We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great base for exploring”
other travellers have booked this property
The Spacious Double Bedroom
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Spacious Double Bedroom
The Lounge and Dining Area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
23 reviews
The Spacious Double Bedroom
The Lounge and Dining Area
Haverfordwest Castle
The Layout of the Property
The WC and Shower Room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Haverfordwest, Pembrokeshire, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
MaggieLin...
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great base for exploring”
Reviewed 24 June 2015 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Being a Harford girl and for 4 years walking past this property on my way to school, never noticing it was there. It is a little gem. after being away from H'west for nearly 25 years it was lovely to be home again.
The cottage is perfect for 2 people, being on the top end of town you get your daily exercise walking up and down to the town centre.
Can't wait until I get the chance to come home again, and The farriers Cottage will be my base to explore Pembrokeshire

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being just outside of the town centre
Liked least: The shower not enough water pressure
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: convenience and cost for property
Liked least: no central heating meant it was freezing!
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
27 Feb 2015
Hi There.

We are really sorry to hear that the heating did not work during your stay. However, this is the first time we have heard about this from you and have not been made aware of the problem before reading your review.

I would like to mention that our contact details are clearly detailed in the cottage in case there are any problems such as this. We have a fully qualified Electrician (Brian Rees) on hand that would have either rectified this problem for you or we would have put an extra oil heater in the property for the remainder of your stay.

We think it's a little bit unfair to leave negative feedback, when if given the chance, we would have sorted this problem out for you immediately with very little effort needed - even if this meant coming out in the middle of the night and nipping over the 24 hour Tesco across the road and buying a new heater, it would not have been a problem I can assure you.

Needless to say - I have now requested for Brian to go into the property to check out the electrics before we accept another booking - if the problem cannot be resolved for the night storage heaters - we will put another oil heater into the property.

As a gesture of goodwill, I would like to offer you a free night if you decide to stay with us again, if you do decide to give us another go - let me know which dates you want to book and I will reduce the cost of 1 night for you. Pembrokeshire is a fantastic place to stay during the summer or winter and I don't want this incident put you off coming back again.

I can assure you and anyone else who is reading this review, that the problem regarding the heating will be fixed before anyone else stays at the property.

We take the comfort of our Guests very seriously and am deeply sorry about this problem and offer our sincere apologies.

Thanks

Rob Hughes
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Paul B
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Adequate for a short stay”
Reviewed 23 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

The house is well located for a big Tesco and walk-able to most of the town. The house is small but for a "base" for seeing the area is perfectly adequate.

We did have an issue on the first morning with hot water and the electrics. Robert was very helpful and called us right away and the issue was resolved. My recommendation to Robert would be to put the information about the water in the bathroom right next to the shower and boiler. I appreciate the information we needed was there but simply wasn't seen by us. Especially helpful would be a sign on the shower that the hot and cold are the wrong way round.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Acitvecou...
Eastbourne
1 review
“Basic good value”
Reviewed 29 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Central area where we wanted to be for walking. Managed to park O.K. although little tricky round the one way system. Old property as described but equipped with all needed for short stay.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alan d
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“we left early”
Reviewed 18 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
5
people found this review helpful

We arrived Friday afternoon for a weeks stay .After picking up keys we got to "cottage " to find parking difficult as little parking spaces in front were all full and stayed that way for the remainder of our stay. Property its self was at the top of a long hill which ever way you go. Having mobility problems found walking anywhere to much so had to drive even short distances. Inside the property at first it was amusing how small it was but with nowhere downstairs to hang a coat. Up stairs theses stairs are bare wood noisy very steep and narrow . The bedroom very springy noisy floorboards and once again poorly equipped no where to hang clothes and just 1 small 3 draw cupboard. Shower/toilet one hook behind the door no towel rail ,no mugs to use cleaning out teeth .We had decided to book a cottage thinking it would be an improvent on a caravan .I can say I was proved wrong .We both got up Monday morning and said lets go home We packed and was gone by 9am.It might suit some fitter younger people to use as just a base ,but not us .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: leaving
Liked least: cottage
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Aug 2014
We are sorry to hear you did not find the property to your expectations.

The property is a nearly 200 year old ex Farriers Cottage, this we have stated in the advert. Properties of this age are going to have a certain character that may not be to everyone's taste. This also means that it could be unsuitable for people with mobility problems, we have also stated this in our advertisement.

Although we have had many guests with mobility problems in the past who have had no problems whats so ever and are always more than welcome.

Most of our guests are very happy with the cottage, which is very clean, centrally located and most importantly - extremely good value considering this property is in the heart of Pembrokeshire.

Haverfordwest is also a very old medieval town that dates back some 10,000 years or so and unfortunately, like most of the towns in Wales, is very hilly. Again, this part of the charm of character of the town but is not as ideal for people with mobility and access problems as say a modern city.

Again I am very sorry you found the property and the town unsuitable, we will take your comments on board regarding other issues and strive to rectify this as best we can.

We would also like to welcome you back to the cottage if you ever decide to give the Farriers and Haverfordwest another chance, with a discount applied to your booking.

Many Thanks
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross M
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Reasonable for the money”
Reviewed 6 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Property was clean and included tea, coffee and biscuits hotel style. Everything expected was available and in good order. Good location but busy road during the day, nights were fine and parking outside the door made up for this.
Down side is steep stairs which were fine for us but could be a challenge, creaky floor in bedroom and a shower that works back to front.
You get what you pay for and this property is equal to the cost. Good base for exploring the area.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing