We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An absolute gem that should not be missed.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nant y Coy Mill - CLOSED

Nant y Coy Mill
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: The cafe is currently closed until further notice
Gloucester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An absolute gem that should not be missed.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

This stunningly converted mill and spotless café is in an idyllic but conveniently positioned spot on the A40 to Fishguard. Nestled in the Treffgarne Gorge, we not only enjoyed afternoon tea on the one day and then lunch later that week, but we also took the dogs for a very pretty walk from the back of the mill (with old water wheel) through a very beautiful and incredibly well looked after woodland walk and nature reserve.
The staff in the café are just lovely and very attentive, and the food was delicious. We were so impressed with the amount of time and care taken to make everything so nice, from the gorgeous display of cakes in their little domed stands, to the fact that there is gluten free bread available. All the food was wonderful, with a surprising and varied "specials" board with imaginative dishes that tasted amazing. Thank you Nant y Coy for a fabulous dining experience.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sj W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    24
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful café with a fantastic gorge walk”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

Traditional stone mill building which has been transformed into an idyllic Welsh café/bistro serving freshly prepared meals using local ingredients. We popped in here for coffee and cake and we were really pleased with the excellent service and the quality of the food on offer.

We returned a couple of days later and had a more substantial lunch, and the service was just as warm and friendly. We had tartiflette which is made from a seasonal French dish made from Reblochon cheese, which we have only ever seen in the Haute Savoie when skiing, and it was superb! I had belly pork with butter beans and chorizo which was really good as well. We will definitely add this to our list of places to visit when we are back in Pembrokeshire.

Behind the mill is a beautiful gorge running alongside a river, which has been recently restored with paths and bridges to make a really enjoyable walk up the valley, through organic meadows, to the rocky outcrops at Wolf's Castle Rock. An ideal way to walk off a nice lunch!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DJWilliamson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampshire
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“What a little Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Nant y Coy mill was a gem of a discovery, with food of a very high standard. Local foods with an excellent variety. Well worth seeking out for a real treat

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank welshdragongirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembrokeshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Supurb Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

What a lovely place. The building is traditional and quaint with a cosy feel inside, its what I would say a real traditional Welsh cafe should be. Staff are attentive and friendly and had a good knowledge of the food on offer. EVERYTHING is homemade and all of which is made with local produce etc. To start with I must say how refreshing it is to have REAL TEA, not just teabags thrown into tea pots (as you often get these days). The only disappointment was the sugar, I think as they are serving real, in a pot, with a tea strainer, it would have been nice to have sugar lumps instead of the pre-packed sugar you get in supermarket cafes. I had the duck salad with caramelised red onion, sweet potato. This came with slices of orange and was very lightly drizzled with oil. It was to die for, I have never enjoyed a salad so much. My husband had Moroccan Lamb. It was delicious, the Lamb melted in your mouth and the flavours were amazing. The portion sizes were also very good. For dessert I had the almond and coconut torte, my husband had the Chocolate nemesis (aptly named). Both were just super. We enjoyed our Nant y Coy Mill experience very much and will probably go back to try the evening meals.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Narberth, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“beautiful restaurant for lunch in old welsh stone mill/craft shop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Old stone mill with ample car parking in beautiful gorge surroundings on Fishguard Road. Lovely walks upto top of gorge. Mill has been tastefully modernised inside, is light and airy with large woodburner and sparkling table settings. The food is local, light and beautifully prepared. Local veggies,goats cheese and meats and hazelnut meringues and cream etc. Outside terrace for eating in the sun and a craft shop full of local arts and crafts. Licenced as well. The chef is very experienced and innovative. No heavy stodge and chips here! Prices are very reasonable and the staff are cheerful and very pleasant. I highly recommend it. They do the odd evening meal, but do check first as it is not always open in the evening.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hazel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nant y Coy Mill also viewed

Haverfordwest, Pembrokeshire
Camrose, Haverfordwest
 
Haverfordwest, Pembrokeshire
Johnston, Haverfordwest
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing