We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
edwina h
Oxford, United Kingdom

Lovely weekend in a very friendly hotel

Review of Hotel Mariners
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 24 Nov 2022
We stayed here for a couple of nights with a party of friends.
Room was enormous and a lovely touch was that staff turned the heating on early evening to make sure we came back to a warm room. Comfy beds and tea/ coffee making facilities.
Breakfasts were wonderful particularly the fatty bread!! We only had one evening meal but it was amazing. We were quite a large group and food had been pre ordered. Everyone had meals delivered at same time and portions were very generous.
All staff were so friendly in bar, reception, housekeeping staff can not fault.
Thank you
Date of stay: November 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hotel Mariners, Other at Hotel Mariners, responded to this review
Responded 20 Aug 2023
Many thanks for your welcoming review and top rating. So glad that your stay was enjoyable.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
£268
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    £268
  • Expedia.com
    £241
  • Hotels.com
    £241
5.6 miles from Hotel Mariners
Free Wifi
Free parking
£111
  • Expedia.com
    £124
  • Hotels.com
    £130
  • Vio.com
    £111
5.1 miles from Hotel Mariners
Free Wifi
Free parking
£177
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    £180
  • Tripadvisor
    £177
  • Agoda.com
5.5 miles from Hotel Mariners
Free Wifi
Free parking
£120
Fully refundable
  • Skyscanner.com
    £120
  • Agoda.com
    £130
  • Vio.com
    £130
6.8 miles from Hotel Mariners
Free Wifi
Free parking
£121
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £121
6.1 miles from Hotel Mariners
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Algotels
  • Agoda.com
  • Trip.com
1.2 miles from Hotel Mariners
Free parking
Restaurant
Go to your Happy Price
  • eDreams
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Vio.com
4.5 miles from Hotel Mariners
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    £130
  • Agoda.com
6.6 miles from Hotel Mariners
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
0.2 miles from Hotel Mariners
Free Wifi
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
8.3 miles from Hotel Mariners
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Haverfordwest
Reviews (299)
Filter reviews
299 results
Traveller rating
133
104
31
21
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
133
104
31
21
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews christmas day no lift traditional hotel town centre evening meal easy parking friendly hotel lovely meal tea and coffee making facilities booked this hotel couple of nights short stay west wales pudding andrew bath specials
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 299 reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2022 via mobile

Stayed here before and hoped it had improved. Not the case. Very tired rooms, smelly pillows and dont ask for food after 9 o'clock! This pub/hotel should be avoided if you want to visit the West Wales area. Dont know how anyone can give this hotel a good review? Needs a refurbish badly. Breakfast, served on a salad plate! At £94 a night, not worth it. Spend £11 more and get a top notch hotel The Wolfscastle.

Room tip: Don't choose this hotel.
Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Margaret R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 September 2022

I was due to arrive on the 9.45 p.m. ferry into Fishguard, needed a hotel room for myself and my dog, couldn’t get one in Fishguard and booked the Mariners in twenty-minutes-drive-away Haverfordwest instead. Due to delays at the port, we only arrived at the hotel at around 11.40 p.m., exhausted from a long day’s travelling. Cue Richard, wonderful Night Manager extraordinaire, who relieved my stress with a lovely chat, had me checked in in no time at all, and even helped with my overnight bag. Thank you, Richard, you were a lifesaver on the night!

The Mariners is a centuries old Heritage property right in the town centre, so if you can’t appreciate quietly creaking floor boards, or traditional sash windows, or the fact that it would be next to impossible to install air conditioning in such building, then it may not be for you.

My room had something of a split personality: Bed and pillows were great, a wallpapered feature wall and soft furnishings were clearly new and gorgeous. However, scuffed furniture, damaged bathroom door veneers, a broken towel hook and scratchy towels let my otherwise very charming room as much down as some thick layers of dust and stained grout lines. What a pity.

I only had the opportunity to stay at the Mariners for one short night but feel clued-in enough to say, that the hotel’s staff are probably one of its greatest assets. The above-named Richard is a star, and the young ladies serving in the breakfast room were attentive and delightful. With some further attention to the rooms, this hotel could be a real gem.

Whilst the breakfast room / restaurant looked very attractive, the price-inclusive breakfast is very small and extremely basic.

Date of stay: September 2022
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank HOS70
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 August 2022

Came for a meal this evening at the Mariners and all I can say is WOW. A lovely warm welcome from all the staff, seated quickly and wine was served within minutes. The service we had was one of the best I’ve had. We felt so comfortable, we weren’t pressured into anything but knew they were happy to help as soon as we needed something- which we never did! Working in hospitality myself I recognise the standards and ALL of them were exceeded!! The food was absolutely stunning, I recommend the stuffed chicken on the specials menu (they informed us they do change specials weekly). Absolutely massive portion, with greens and sauce on the side. We were so full we physically couldn’t get puddings this time around! Going to recommend this place to so many people, going to go back soon and go for some lunch! Thank you so much to everyone at the Mariners and a special shout out to the Head Chef Dave, your cooking is second to none!!!!!

Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank FarAway754682
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hotel Mariners, Other at Hotel Mariners, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2022

Thank you for your welcome review and top stars. We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your evening with us . Hopefully we will be able to welcome you again another time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2022

Lovely family run hotel in central Haverfordwest. Good sized rooms, excellent food and very pleasant and helpful staff. Would thoroughly recommend a stay if in the South Wales area. Easy access to tourist areas.

Date of stay: August 2022
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jones_58044
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hotel Mariners, Other at Hotel Mariners, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2022

Thank you for your welcoming review and top marks. We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2022 via mobile

We needed to find a hotel last minute for a family funeral in the area and took a chance on the Mariners not having read any reviews. We were not disappointed, when we arrived the building looked fabulous and historic and was pleased to see loads of parking. We were met at reception by a very pleasant member of staff and made our way to our room for the night. Our room was very spacious and nicely decorated with tea and coffee making facilities, we had a bath (a nice bonus) with shower over and the room had a large walk in wardrobe. After unpacking a little we went down to the bar where more family members had gathered. More arrived during the afternoon, we all stayed in the bar and had as meal there. We all had something different and everyone said how nice their food was, we both had tandoori skewer starter and fillet steak mains, both were excellent. The bar staff worked tirelessly for our fairly large party. After a good night's sleep we went to the restaurant for breakfast, the tables were beautifully laid out, more lovely staff to serve us, I only had toast but hubby had the full breakfast, it was well presented and he said delicious.
We checked out and went to the funeral and the wake was back at Mariners, again staff worked really hard to keep us all fed and watered. Some of us stayed another night but we had to head off back home, and we were allowed to us a room to change from our black for the long journey home. If you are ever in Haverfordwest I highly recommend the Mariners you won't be disappointed.

Date of stay: July 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hotel Mariners, Other at Hotel Mariners, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2022

Thank you for your most welcoming review. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews