We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A hidden gem.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Slebech Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Slebech Park
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Haverfordwest
Certificate of Excellence
Hampshire
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A hidden gem.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

Arriving here after dark I was still struck immediately by the charm of the exterior. Friendly and polite staff showed me to an attractively decorated (though smallish) bedroom where I ordered room service and enjoyed a delicious dinner. Went to bed very satisfied with my lot (It definitely didn't feel like I was on a business trip and I would happily come here for a weekend with my partner).
The morning revealed a fabulous view over a wonderful unmanicured lake and the joy of a lovely dining room and a good breakfast .

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HolidayMum63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    235
    120
    54
    32
    15
See reviews for
70
263
5
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

We booked to have afternoon tea at Slebech Park after finding it on the internet. The driveway was long and spectacular and the house was on the edge of a lake. Our table was in the window and we were served with our afternoon tea. We had the traditional sandwiches (the cheese and chutney was particularly nice) and then cakes including chocolate fudge, carrot and barra brith. The mini scones were slightly overcooked but they were served warm. That's where the good bit ends. We were just left in the restaurant - no-one asked whether we were happy with the food or whether we wanted any more tea to drink. The cream and jam for the scones were served without teaspoons to serve them and there were no forks for the cakes. When this was pointed out to the head waiter, he claimed that people didn't use them so he didn't put them out. (The customer is never right, according to him.) Value wise, it was good value for money, just spoilt by a waiter who didn't understand the meaning of service.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KimChloe073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

Having not travelled to this area before, the decision to stay at the hotel was based solely on what was on view on the net.

The Sat Nav didn't recognise the post code and once we got there I could see why!

The hotel currently has a petition going to get a sign put up on the main road before you turn off to the hotel which would be good as we drove past the entrance twice without realising where to go.

We arrived before 15.00 but the room was ready so were able to unpacked our things.

Interestingly enough, even though we had not specified at the time of booking that we would be having an evening meal at the hotel, the receptionist informed us that a cost of £25 per person per night would be secured against the payment card on arrival and if this amount was not used would be refunded within 48 hours. Maybe this is common practice at some hotels but nothing that we had come across before.

On saying that we did decide to eat at the hotel on the first night and were impressed with the food and service we received.

The hotel is not overly staffed, but we were impressed with the service and friendliness we received.

The room was spotlessly clean but a bit tired in places. There was a big crack in the shower base and a cracked tile in the bathroom, but the shower was excellent with plenty of hot water.

The bed was really comfortable and because of the remote setting of the hotel there is no noise so the sleep quality was very good.

We used the hotel as a base to travel around the area. It is essential to have your own transport if you are considering visiting this hotel unless you want perfect peace and isolation during your stay.

Would we stay there again, probably not. This is no reflection on the hotel but us not realising how remote it was situated.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
136 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

We ate here on a Travel Zoo or similar offer. The staff were fairly friendly although when we asked for a window seat we were told that the table was laid for four and we were only two. We thought maybe the table was booked but the group who arrived were surprised and delighted by the table - perhaps the waiter was tired - I should have offered to move the four knives and forks and two mats for him.

The service seemed OK the waitress was charming, but seemed hampered by the kitchen - who I assume were either understaffed or not in a hurry. From the time we took our seats to the bread arriving was 30 minutes - the bread had obviously just been cooked - I would assume they knew how many were due as everyone seemed to be on the same offer. By the time food arrived we were getting towards the end of our bottle of wine.

A fellow guest sent his main course back and by the time it was replaced his companion had long finished her foofd.

I found the choice of menu limited and opted for a pork pie - not the traditional type but pork shoulder cooked in a pie case - it was OK. I envied my wife's duckleg confit which was excellent. Similarly I struggled with dessert and chose to pay extra for the cheese board. It consisted of three very small pieces of cheese and was priced at EIGHT pounds. Again my wife enjoyed her apple tart.

The location is lovely and the view (if you are allowed it) is great - not sure I'll rush back though.

Room Tip: We did not stay - we stopped for lunch
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CardiffTaffman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
320 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

Wbooked for a special offfer four night deal and ingeneral were very satisfied. The first room we were given had a fantastic view but was on two levels with an unavoidable low beam on which sheila banged her head twice. Fortunately for us some rooms were vacated on the next day and the management obligingly moved us to a room without an obstrctivbe beam, albeit with a less fantastic but still aceptable view. They even moved our bags and cases for us which was appreciated. The standard of the restaurant was good, with interesting choices and a well chosen wine list. It was a degree or two too cool to sit outside but the table next to an open door was fine. Breakafast offered a good choice of well presented food but service was a bit haphazard with toast arriving almost immediately, well before the cooked items, and thus being cold by the time it arrived though seconds were willingly offered. The second room was comfortable but the rug by the dressing table was rather badly stained which could have been noticed and remedied by housekeeping. Overall a pleasant stay but with one or two glitches which prevent the full five,

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheilallan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

An odd start because after a long journey we arrived to a room full of dead flies (about 100). We asked to change rooms, which we did and from then on we enjoyed our stay. The food in the restaurant was exceptional and the food and staff made our stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hilton13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bestinwales, General Manager at Slebech Park, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Thank you for your review. Unfortunately being so near to the water we do suffer from an invasion of house flies at this time of the year despite the best efforts of our house keeping staff. The room you were first booked into is particularly and we appreciate your understanding. I am so pleased that once your room had been changed you had such an enjoyable weekend
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales uk
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

We were given this weekend as a surprise from our daughter who thought we needed a well earned stress free break, and that is exactly what it was with 5 * added, we stayed in a studio room which was amazing from the Saviour bed to the rain dance shower both to die for, the shower made all the more special with the fabulous array of Molton Brown products and huge towels that wrapped around me twice. The room was spotless and the view out of our window over the estuary changed throughout the day and was stunning, we walked a lot and were amazed at the church ruins and gravestones dating back 1700,,s really interesting, and the gardens are very well maintained with a variety of plants bushes and fruit trees.
The food at the Park restaurant was amazing the breakfast menu had a wonderful selection of cooked breakfasts and the park table was laden with cereals pastries juices jams etc. The evening menu was superb a different menu each night, we had a bbem package but the prices were reasonable for the quality of the food served, we found all the staff to be very polite helpful and unobtrusive. we both also had a full body massage during our stay which was booked in advance which was 1st class, we stayed for 2 nights and had the most amazing stress free relaxing weekend ever, if you are looking for the same this is the place to go, with only 15 rooms all you can hear is the wildlife..... wonderful weekend to totally recharge

Room Tip: Take a good pair of walking shoes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CurlytopWalesUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haverfordwest
3.9 mi away
Grove of Narberth
Grove of Narberth
#1 of 1 in Molleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
9.2 mi away
Wolfscastle Country Hotel and Restaurant
5.0 mi away
Premier Inn Haverfordwest (North/A40) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
St Brides Spa Hotel
St Brides Spa Hotel
#1 of 5 in Saundersfoot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,076 reviews
10.6 mi away
Penally Abbey Hotel and Restaurant
9.9 mi away
Heywood Spa Hotel
Heywood Spa Hotel
#3 of 24 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Slebech Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Slebech Park

Property: Slebech Park
Address: Slebech, Haverfordwest SA62 4AX, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Haverfordwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Haverfordwest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Slebech Park 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Slebech Park in Haverfordwest, Pembrokeshire, Wales is a beautiful Grade II listed 18th century manor, sitting amidst 600 acres of wonderful rural scenery. The exclusive accommodation is set in a tranquil countryside area on the shores of the Daucleddau Estuary and gives you a breathtaking view over the region. The luxury Slebech Park offers 15 spacious rooms and suites in a comfortable atmosphere for weekend breaks, family holidays, business trips or special events. All bedrooms are held in a simple design and tastefully furnished. Accommodation types available at Slebech Park are standard, studio, deluxe and executive rooms, luxury and two bedroom suites, and a self-catering cottage.The comfortable Standard Rooms come with raindance shower in shower room, WiFi, TV with film and music library and king size double or twin beds. The spacious Studio Rooms feature a separate sitting area and stunning view over the area. Large Deluxe Rooms provide either a separate wet room or shower room and a lovely sight on the garden or the ruined church and the waterway. The luxury Executive Rooms offer high-tech facilities (WiFi, flat screen TV with film and music library) and a raindance shower and long bath in the spacious bathroom. The large Luxury Suite is divided into a master bedroom with radiance shower and long bath in a big wetroom, and a second bedroom with shower room. Large windows give a fabulous view on the estuary behind the ruined church. Both bedrooms are furnished with king size double or twin beds. The Luxury Suite is next to the relaxing drawing room and offers WiFi, TV with music and film library, and a private dinner on request. The Two Bedroom Suites are the right choice for a family or two couples. It features two bedrooms with king size or double/twin beds. The master bedroom includes a bathroom with separate shower room while the second bedroom has an en-suite shower room. Comfortable sitting areas and a large flat screen TV with access to the film and music library will give you a maximum of relaxation during your stay at Slebech Park. The self-catering cottage is situated at a cliff right on the shoreside and offers space for up to 4 people. Ferryman’s is a 4 star accommodation with a double room, a twin bedroom, sitting/dining area, kitchen and bathroom. You will spend undisturbed holidays in this romantic cottage at Slebech Park! Corporate facilities for business trips include a selection of meeting and conference rooms, bespoke catering by the head chef Mark Cheeseborough, a unique venue for product launches and the Harbour Room for a dinner dance with up to 200 people. The excellent Park at Slebech Restaurant serves fine seasonal menus using fresh local produce. The properties own Kitchen Garden guarantees carefully chosen ingredients for unforgettable meals. The restaurant offers brunch, lunch, afternoon tea and dinner daily. Seasonal specials such as weekly grill nights, holiday festivities or themed dinners enjoy a great popularity among locals and visitors. Pembrokeshire offers a lot to do and see during your stay. The coastline and scenery are unique and offer tranquility and relaxation to recover from a stressful daily life. At Cardigan Bay, you can find dolphins and whales and Pembrokeshire's land wildlife includes rare animals such as Puffins, Manx Shearwaters, Guillimots, Razorbills, Short Eared Owls, Skomer Voles and Grey Seals. More than 50 forts and castles, such as Haverfordwest Castle, can be visited in the region, or enjoy an entertaining day at the Oakwood theme park or the Dinosaur Park in Tenby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Slebech Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Slebech Park Hotel Haverfordwest
Slebech Park Haverfordwest, Wales - Pembrokeshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing