We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The chips were good too!”
Review of The Watermans Arms

The Watermans Arms
Ranked #4 of 41 Restaurants in Pembroke
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$103
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Description: Gastro Pub
Pembrokeshire
Level Contributor
88 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“The chips were good too!”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

What a cracking little pub, with views of the Mill Pond in Pembroke this homely local pub is a great place to have a sociable evening out. The food is good and well presented and they have a knack of getting all the meals (12) on this visit out at the same time. I had a hot madras, my wife had sea bream, both were excellent value for money and very tasty. The couple who own the pub have done great things in the five years there and deserve for you to drop by for a drink or a meal. Full of character, great service, good beers and friendly locals....what more could Pembroke ask for. Oh...and by the way....the chips are fantastic.
Well done, pob lwc, good luck, diolch yn fawr-thank you.
SB900

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SB900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    75
    17
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely location”
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

After spending ages in pembroke looking for somewhere decent to eat we stumbled upon this little gem hidden down a side road. We only wanted to eat but felt so comfortable and relaxed there we ended up spending the evening. Food was delicious and staff excellent...location also pretty fab too

Helpful?
Thank michaelsmrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
185 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Riverside aspect and good food

An open-air terrace alongside the Pembroke River and overlooked by the famous Castle in the old town of Pembroke – plus good food – are features of the Waterman’s.

This is a pub with food, or restaurant with bar, I couldn’t make up my mind, but at any event it was warm and welcoming by very pleasant young ladies, who served the excellent choice of beers and short but reasonable wine list (no NZ sauvignon blanc, however!).

For us the priority was the food however, after an exhausting day tramping the Pembrokeshire Coastal Footpath. A cold drink in the terrace first, watching the swans vie with the seagulls for bread tossed in by youngsters on the other bank, and then dinner with a riverfront table inside.

There is a standard menu available with all of the pub favourites but also plenty of specials on a blackboard, strongly featuring fish, not unexpectedly. Sea bass, lemon sole, traditional fish and chips and an excellent fish pie is recommended by us.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Snookoafc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice riverside patio”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Stopped here for some drinks on their lovely riverside patio. Views of the castle and can even feed the swans.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andi1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“great place for Sunday Lunch”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

we took a group of 8 here for Sunday lunch we enjoyed the meal we had phoned to reserve tables and these were set and waiting for us we ordered at the bar and got drinks there was no hassle the food was brought quickly and was good and hot there was plenty of veg and gravy. This was a good place to take children we all enjoyed it at less than £10 a head with drinks I thought was good value we will eat here again

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter-Smith29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Watermans Arms also viewed

 
Pembroke Dock, Pembrokeshire
Pembroke, Pembrokeshire
 

Been to The Watermans Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing