We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value”
Review of Greyhound Hotel

Greyhound Hotel
Ranked #35 of 102 Restaurants in Haverfordwest
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Milford Haven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Was recommended this pub by a friend and it was well worth it.
We had a lunch in the resaurant which was clean and pleasant
I had a Caribbean chicken with a jacket potatoe which was delicious, hubby had chicken Maryland which he thoroughly enjoyed! food came pipping hot and nicely presented! my only gripe was the portion size was too big for me!
Will be returning soon, they do theme nights also with valentines! Irish night with music etc.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suetal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    12
    2
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Anniversary Meal”
Reviewed 14 September 2013

we booked the Greyhound for our Anniversary meal, we hadn't been there before but had read decent reviews. On arrival we were surprised how big the place was inside, as from the outside it looks small. We ordered a drink from the bar and were taken up to the restaurant which was very clean and tidy. The staff were very friendly and the food came quite quickly. The starter, garlic mushrooms was a disappointment as it was more like milky soggy mushrooms. When the main arrived we were very pleased with the quality and amount of food given, the only thing wrong was the Diane sauce ordered which wasn't what I expected and when I questioned it the waitress waffled something which I just accepted, We also asked for a bottle of Prosecco and was bought a bottle of Champagne. All in all we had a good meal and night out but it could easily have been that little bit better,

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“10 pin bowling league,end of season meal”
Reviewed 26 July 2013

A group of us went to The Greyhound for an end of bowling season meal. Most of us had never been there before. The restaurant was clean and bright and the food was superb. Typical pub grub ( Steaks, Chicken ,Fish,Pasta Steak and ale pie etc.All the different dishes were well presented and perfectly cooked. The only complaint from some of the ladies was the size of the portions- they were huge and unfortunately some could not finish their meal but we were given 'doggie bags' The service was also good, and the prices very reasonable. In fact we were all so impressed we booked there and then for our Xmas meal!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveBooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembrokeshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Lovely food”
Reviewed 24 June 2013 via mobile

Decided to try this pub for lunch. Very quiet on the day we were there, but had a very friendly welcome from the barman.
A good choice of steaks, chicken & fish dishes in the menu but we weren't hungry enough for those. So I chose the daily special of the hot baguette with bacon, cranberry & cheese & my mum chose a jacket potato with prawns & side salad
The food was lovely, well presented, hot & very filling.
Our bill with 2 drinks came to £13 was good value for the amount of food we had.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank taffymacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
52 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Fun, Great Prices!!”
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Spent a night at The Mariner Hotel after missing the ferry to Ireland. Not sure where to eat so we stumbled across the street to The Greyhound Hotel for a bit of bar food. Started out in the pub that had a half dozen or so locals there drinking ale and watching football. I bought a round for the boys and the party was on. Very friendly and fun bunch of blokes that the wife and I very much enjoyed meeting and spending time with. After a couple we went upstairs for a bite to eat and the experience could not have been better! We both had the fish and chips and I can say without a doubt that it was one of the best meals I have ever had and the price (about 8 pounds) was to die for (see photos), The fish was fresh, the batter was wonderful, the mushy peas were fresh and flavorful and the chips? Well they were hot and fresh and more than we could eat. The couple running it (he cooking and she serving) were a hoot, The place is very small and probably seats no more than 20 but several tables were filled with locals and they were all very friendly and open. One of the highlights of our trip.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Justaguy97420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Greyhound Hotel also viewed

Haverfordwest, Pembrokeshire
Haverfordwest, Pembrokeshire
 
Haverfordwest, Pembrokeshire
Haverfordwest, Pembrokeshire
 
Haverfordwest, Pembrokeshire
Haverfordwest, Pembrokeshire
 

Been to Greyhound Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing