We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very well preserved old style hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Old Kings Arms Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Pembroke
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very well preserved old style hotel”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We arrived in early afternoon and were promptly directed to our room. We were instantly impressed by the atmosphere and very well preserved old style design. However, there was no lift, only stairs, and no help was offered to bring our luggage up to the room on the second floor.

Our room was nice and comfy, the windows had charming countryside view. The location was perfect as the Castle and park were only a few minutes away to walk. The room had all facilities you need for comfortable stay: tea/coffee making facilities, a little fridge, nicely equipped bathroom, stable wi-fi connection. Also, this hotel is a very good value for money. The hotel staff were friendly.

The Main Street is very convenient: there about 5 banks with cashpoints, a supermarket across the road from the hotel, and only 10 min walk to the railway station.

We had breakfast included in the room cost and want to express our appreciation to the restaurant staff for excellent food and service. Even simple porridge tasted like it was cooked by your granny!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tortie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    41
    13
    3
    4
See reviews for
14
53
15
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Westbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

stayed at this hotel, Friday and Saturday (2nd and 3rd August) and were in Room 10
Staff were all friendly helpful and professional
Ate in the hotel on the Friday night and the meal was excellent

Room 10 - well it was clean but small and I would make the following observations
1. Room was directly above the Kitchen so that when the kitchen staff started breakfast we were woken by the noise - banging etc not sure why this was necessary but for a weekend break was albeit an early call so we could have an early start wasn't really wanted
2. Shower needed replacing/descaling and the floor was v v slippery within the shower cubical and the addition of a non slip mat is in my view essential!
3. No toilet roll holder in bathroom - I know this sounds picky but .......

Although I would recommend the hotel for food staff etc would be reluctant to recommend Room 10 which needs to revert to whatever it was in previous times and isn't suitable for a relaxing weekend - I would stay at the hotel again as everything else was good and the hotel was excellent value for money - Breakfast was great with excellent choices - and as previously mentioned the evening meal was superb!

Room Tip: avoid room 10! as it is over the kitchen and backing onto the courtyard so noisy very early and from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pete r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

I took my wife on a business trip and we were warmly welcomed. There was no problem accommodating us both despite giving no warning that I would be accompanied. The rooms are larger than we expected well equipped free wifi warm and clean. Bathroom newly refurbished and clean. We had a lovely meal with clients and after dinner drinks. Our meeting was next day pm and we were given a late checkout and space in the function room to work before a working lunch agaon with clients. All this at no extra cost (except for lunch). We felt welcomed and well served. We will return.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank trustingdene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in June. This place has a good car park and extends further back and has more rooms than the frontage suggests. Make sure you have a map of how to access the car park at the rear of the hotel - we had to stop at tourist information to ask the way.

Our room was comfortable and looked out over the car park. We ate at the hotel both nights. The Tapas menu was great. Be aware that on Sundays last orders are early - we were aware, but some guests arriving late were caught out by this, and ended up getting a take-away - the staff set up a table for them so they could eat it in the hotel.

Service was friendly, breakfast was very good. We loved Pembroke, and it made a good base for exploring the Pembrokeshire coast.

Our feeling about this place was that it is a good pub with a lot of rooms at the rear, old fashioned in style, quirky and charming with it. For example, it was a long trek to our room, but on the way was a lovely lounge area with TV, magazines and books for guests to enjoy.

If you like modern, sleek, minimalist style then this place probably is not for you. If you want to stay in a comfortable, old fashioned pub with good food and service, then go for it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We didn't stay at this hotel, we were just visiting the castle, but went in for lunch.
I have to say that this was the best and most reasonably priced food we'd eaten during our week in Pembrokeshire. The lamb was delicious and melted in the mouth, my husband said the pork belly was 'amazing', the accompanying vegetables were also cooked to perfection.Both meals were £9.50 each.
It's just down the road from the castle and, had we been staying closer to Pembroke, we'd have dined here every day.
Our compliments to the chef!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank charleygirl13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Absolutely fantastic hotel. A family run business with a great chef. The food was really, really good. The room was clean and equipped with everything needed for our stay. The free wifi was rarely needed since advice as to where to visit was readily given out by the staff. Definitely worth a visit.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosco_Disco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Stayed one night on business. The single room was clean and tidy but basic and slightly dated (ie concealed lighting straight from the 1980s). Bathroom very clean and more recently modernised. Very good cooked breakfast. Good value for money

Room Tip: The postcode took my satnav to the main entrance at the front. If you need the car park follow the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snapper4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pembroke
2.0 mi away
Lamphey Hall Hotel
Lamphey Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lamphey
256 reviews
0.3 mi away
Coach House Hotel
Coach House Hotel
#4 of 4 in Pembroke
172 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western Lamphey Court Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Cleddau Bridge Hotel
Cleddau Bridge Hotel
#2 of 2 in Pembroke Dock
286 reviews
8.6 mi away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
8.3 mi away
Slebech Park
Slebech Park
#3 of 6 in Haverfordwest
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Kings Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Kings Arms Hotel

Property: Old Kings Arms Hotel
Address: Old Kings Arms Hotel Ltd 13 Main Street, Pembroke SA71 4JS, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Pembroke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Pembroke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Kings Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Kings Arms Hotel is a Wales Tourist Board 3 Star hotel and restaurant in the heart of Pembroke, less than 200 yards from Pembroke Castle, birthplace of Henry VII - founder of the Tudor dynasty. The 17 bedroom hotel has been owned by the Wheeler family for over 50 years. The restaurant is renowned for its locally sourced Pembrokeshire produce. There is ample free private car parking to the rear of the hotel. All rooms have BT & ESPN SPORTS and free wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Old Kings Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Kings Arms Hotel Pembroke, Pembrokeshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing