We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
ZenHotels.com
£127
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Karen W

A Magical Christmas Day

Review of Hotel Mariners
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 30 Dec 2022
Came here as a large party for Christmas Day. The Beef Wellington was the tastiest most delicious meal I have ever had. Each course was delivered in a timely manner. Great service. We all left with full stomachs and in Christmas spirit. Thank you.
Date of stay: December 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hotel Mariners, Other at Hotel Mariners, responded to this review
Responded 10 Jan 2023
We are delighted to read that your Christmas Day lunch with us was enjoyed by all your family. Many thanks for taking the time in writing your much appreciated review. Wishing you a Happy New Year
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
PremierInn.com
£62
  • Trip.com
  • Algotels
  • Hotels.com
1.2 miles from Hotel Mariners
Free parking
Restaurant
Tripadvisor
£190
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £190
5.6 miles from Hotel Mariners
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£124
  • Hotels.com
    £121
  • Skyscanner.com
    £117
  • Expedia.com
    £130
5.1 miles from Hotel Mariners
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£60
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    £60
  • Skyscanner.com
    £60
  • Agoda.com
    £60
0.3 miles from Hotel Mariners
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Tripadvisor
£121
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
6.1 miles from Hotel Mariners
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£87
  • Agoda.com
    £95
  • Vio.com
    £95
  • Priceline
0.1 miles from Hotel Mariners
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
  • Priceline
2.3 miles from Hotel Mariners
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
5.0 miles from Hotel Mariners
Free parking
Bar/Lounge
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    £112
  • Priceline
6.6 miles from Hotel Mariners
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Skyscanner.com
6.8 miles from Hotel Mariners
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Haverfordwest
Reviews (298)
Filter reviews
298 results
Traveller rating
132
104
31
21
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
132
104
31
21
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews christmas day no lift traditional hotel town centre evening meal easy parking friendly hotel lovely meal tea and coffee making facilities booked this hotel couple of nights short stay west wales pudding andrew bath specials
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 298 reviews
Reviewed 28 November 2022

A large group of us stayed at this hotel last week, the rooms - although dated are spotlessly clean with extremely comfortable beds. Thoroughly enjoyed both dinner and breakfasts. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly going out of their way way to help in any way they could, very easy parking and a pleasant walk to the town centre. Would certainly stay again, when next in Haverfordwest. Thank you to the owners and staff

Date of stay: November 2022
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lizd42115
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hotel Mariners, Other at Hotel Mariners, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2023

Thank you for welcoming review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2022

We stayed here for a couple of nights with a party of friends.
Room was enormous and a lovely touch was that staff turned the heating on early evening to make sure we came back to a warm room. Comfy beds and tea/ coffee making facilities.
Breakfasts were wonderful particularly the fatty bread!! We only had one evening meal but it was amazing. We were quite a large group and food had been pre ordered. Everyone had meals delivered at same time and portions were very generous.
All staff were so friendly in bar, reception, housekeeping staff can not fault.
Thank you

Date of stay: November 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank edwina h
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hotel Mariners, Other at Hotel Mariners, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2023

Many thanks for your welcoming review and top rating. So glad that your stay was enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2022 via mobile

Stayed here before and hoped it had improved. Not the case. Very tired rooms, smelly pillows and dont ask for food after 9 o'clock! This pub/hotel should be avoided if you want to visit the West Wales area. Dont know how anyone can give this hotel a good review? Needs a refurbish badly. Breakfast, served on a salad plate! At £94 a night, not worth it. Spend £11 more and get a top notch hotel The Wolfscastle.

Room tip: Don't choose this hotel.
Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Margaret R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 September 2022

I was due to arrive on the 9.45 p.m. ferry into Fishguard, needed a hotel room for myself and my dog, couldn’t get one in Fishguard and booked the Mariners in twenty-minutes-drive-away Haverfordwest instead. Due to delays at the port, we only arrived at the hotel at around 11.40 p.m., exhausted from a long day’s travelling. Cue Richard, wonderful Night Manager extraordinaire, who relieved my stress with a lovely chat, had me checked in in no time at all, and even helped with my overnight bag. Thank you, Richard, you were a lifesaver on the night!

The Mariners is a centuries old Heritage property right in the town centre, so if you can’t appreciate quietly creaking floor boards, or traditional sash windows, or the fact that it would be next to impossible to install air conditioning in such building, then it may not be for you.

My room had something of a split personality: Bed and pillows were great, a wallpapered feature wall and soft furnishings were clearly new and gorgeous. However, scuffed furniture, damaged bathroom door veneers, a broken towel hook and scratchy towels let my otherwise very charming room as much down as some thick layers of dust and stained grout lines. What a pity.

I only had the opportunity to stay at the Mariners for one short night but feel clued-in enough to say, that the hotel’s staff are probably one of its greatest assets. The above-named Richard is a star, and the young ladies serving in the breakfast room were attentive and delightful. With some further attention to the rooms, this hotel could be a real gem.

Whilst the breakfast room / restaurant looked very attractive, the price-inclusive breakfast is very small and extremely basic.

Date of stay: September 2022
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank HOS70
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 August 2022

Came for a meal this evening at the Mariners and all I can say is WOW. A lovely warm welcome from all the staff, seated quickly and wine was served within minutes. The service we had was one of the best I’ve had. We felt so comfortable, we weren’t pressured into anything but knew they were happy to help as soon as we needed something- which we never did! Working in hospitality myself I recognise the standards and ALL of them were exceeded!! The food was absolutely stunning, I recommend the stuffed chicken on the specials menu (they informed us they do change specials weekly). Absolutely massive portion, with greens and sauce on the side. We were so full we physically couldn’t get puddings this time around! Going to recommend this place to so many people, going to go back soon and go for some lunch! Thank you so much to everyone at the Mariners and a special shout out to the Head Chef Dave, your cooking is second to none!!!!!

Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank FarAway754682
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hotel Mariners, Other at Hotel Mariners, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2022

Thank you for your welcome review and top stars. We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your evening with us . Hopefully we will be able to welcome you again another time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews