would stay again. We aim to make you feel comfortable and perhaps a little pampered so are glad to hear we managed to do just that!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

I couldn't recommend it higher. Colin and Estelle were the perfect hosts. Tea and Welsh Cakes on arrival. The breakfasts were extremely well cooked with added extras if needed with endless supply of tea, coffee and toast. The breakfast menu was much more than you would expect from a B&B. The rooms were very well decorated to a high standard, comfortable and clean. I have been recommending to my friends they should go there for a well earned break! Highly recommended and would love a return visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crools
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stdavidsguesthouse, Owner at St. David's Guest House, responded to this review, 7 September 2013
Lovely review , thank you . We aim to please and we are very glad to hear you were comfortable.
Please do come back and see us again soon, it would great to see both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haverfordwest
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Haverfordwest (North/A40) Hotel
4.9 mi away
Slebech Park
Slebech Park
#3 of 7 in Haverfordwest
453 reviews
8.7 mi away
Grove of Narberth
Grove of Narberth
#1 of 1 in Molleston
1,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Mariners
Hotel Mariners
#5 of 7 in Haverfordwest
179 reviews
6.4 mi away
Wolfscastle Country Hotel and Restaurant
5.6 mi away
Roch Castle Hotel
Roch Castle Hotel
#1 of 5 in Roch
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. David's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. David's Guest House

Property: St. David's Guest House
Address: Well Lane, Haverfordwest SA61 2PL, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Haverfordwest
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Haverfordwest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful Victorian former vicarage with many original features offering suited or en suited rooms, free wifi all set in large gardens but close to town centre ,retail park and Hospital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your St. David's Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. David's Guest House Haverfordwest, Wales - Pembrokeshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing