We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views, great service and good value”
Review of The Royal George

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Haverfordwest
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Royal George
Ranked #31 of 44 Haverfordwest B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 July 2010

I agree with another reviewer that there should be more places like this. The B&B is part of a pub so they're very flexible about you coming and going! Our trip was for my brother's wedding and we arrived late on the first day to a very friendly arrival. Next morning, the view from our bedroom window (floor 1 on the 2nd floor) was absolutely amazing! The bedrooms are fine and smell clean and nice, although the bathrooms are a bit dated. Rooms were cleaned and towels replenished each day when they noticed we were out. Breakfast was in abundance, v tasty and served at a time to suit you - great if you don't want to get up! Maddie the dog is gorgeous - we were travelling with a 3yr old and she didn't disturb us at all. The staff are v friendly and able to advise you about things to do and places to go and to chatter without being intrusive. On all three nights we stayed there the pub was full with friendly locals and parties, which meant a little bit of noise floated up to the bedrooms. We will definetly stay there again - Solva is also a real find!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank V6071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (48)
There are newer reviews for The Royal George
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 26 November 2009

When we first arrived the sun was shining and the view from the car park out to sea is simpy stunning. The Royal George is a normal British pub in a stunning location. Based on 4 floors it offers good quality B&B accomodation and a menu second to none. Barry the host has travelled extensively and his food is delicious but be prepared to have what he reccomends. When we were there a local fisherman dropped off a load of fresh mackerel and barry hot smoked them for us in his smoker. The atmosphere is local and holidaymakers. A fantastic weekend for us and we will be returning.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Portlyandposh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2009

There should be more places like this, a real pub with excellent food and friendly locals. Basic accomodation but clean. Thanks Barry. We'll be back..........
Trev & Les

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lellyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2009

We stayed here on a busy Saturday night and really couldn't fault the place. We had tried unsuccessfully to stay In St Davids so were pleased to find somewhere with a vacancy. The hotel is located in the top part of the village so quite a walk up from the harbour unless you are very fit. However we also ate at the hotel in the evening so no walking for us! We had the double room with en suite shower room with a wonderful view over the bay. Both dinner and breakfast were delicious with a good range of meals and specials to chose from. There are two outside terraces both with lovely views over the bay so a great place for a drink on a summers evening. Barry the owner who told us has been there about 15 months was a lovely host who made us feel very welcome as did his staff. The bar/restaurant was busy all the time we were there with a nice mix of locals and visitors. Maddie the wonderful chocolate labrador kept everyone in check!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SurreySingleMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2009

my wife & i stayed here on 1&2 of may 2009, we had a double on-suite room which was clean & tidy with a comfortable bed & great view out over solva bay.
breakfast was good & served to suit us.the george has a great position in solva & two outside decks to enjoy the view from, it also has a large car park & is an easy walk to the coastal path and the rest of solva,we were made very welcome by the landlord &staff & enjoyed the company & advice of the locals on what & where to go.
many thanks
mark & jacqui reardon

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yosemitesam88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2009

Decided to stay at the Royal George after a recommendation from the Trip Advisor, and turned out to be very disappointing! It is a pub with B&B-like accomodation upstairs. The rooms are old with evidence of cobwebs on the ceilings. One of the rooms did not even have a door for the bathroom/shower, so how one can shower in private is a mystery. One of the beds had a poor quality over-used spring mattress which slumped in the middle. When we enquired about changing the mattress, the reply was unsympathetic; they could not replace it, but without any apologies. In our other room, the en-suite shower and toilet were cramped and uninviting, reminding one of a communal shower in a cheap student hostel. The towels provided were already left hanging in the bathroom, making one wonder if they had been left from the previous guests and forgotten to be laundered. Breakfast was average - a couple of boxes of half-used cereal (corn flakes and bran flakes were the only choices) were left on one of the tables in the pub for us to help ourselves with. Cooked breakfast was available, but I sensed the unenthusiasm of the cook/owner who didn't make us feel valued. He had a dog which freely roamed about the pub and under our table; did it not occur to him that perhaps his guests might be averse/fearful of dogs or that this might be just a little un-hygienic? We were not asked about it at all.

So all in all a disappointment and frustration considering the price of accomodation and in comparison to an excellent B&B near Narbeth which we stayed the night before, with comparable prices.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank GoArsenal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2007

The Royal George is a traditional country PUB / INN that offers bed and breakfast accommodation. My wife and I stayed there for two nights. Our room had a sea-view and was clean and well-equipped, with en-suite facilities and traditional style furniture. We had a super welcome and nothing was too much trouble, The owner gave us some great tips on where to walk along the Pembrokeshire Coastal path and where to get local transport back from places we'd walked to. He, and all the staff, were exceedingly friendly and always willing to chat. The food was excellent - all locally produced, high quality ingredients, and there was plenty of it. Breakfast was served when you wanted it and not at a specified time (great if you want a lie-in). The beer was local to Wales and of a super quality.

I've always wondered what it would be like to stay in a pub - and this experience, has ensured I'll be doing it again! Even if you don't like walking, you must make an effort to walk along the Coastal Path as the scenery is truely stunning and well worth the effort!

All in all we had a terrific time - and I highly recommend The Royal George as base for your visit to Pembrokeshire.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CliveGerrard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haverfordwest
2.9 mi away
Grove Hotel
Grove Hotel
#5 of 6 in St Davids
302 reviews
3.0 mi away
St. Davids Cross Hotel
St. Davids Cross Hotel
#2 of 6 in St Davids
348 reviews
3.2 mi away
Warpool Court Hotel
Warpool Court Hotel
#3 of 6 in St Davids
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
The Ship Inn
#4 of 4 in Solva
1 reviews
0.0 mi away
Haroldston House Art and Accommodation
0.8 mi away
Bank House
Bank House
#3 of 7 in Solva
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal George

Address: 13 High Street | Solva, Haverfordwest SA62 6TF, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Haverfordwest
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Haverfordwest
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Royal George Hotel Haverfordwest
The Royal George Haverfordwest, Wales - Pembrokeshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing