We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated hotel with very high prices!”
Review of Hotel Mariners

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Mariners
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Haverfordwest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We stayed here December for a nearby friend's wedding. The first room we were offered was terribly dated (it looked nothing like any photos from the website), the floor was sloped towards the bathroom, which had a door that didn't close or lock. The bin still had an empty beer can from the previous occupant, and the state of the bed linen was shocking.

We looked online and saw a 4 star available nearby for £20 less per night than this was charging, so we approached reception and they offered to move us to a more modern room, which looked more like the website photos.

It was serviceable, but the taps were loose, and the cold tap only served luke-warm water. We had no turn-down service despite being there for 2 nights, and the room went from tolerable to red hot overnight, with no option to reduce the temperature. That, combined with the noise from other guests travelling through the thin walls and the waste delivery happening at 5am outside our single-glazed window meant that we didn't sleep well at all.

Friends that were also attending the wedding ordered a Family Room, as they had a travel cot for their young daughter, but the room they were allocated wasn't big enough for their bed, let alone a travel cot. They too got moved to a modern room, with enough room, but it was a bad experience for both parties as a first impression.

On the positive side, the food is fresh and hand-made, and the breakfast is plentiful and tasty enough.

On checking out, we went to pay the bill, which the wedding party had arrange to be at a reduced rate of £80 per night. They had no record of this, so charged us £90 per night (still cheaper than the advertised rate), but when we told them about our stay, and an argument with the owner ensued, they eventually agreed to the price of £70 per night. It was still expensive for the service and room we received, considering we could have stayed at a nearby 4* hotel for the same price.

Room Tip: Request a modern room, and one that faces the main road or front car park, as the rear carpark has w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gareth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (206)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 206 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2013

I have stayed at the Hotel Mariners on both Business and pleasure since 2005 . The rooms are very comfortable and clean , the staff very friendly and the Bar food is very good ( no identical menus like you see in some well know chains). The breakfasts are excellent.
This is an old coaching Inn that has loads of atmosphere and is centrally located for exploring Pembrokeshire.

Room Tip: I like the 40s
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank phil h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

The rooms were HUGE. Thats the first thing we noticed when we checked in. The reception staff was very helpful while we checked in and also recommended places we could visit on our stroll around town in the evening. The restaurant is very good and we had a wonderful dinner. It was a drag having to carry the bags to the rooms as there are no elevators!! But overall a very clean, comfortable, cheerful place. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AsawariShirodkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Stayed in the mariners many times now on business for weeks at a time and every time the staff are just great the hotel is clean with very comfortable beds.
The food is also massive portions and very tasty from lamb shank to veggie meals to burgers I have had them all
I will be coming back here again great hotel

I recommend this hotel for what ever reason you are in Pembrokeshire

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Went for business meeting and had food and drink for lunch. Really lovely food and food value. Nice, friendly staff who allow you to take your time and not feel rushed as some places can do. I would go back and recommend this place highly.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happycamper631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

The sign outside says 'one the great little hotels' and it is true. Clean and comfortable with friendly staff, I will definitely stay here again. The food is excellent - reasonably priced, nicely cooked and presented. The rooms are spacious, with the bathroom almost as big as the bedroom. A great place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cherri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel for one night - very good customer service, spacious room (2 double beds!), ideal location, free parking and a great breakfast. The bathroom was great. We would only say that the shower wasn't very powerful (room 44) and the complimentary toiletries weren't very nice! apart from that, Perfect for exploring West Wales.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RMorrisey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haverfordwest
0 mi away
The County Hotel
The County Hotel
#6 of 6 in Haverfordwest
51 reviews
6.8 mi away
Wolfscastle Country Hotel
Wolfscastle Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wolf's Castle
462 reviews
5.1 mi away
Slebech Park
Slebech Park
#3 of 6 in Haverfordwest
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Best Western Lamphey Court Hotel & Spa
13 mi away
Howells Leisure Fishguard Holiday Park
3.1 mi away
Silverdale Inn & Lodge
Silverdale Inn & Lodge
#1 of 3 in Johnston
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mariners? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mariners

Address: Mariners Square, Haverfordwest SA61 2DU, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Haverfordwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Haverfordwest
Price Range: £90 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mariners 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run Hotel, situated walking distance to Haverfordwest Town Center. Free parking on site for Patrons use only, can accommodate a coach in the rear car park. Lunches and Evening Meal served in the Bar,and Guest Ales are available. Function bookings available in the Restaurant. Free wifi to our customers. Family rooms are also available. Non residents are also welcome to dine or just have a driink/ coffee at the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Mariners reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariners Hotel Haverfordwest
Hotel Mariners Haverfordwest, Wales - Pembrokeshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing