We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another excellent relaxed stay”
Review of Slebech Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Slebech Park
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Haverfordwest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 March 2014

No doubt many of us amuse ourselves reading reviews of various establishments. We're all experts now! Yet not so expert, some of us , as to ascertain the exact whereabouts and incomparable setting of Slebech Park hotel before we embark on our visits. It is OFF the A40 but is hardly in some impenetrable wilderness, see all those moans in several previous reviews!
The estuarine setting of this hotel is superb and oh so peaceful. Our latest stay was enhanced in that it coincided with a very generous cut price offer. Food both at breakfast and in evenings was excellent and substantial , efficiently and charmingly served.
Great! An asset for Pembrokeshire . Naturally we will return, again and again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ramblingron99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (515)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

289 - 295 of 515 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2014

If you want a country house hotel with chintzy sofas, hunting prints and a snoring labrador in front of the fire, Slebech Park is not for you. As a veteran of hotels of all grades in more than 100 countries over forty years, I rate this as a corporate event/function hotel, rather confirmed by the permanent marquee pitched outside. Our room was a branch of Lloyds Bank with a very large and comfortable bed in it. The dining room also lacks character, despite the unplastered stone walls. Tables are uniform, dark-varnished, without tablecloths. Almost no pictures, but 15ft vertical mustard-coloured radiators.

But the location of the hotel (a converted coach-house and servants quarters to the larger private house next door- looks more like a penitentiary) is superb, right on the estuary with a 14ft tidal flow. Canada geese, swans, oystercatchers, curlew and sandpiper come and go. Dining outside on the terrace in summer would be splendid.

Breakfast is excellent and varied. Especially delicious bacon, and try the sauteed cockles with lava bread. Food at dinner is also very good, and the menu changes daily, quite enough variation for our four-night stay. The wine-list is adequate, reasonably priced, but a bit unadventurous.

Staff are polite and efficient, but not charmers. Service is brisk and lacks style - of the formalistic 'enjoy your meal' and 'have a nice day' variety. I would prefer them not to bother. And the dining-room music is awful - female, strangulated tonsils 'lurv you till the end of time'. We asked for it to be turned down morning and evening, and the tape only changed on the fourth day.

Other random comments:
- dogs are tolerated but not obviously welcomed.
- there was no electric shaver point in the bathroom, which had a glass sliding door, which means your partner is woken up in the night.
- the room also had a heat sensitive light over the desk, of no obvious purpose, which our labrador set off from time to time.
- our room was not made up on one of the four days.
- the fire-alarm went off at 0430 one morning.
- a new bar is at present under construction.

Stayed: March 2014
1  Thank Geoff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bestinwales, Manager at Slebech Park, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

Slebech Park very purposely sets out to be different from the chinzy sofas and hunting prints. As this guest so adequately describes this is a very special location and we would not want to take away from that with fussy décor.

Being where we are in the middle of a 600 acre estate, we very much encourage dogs and especially hope they will enjoy the walks on the estate and in Slebech Forest beyond. We do ask owners to respect a dog owner's code in order not to upset those guests that are not so canine friendly and of course regulation dictates that only guide dogs are allowed in areas where food is being served.

We are pleased that this guests so enjoyed the food at both breakfast and dinner when he had t he opportunity to try some of the exceptional meat that we are able to source from local butchers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We live in Pembrokeshire and are forever looking for decent eateries which are hard to find unfortunately. We often end up with expensive bills and leaving disappointed. Not the case at Slebech Park.

We managed to buy a lunchtime 'winter warmer' voucher for just £20 for 2 people which entitled you to 2 courses each. At this price we thought if it's rubbish then it's no big deal. To be fair some of the reviews here don't instil you with much confidence, but go with an open mind.

We had absolutely nothing to be concerned about. The food was fantastic, the service was attentive but not over the top and the setting is beautiful. We both enjoyed the meal very much and it was an absolute bargain for £20. We had drinks and desserts as well which added another £17 to the bill, but it was well worth it for the quality of food, service and setting.

The only comparable restaurant we have been to in Pembrokeshire is Llys Meddyg in Newport which is also excellent, but more pricey and not in such an amazing setting.

The only slight blip was bit of a cock up with the desserts in that it seemed I was served my dessert which should have gone to another table, so my partner and the partner of the person on the other table were kept waiting 10 minutes or so for their desserts.

We will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Figo-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Beautiful setting and lovely rooms. We had an executive suite but think we paid for a standard. We took our dog which cost £15 per night which I thought was a bit over the top as she is well behaved and we are responsible dog owners. Rooms were spotless but there did seem to be quite a few flies in the lounge of the suite. We ate on the first night and it was a 3 course meal for £25, food was really good and nicely presented. Would have eaten there the next night if there was an option just to have one meal - 3 course meal at night and a cooked breakfast was a bit too much for the digestive system. The menu clearly changed each day and fresh produce was sourced. Breakfast was also very good with lots of selection. The cooked breakfast was lovely but huge but the next day I had the porridge and it was tasteless and appeared to be made with water and couldnt eat it which was a shame. Staff very friendly and helpful and the old church was interesting. It was expensive to stay but for a treat will go back again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann_Margaret_Taylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bestinwales, General Manager at Slebech Park, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

We encourage guest with dogs but unfortunately however immaculately behaved they are they do cause extra cleaning because there are always other people who are not so keen on our canine friend. To cover this we actually only charge £10 per night per dog which is in line with most hotels but as it happens, through an oversight, we completely failed to charge this guest at all for their dog!

Experience has shown that the majority of people prefer porridge made with water rather than milk. So ours is made to order with just a little water and a pinch of salt leaving the individual to add from the buffet to create their own customised perfection.

This guest stayed on a bed & breakfast only basis. We certainly do not insist on everybody eating 3 courses - that would be school like. It is for this very reason that we do not have a fixed price menu but leave everybody to chose from our a la carte menu.

If you happen to book a dinner, bed and breakfast package the rate includes a £25 allowance from the a la carte menu which gives our guests all the options as well as providing exception value for what as this guest says is 'really good' food.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We've just had a superb Sunday lunch in this hidden gem. On the road between Narberth and Haverfordwest, signposted "hotel" you will find a beautiful setting overlooking the Cleddau estuary. The Sunday lunch costs £17 for 2 courses and £22 for 3. We had tian of roast salmon and crayfish tails with 28 day dry aged Welsh sirloin, both delicious. The hotel itself is an 18th century listed coach house with wonderful walks surrounding it, a perfect setting for the many wedding receptions held there.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia12374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

I booked a 1 night stay via Living Social which seemed good value for ' afternoon tea, 3 course meal bed & breakfast'. Obviously not all was as it seemed.

The sign posts aren't great to get to the hotel, and once you arrive it's not particularly clear either for parking and reception. The reception area isn't a grand entrance, blink and you may miss it, but never the less was met by a very friendy young lady.
The room was very pleasant, a few dead flies in the bathroom which we just flushed! The bathroom was quite cool but being as its an old building with old windows then it's sort of expected. The bed was beautifully comfortable.

We had to walk accross the courtyard to the restaurant, not ideal for women if it were raining, but again it's an odd sort of building so can't really be helped. We arrived to the very quiet but lovely restaurant for our 'afternoon tea' to be told we were only entitiled to 'cream tea' due to our vouchers. Embarassed and stomachs still rumbling we headed back to our room and awaited our evening meal.
It's a very quiet place with no shop or anything in walking distance, we enjoyed the peace and i had taken a chess set and a book to occupy us.
Having booked via a voucher I had guessed the menu choices would not be huge, and I was right. Having opted for the rib eye steak for a £10 surcharge I was really disappointed when it arrived as it was dry, and quite grisly. My partner's duck was chewy too. No one came around during the meal to ask if all was OK, and even when clearing my plate with quite obvious bits of chewed and removed meat, and a fair bit of steak left, the restaurant manager didnt comment or ask if we enjoyed. I told him I was disappointed with my meal and he said sorry.
Breakfast was ok, fresh, and the young chap serving was very friendly.
When we checked out, the receptionist was again very friendly and helpful. I said i was disappointed that the surcharge was still on the bill even though I had told the restaurant manager that the meal was disappointing. She said no note had been left of a complaint and being 'typical British' I replied 'oh ok then , not to worry'. The lady then nicely offered to remove the extra £10 which just left the drink to pay for. I was very happy and thanked her very much.

When we got home I checked my emails for the Living Social details of the voucher I had bought. It quite clearly stated ' Afternoon Tea' and not ' cream tea'. There is a difference, and obviously had I know it was just cream tea then we would have had lunch before we arrived, as it was we were hungry! I dont want to sound just greedy, but I love afternoon tea and have had it at different hotels on numberous occassions.
I sent a short, pleasant email to Slebech Park, just stating what the voucher details stated and that I felt a bit disappointed.
The reply I had from a Mr Phillips , the General Manager was appauling, rude and insulting. I was totally shocked. He insinuated that I had lied to the receptionist and eaten my meal 'in it's entirity', received an upgrade I was not even entitled to and to cap it off I was knocked for not leaving his staff a tip......

I have replied to Mr Phillips with the facts, commending Slebech on the staff I encountered and recommending he attend a course to help him deal with his lack of skills when dealing with customers...customers that certainly won't be returning nor recommending it to friends and family.

Slebech is under a re-vamp, the food certainly needs a bit of tweaking, the staff were lovely, Mr Phillips however, is the thorn in the side of a potential rose of a hotel. Such a shame.
Most people don't complain, British especially. If places dont get any negative feedback though, they can't improve things or learn from mistakes made. I was very suprised that a General Manager wasn't able to accept any critisism.

Room Tip: Beware of the General Manager - it appears you are not allowed to complain. Need car to travel any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank josiejoswansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bestinwales, Guest Relations Manager at Slebech Park, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

We always welcome constructive and fair criticism from our guests. We make no apology for being out in the countryside away from the shops and in a National Park where signs are not allow. The whole point of Slebech Park is the peace and quiet of its exceptional natural environment. This we compliment with food sourced from local farms freshly prepared in order bring out the true taste of the ingredients. The menu is the same whether the guest is on a special offer or paying the full price. In a small restaurant one must keep the menu short if the food is to be properly prepared and we are keen to keep to the solid principles of good food or ‘slow food’ as it sometimes referred to.
It is unfortunate that this guest appears to have changed her story. The complaint on the night was that there was fat running through the middle of the meat - but then that is what one should expect with Rib Eye and that is where the taste is – we even comment on this on our menu! Now the complaint is that meat was too dry. We would never recommend ordering our wonderful Pembrokeshire beef ‘well done’ but if you insist the extra cooking will naturally dry the meat out to an extent causing it to lose taste.
We carefully monitor guest reactions at all time. The restaurant manager was on duty that night and is adamant about checking to see that everything was satisfactory. The comments received from the guest at the time were all positive except for the question of the rib eye.
We constantly strive to improve our guest experience but this guest’s comments have not highlighted any problems we can act on. The voucher offer was extremely good value for money and has been well received by many as can be seen from other TripAdvisor comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

If your looking for a romantic getaway slebech park is perfect, 5* hotel 5* service felt really spoilt.
Tucked away in the grounds are the ruins of a castle, plenty to explore.
The restaurant was fabulous food was divine, 3 course for £25.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smarties37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haverfordwest
3.9 mi away
Grove of Narberth
Grove of Narberth
#1 of 1 in Molleston
1,229 reviews
9.1 mi away
Wolfscastle Country Hotel
Wolfscastle Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wolf's Castle
457 reviews
9.9 mi away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Best Western Lamphey Court Hotel & Spa
8.8 mi away
St Brides Spa Hotel
St Brides Spa Hotel
#1 of 5 in Saundersfoot
1,194 reviews
5.8 mi away
Beggars Reach Hotel
Beggars Reach Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burton
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Slebech Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Slebech Park

Address: Slebech, Haverfordwest SA62 4AX, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Haverfordwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Haverfordwest
Price Range: £75 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Slebech Park 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Slebech Park in Haverfordwest, Pembrokeshire, Wales is a beautiful Grade II listed 18th century manor, sitting amidst 600 acres of wonderful rural scenery. The exclusive accommodation is set in a tranquil countryside area on the shores of the Daucleddau Estuary and gives you a breathtaking view over the region. The luxury Slebech Park offers 15 spacious rooms and suites in a comfortable atmosphere for weekend breaks, family holidays, business trips or special events. All bedrooms are held in a simple design and tastefully furnished. Accommodation types available at Slebech Park are standard, studio, deluxe and executive rooms, luxury and two bedroom suites, and a self-catering cottage.The comfortable Standard Rooms come with raindance shower in shower room, WiFi, TV with film and music library and king size double or twin beds. The spacious Studio Rooms feature a separate sitting area and stunning view over the area. Large Deluxe Rooms provide either a separate wet room or shower room and a lovely sight on the garden or the ruined church and the waterway. The luxury Executive Rooms offer high-tech facilities (WiFi, flat screen TV with film and music library) and a raindance shower and long bath in the spacious bathroom. The large Luxury Suite is divided into a master bedroom with radiance shower and long bath in a big wetroom, and a second bedroom with shower room. Large windows give a fabulous view on the estuary behind the ruined church. Both bedrooms are furnished with king size double or twin beds. The Luxury Suite is next to the relaxing drawing room and offers WiFi, TV with music and film library, and a private dinner on request. The Two Bedroom Suites are the right choice for a family or two couples. It features two bedrooms with king size or double/twin beds. The master bedroom includes a bathroom with separate shower room while the second bedroom has an en-suite shower room. Comfortable sitting areas and a large flat screen TV with access to the film and music library will give you a maximum of relaxation during your stay at Slebech Park. The self-catering cottage is situated at a cliff right on the shoreside and offers space for up to 4 people. Ferryman’s is a 4 star accommodation with a double room, a twin bedroom, sitting/dining area, kitchen and bathroom. You will spend undisturbed holidays in this romantic cottage at Slebech Park! Corporate facilities for business trips include a selection of meeting and conference rooms, bespoke catering by the head chef Mark Cheeseborough, a unique venue for product launches and the Harbour Room for a dinner dance with up to 200 people. The excellent Park at Slebech Restaurant serves fine seasonal menus using fresh local produce. The properties own Kitchen Garden guarantees carefully chosen ingredients for unforgettable meals. The restaurant offers brunch, lunch, afternoon tea and dinner daily. Seasonal specials such as weekly grill nights, holiday festivities or themed dinners enjoy a great popularity among locals and visitors. Pembrokeshire offers a lot to do and see during your stay. The coastline and scenery are unique and offer tranquility and relaxation to recover from a stressful daily life. At Cardigan Bay, you can find dolphins and whales and Pembrokeshire's land wildlife includes rare animals such as Puffins, Manx Shearwaters, Guillimots, Razorbills, Short Eared Owls, Skomer Voles and Grey Seals. More than 50 forts and castles, such as Haverfordwest Castle, can be visited in the region, or enjoy an entertaining day at the Oakwood theme park or the Dinosaur Park in Tenby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your Slebech Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Slebech Park Hotel Haverfordwest
Slebech Park Haverfordwest, Wales - Pembrokeshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing