We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”
Review of The Middlegate

The Middlegate
Ranked #3 of 3 Coffee & Tea in Pembroke
Price range: US$4 - US$13
Cuisines: American, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Hosted by Peter and his family you get a menue on paper and even a better one by Peter's verbal description. Prices are lower than in the other main street restaurants and the food is at least as good. Very recommendable!

1  Thank Theodor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyle C, Public Relations Manager at The Middlegate, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2015

Hi Theodor.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and letting us know about your experience, we look forward to having you eat with us on future visits to Pembroke.

Best wishes,
Kyle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (18)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 18 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2013 via mobile

We came in here for a scone and cappuccino. The cappuccino was poor quality, sour tasting. The scone was warm and quite big, but the jam was poor quality and the cream was whip creame, not proper cream, tables and chairs were dirty.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank GemSprite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyle C, Public Relations Manager at The Middlegate, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2015

Hi,

Firstly I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review, and letting us know about your experience.
We have made a lot of changes since your last visit, including changing the beans that we use for our coffees.

We have used both whipped cream and clotted cream for our scones in the past and for a number of reasons, cost being the main factor. We have found customers prefer whipped cream. Due to this we advertise and serve all scones with whipped cream.

Judging by the date on the review you visited us at our busiest point in the season. I apologize for the fact that the tables may have been dirty during this period. They should have not been, and I will endeavor to ensure this does not happen in the future. We are not perfect, nor do we proclaim to be but we have have very high expectations ourselves, and it seems on this occasion we have fallen short.

I hope you enjoyed your time in Pembroke, if you come back please give us another try.

Best wishes,
Kyle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Was welcomed in with good humour, friendly and chatty staff who couldn't do enough for us! Outlay clean and pleasant.
Ordered a mega all day breakfast and two small for the children (specially cooked as they had finished small breakfast at 11:30)
Food was as expected, big and filling! No complaints.
Overall good food and great service!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Rachael I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyle C, Public Relations Manager at The Middlegate, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2015

Hello Rachael.
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and let us know about your experience.

We are glad you enjoyed your time with us, our customer service is our top priority. It is always lovely to read reviews from customers who have had a nice time with ourselves, so thank you for that. We look forward to having you eat with us again on your next trip to Pembroke.

Best wishes,
Kyle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2010

Having a few hrs before the ferry we decided to eat in Pembroke. Having left Brown's in great haste ( see review ! ) we came across Middlegate restaurant which was a cafe in Main st. When I went up to the counter to order I was greeted by a youth who informed us that we would have to buy bottled water as the tap water came from a tank! We found it strange that the staff didnt come to our table to take our order as in most European towns this is the norm( Apart from carvery obviously where you pick up your food at the counter). We waited for approx 20 mins for our meals ( omelettes, kids meals, panini ) and my goodness the manner in which our meals were given to us was shocking! The waitress was a young girl of perhaps 13 who never looked at us,barked out the meals and then left us there with no cutlery! She did finally bring cutlery and when I asked her politely for ketchup she said " It's over there!" as she pointed to a press from which she had earlier retrieved the cutlery. We don't expect pampering in a restaurant but civility is not too much to ask for! The food itself was reasonable though pricey for what we got ( £25). The service and the dated decor would definitely keep us away from Middlegate in the future!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
10  Thank CMCWexford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Thank Émilie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Middlegate also viewed

Pembroke, Pembrokeshire
 
Pembroke, Pembrokeshire
Pembroke, Pembrokeshire
 
Pembroke, Pembrokeshire
Pembroke, Pembrokeshire
 

Been to The Middlegate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing