We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“10 pin bowling league,end of season meal”
Review of Greyhound Hotel

Greyhound Hotel
Ranked #33 of 103 Restaurants in Haverfordwest
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“10 pin bowling league,end of season meal”
Reviewed 26 July 2013

A group of us went to The Greyhound for an end of bowling season meal. Most of us had never been there before. The restaurant was clean and bright and the food was superb. Typical pub grub ( Steaks, Chicken ,Fish,Pasta Steak and ale pie etc.All the different dishes were well presented and perfectly cooked. The only complaint from some of the ladies was the size of the portions- they were huge and unfortunately some could not finish their meal but we were given 'doggie bags' The service was also good, and the prices very reasonable. In fact we were all so impressed we booked there and then for our Xmas meal!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveBooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    12
    2
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pembrokeshire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Lovely food”
Reviewed 24 June 2013 via mobile

Decided to try this pub for lunch. Very quiet on the day we were there, but had a very friendly welcome from the barman.
A good choice of steaks, chicken & fish dishes in the menu but we weren't hungry enough for those. So I chose the daily special of the hot baguette with bacon, cranberry & cheese & my mum chose a jacket potato with prawns & side salad
The food was lovely, well presented, hot & very filling.
Our bill with 2 drinks came to £13 was good value for the amount of food we had.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank taffymacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, Oregon, United States
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Fun, Great Prices!!”
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Spent a night at The Mariner Hotel after missing the ferry to Ireland. Not sure where to eat so we stumbled across the street to The Greyhound Hotel for a bit of bar food. Started out in the pub that had a half dozen or so locals there drinking ale and watching football. I bought a round for the boys and the party was on. Very friendly and fun bunch of blokes that the wife and I very much enjoyed meeting and spending time with. After a couple we went upstairs for a bite to eat and the experience could not have been better! We both had the fish and chips and I can say without a doubt that it was one of the best meals I have ever had and the price (about 8 pounds) was to die for (see photos), The fish was fresh, the batter was wonderful, the mushy peas were fresh and flavorful and the chips? Well they were hot and fresh and more than we could eat. The couple running it (he cooking and she serving) were a hoot, The place is very small and probably seats no more than 20 but several tables were filled with locals and they were all very friendly and open. One of the highlights of our trip.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Justaguy97420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembrokeshire
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Could do much, much better”
Reviewed 17 May 2013

We went for an evening meal in the upstairs restaurant above the pub. There was no one else there. We both ordered steaks, trimmings and garlic potatoes. The rib eye steak looked very pale and certainly not grilled - it was tough and tasted very bland. The garlic potatoes were the worst ever - boiled potatoes, with single cream poured over, topped with a mozzarella and garlic mixture. The Rump steak was so tough a steak knife could not even cut through it. Both meals were luke warm, served on cold plates. I would not return to this restaurant again.
To be fair a partial refund was given for the tough rump steak by the extremely chatty waitress.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank taff77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west wales
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“great home cooked food”
Reviewed 23 March 2013

Have eaten here three times in the last few months. Once with a family gathering with young children and also with work colleagues. Each time the food has been amazing. The restaurant is clean, tables well laid out and the staff very smart in their shirt and ties.
The food is delicious, cooked to order and there is an excellent choice on the menu. Chips and side orders are plentiful and all reasonably priced.
As the restaurant is upstairs from the pub it's great place to take children and they also have a childrens menu.
All the people I took last night were very impressed and we will all be back.
Easy to park in the next door public car park

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank weloveholidays007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Greyhound Hotel also viewed

Haverfordwest, Pembrokeshire
Haverfordwest, Pembrokeshire
 
Haverfordwest, Pembrokeshire
Haverfordwest, Pembrokeshire
 

Been to Greyhound Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing