We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fabulous peace and quiet” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trellyn Woodland Camping

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Haverfordwest
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Trellyn Woodland Camping
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“fabulous peace and quiet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2010

My husband and I stayed in a yurt at Trellyn with our two young children. The welcome was lovely and we were instantly relaxed by the peaceful atmosphere. The site is beautifully natural and well maintained. The facilities are great with a nice sociable feeling with the other campers. The yurt was extremely comfortable and the kids loved it. Sleeping in it is a wonderful experience. The site is a five minute walk from the tranquil harbour of Abercastle and the Pembrokeshire costal path. If you like peace and quiet, evening campfires, living among nature in beautiful surroundings, spotting birds and seals off the coastal path, then this holiday is for you. More of the stunning coastline isn't far away, ( Barfafundel Bay is a must see), and the owners Kevin and Claire make you feel so welcome. Everyone should try this fabulous place!!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luci T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
CHESHIRE
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2010

Trellyn woodland is simply perfect!
We were greeted warmly and walked to our own enormous and very secluded wooded area complete with babbling stream, and allowed to settle in. On investigating our surroundings, we found immaculate toilets and shower rooms, a washing up area complete with pots & pans to use, phone charging points and a fridge to share,ususally filled with goodies and a little sign to "help yourself".
Recycling bins outside showed that trellyn is a cared for place and a notice board jam packed with weather updates & places to visit, plus ideas from guests, gave it a real family feel.
The wood chopping area outside, gave us enough free wood for the nightly fire, which brought the family close together to toast marshmallows & share our stories of the day.
At night, only the bats flying overhead and the stars kept us company as it is so peaceful you can hear a pin drop.
Barafundle bay,musslewick & caerfai beach are a must if you like stunning cove like white sand with crystal clear water, & a 4 min walk from the site to abercastle harbour at 8pm will enable you to meet the resident friendly seal.
Kevin,claire & matt were the perfect hosts- around if you need them, but never in your way- the whistles kev made from bamboo kept the kids amused for hours, and the opportunity to cook lobster and crab on the fire was an experience we will never forget.
Within 30 mins, we booked for next year- we have never been somewhere, where the whole family were itching to get back to the site.
This is how I feel camping should be- simple, clean, tranquil, safe, a wilderness with your very own open fire.
Simply perfect !

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CheshireMrsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appleby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2010

If you are looking for a proper, adventurous camping holiday, with the option of some seriously decadent luxury, then this is the place for you.
From the minute you are welcomed by the owners and staff to watching the dying embers of your campfire the warmth of this very special hidden corner of Pembrokeshire wraps itself around you.
We visited this year as campers with two young children and had a wonderful time hanging around the campsite building dens as well as going to a different beach every day. There are two family size bathrooms and a washing up area, all with free hot water which everyone helped to keep beautifully clean throughout the week we were there. The washing block is also a hub of information full of camping guides and campfire recipes, home grown veggies for sale, catch of the day (which was sometimes free), games, free phone charge points and ideas on where to go when the weather is decidedly Welsh. Also available are campcraft courses so if you have always wanted to light a fire the hard way then this is the place to have a go because the firewood is also.....free.
We loved this campsite because it is very small and therefore very safe to allow our five year old the space to feel that little bit more grown up. Older children will have a fantastic time learning to chop wood, creating dens in the acres of woodland & heathland and roaming free with their new found pals. In fact, on two of the nights we were there a few got together to organise their own games of good old fashioned "Kick the Can". The corresponding whoops and laughter were wonderful to hear among the gentle swishing of the trees.
This year we camped in our own tent but next year we are going to try out one of their large Tipi's complete with full field kitchen and futons to sleep on. For those of you wanting some serious "glamping" or just a holiday with a real difference then make sure you book one of their gorgeous Yurts complete with wood burning stove, dining table and full size double bed handbuilt by the owner. Each one is in a little haven of peace and tranquility and ideal for relaxing, reading, writing or simply just taking time to reflect on the lunacy of modern day life and planning a jump off the corporate ladder.
Whichever method of shelter you choose there is one thing for certain - the simple experience of life outside is a powerful medicine for all of us and we can sum up our week here by borrowing the words of the great adventurer F.S Smythe:
"I sat immeasurably contented by the campfire."

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank redpiton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frome, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2009

We were very specific in our search knowing that we wanted to stay in a yurt, that was in a peaceful, beautiful setting which was close to the coastal path. Low and behold we found Trellyn which provided this and so much more!

We loved the fact that the site wasn’t crowded and adored the well equipped, comfortable yurt and particularly appreciated the wood burner which kept us toasty warm in the cooler evenings.

The welcome and hospitality we received from Kevin and Claire was great. They couldn’t have been more helpful - from sharpening our blunt axe, offering us free fresh mackerel caught that morning, to making up a cable to connect our Ipod to a small speaker.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bex_Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haverfordwest
7.9 mi away
Twr y Felin Hotel
Twr y Felin Hotel
#2 of 6 in St Davids
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
8.4 mi away
Warpool Court Hotel
Warpool Court Hotel
#3 of 6 in St Davids
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
6.6 mi away
Fishguard Bay Hotel
Fishguard Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goodwick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Cranog Trefin
Cranog Trefin
#1 of 6 in Trefin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
4.2 mi away
Caerhys Farm
Caerhys Farm
#1 of 1 in Berea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
7.9 mi away
Penrhiw Hotel
Penrhiw Hotel
#3 of 21 in St Davids
5.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trellyn Woodland Camping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trellyn Woodland Camping

Property: Trellyn Woodland Camping
Address: Abercastle, Haverfordwest SA62 5HJ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Haverfordwest
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Haverfordwest
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Trellyn Woodland Camping Haverfordwest, Wales - Pembrokeshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing