We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Proper pub grub”
Review of Corner Piece Inn

Corner Piece Inn
Ranked #17 of 102 Restaurants in Haverfordwest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$24
Description: We are a traditional pub serving real ales and good homemade food. We allow (well behaved)dogs in the bar area, and families with children always welcome.
Restaurant details
Description: We are a traditional pub serving real ales and good homemade food. We allow (well behaved)dogs in the bar area, and families with children always welcome.
Letterston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Proper pub grub”
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We always have a good meal in the Corner Piece, its home cooking at its best in a traditional warm inviting country pub. The portions are plentiful and the options varied enough to tempt the weary traveller. The Mixed grill is a carnivores delight and must be seen to be believed. Excellent value food in an inviting pub ran by thoroughly lovely folk.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JamesandJen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    15
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Superb!”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

What a delight! We have driven past the Corner Piece many times and always vowed to visit, and we now have and will again! Only a short distance from we live, the corner piece is located on the main Fishguard Road, not far out of Haverfordwest.
We were met with a warm welcome and given a very nice table in bar lounge area; service was excellent and the food faultless, without doubt the best Cawl I have ever tasted!!

The Corner piece offer a lighter lunch menu for smaller appetite (ideal for my aunt and sister); if you choose from the main menu you will not be able to move from your seat; all freshly cooked and service with a smile.

Superb!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CherryH25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Treffgarne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Much more than just a "Piece"”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

What a meal! You'll never walk away from the Corner Piece unfulfilled! A Sunday lunch to remind you of Mam's Sunday 'dinner'. Firstly, a very warm Welsh welcome from Dylan the landlord who was very friendly, had a cheeky grin, a good sense of humour and poured a very good pint in this out of town little country pub. What a find. Was seated in a cosy corner in the beamed ceiling lounge. Our order was taken by a young lady who was extremely polite as we chose a choice of meats that were on offer. Portion sizes were very generous with at least eight choices of fresh, definitely not frozen vegetables as well as a Yorkshire pudding if requested and a little stuffing. The meat was tender and most tasteful. We were not rushed by any of the staff and allowed to savour this delicious fayre. After being fully satisfied with the main course struggled to find room for dessert but awaited 10-15 minutes and ordered from the dessert menu. We both chose the home-made choices, rhubarb crumble and the apple crumble both with custard. Yum! All the young girls were polite and cheerful as they went about their tasks on this busy Sunday lunchtime. Janet the landlady, who momentarily popped her head out of the kitchen to say hello to her family who were also eating, should be highly recommended for her Sunday lunches ... We definitely will return :-) Compliments to the "Chefette" as this is "much more than just a piece".

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jackie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Lovely Place”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Great Sunday roast - enough to spare that it was bagged up and given to the dogs for tea! My Son thought that the portions were 'MASSIVE' - he is no culinary expert but he does love his food.
Met up with Mum and Dad for lunch and it was really lovely. Our waitress was really friendly and I am just sorry I cannot remember her name

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loughborough
Level Contributor
421 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Friendly country pub dog friendly garden”
Reviewed 26 July 2013

About three miles out from Haverford west on the Fishguard road sits the Corner piece, as the name suggests, on a wedge of land between the main road and a side road to Spittal. The menu was large and varied which is not always a good sign but the food all tasty home made, was well presented and the portions were generous but not overwhelming. Six of us turned up and ordered a range of meals from jacket potatoes, curry, through chicken salad to home made pies and vegetables. All were full of flavour and what was great we could sit together with the family dog in the securely fenced garden in front of the pub. The staff were friendly and so were the locals! One warning in the evenings last orders must be put in by 8:00pm although some adverts say food served until 9:00.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank kishere t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Corner Piece Inn also viewed

Haverfordwest, Pembrokeshire
Haverfordwest, Pembrokeshire
 
Haverfordwest, Pembrokeshire
Haverfordwest, Pembrokeshire
 
Wolf's Castle, Haverfordwest
 

Been to Corner Piece Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing