We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Sunday Lunch”
Review of The Bristol Trader

The Bristol Trader
Ranked #6 of 106 Restaurants in Haverfordwest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$26
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Quality local food, wines & real ale in historic Pembrokeshire quayside pub.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Fantastic Sunday Lunch”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We regularly spend time in West Wales and have often called in to the Bristol Trader for a quick bite to eat and drink as they have a *under £5* meal which is excellent value for money. Today we called in for Sunday Lunch - absolutely outstanding quality of food! Choice of beef, turkey and pork or all 3 if you want, all vegetables freshly prepared and as much as you want, all served by landlord and landlady who are really friendly and very professional. We'll be back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cardiffian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    69
    19
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fishguard, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Ideal for lunchtime get together with friends”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Meet here with friends every 3 months or so. Have done so for years. Our experience today was nothing from the ordinary. Very friendly staff both in the bar and serving the food. An attractive conservatory extension houses the eating area which has a variety of sized tables suitable for either a small or large party of people. Maybe slightly on the expensive side, the meal was very tasty and well presented as always. It also arrived without delay so good for a short break from work. We shall certainly be returning again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Franco795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Warm Welcome”
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We had a lovely lunch today in this pub. There was good variety on the menu and we didn't leave much on any of the plates, and that was only because of the good size portions. Even the dog got a warm welcome - the staff were lovely with him. Well done - keep it up.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Samantha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Narberth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem of HWest.”
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Came here with some friends of mine having heard that the food was homemade. Walked through the door and was greeted by a VERY friendly bar lady, regret not asking what her name was, but needless to say she deserves a pay rise (She had short blonde hair). She really couldn't have done more for us and spoke to us like we were old friends. The food was really nice, I had honey roast ham and mash, and whilst I would have preferred thickly cut ham, it was simply delicious. Restaurant was pretty, food was very nice but the real selling point was the fantastic service the bar lady provided. Wish I was rich enough to leave a bigger tip!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ColdBlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Level 6 Contributor
470 reviews
231 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“Wonderful location and really good value”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We were recommended this place to eat as being dog friendly. It was but obviously not allowed in the restaurant so it is good for those who do not want a dog in the area.

The food menu was extensive and really good value. Highly recommended if you are there.

The staff were really efficient and friendly - certainly worth a visit

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank luvtogo6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bristol Trader also viewed

Haverfordwest, Pembrokeshire
 
Haverfordwest, Pembrokeshire
Wolf's Castle, Haverfordwest
 
Haverfordwest, Pembrokeshire
Haverfordwest, Pembrokeshire
 

Been to The Bristol Trader? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing