We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 - 17:00
Save
Review Highlights
Sunday visit at Pembroke Castle

After parking the car nearby the Castle we walked in (no admission) the information on the location... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
chrisgeldof
,
Zevenbergen, The Netherlands
A History Geek's Dream

I've been to my share of castles and Pembroke really is one of the best - wonderfully... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
JP H
Read all 2,416 reviews
  
Reviews (2,416)
Filter reviews
2,340 results
Traveller rating
1,823
444
49
16
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,823
444
49
16
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guided tour history teacher free tour well worth a visit henry vii gift aid falconry display knight school i've visited guide book his knowledge lots of history steeped in history entrance fee great visit information boards value for money
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 2,340 reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago

After parking the car nearby the Castle we walked in (no admission) the information on the location is wel done and every place is well maintained.
Great view at the surrounding.
Nice coffee shop with a good cup of coffee.

Thank chrisgeldof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 days ago

Holidaying with the kids in Pembrokeshire, we took a detour to Pembroke to visit the castle.
Lovely imposing historical castle overlooking the mill pond, however, very expensive for a family to visit, especially when compared to the other castles in the area, most of which are free to visit, and those that do are less than half the price.
Personally, i'd recommend exploring other castles in the area.

Thank 923Dan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 days ago

I've been to my share of castles and Pembroke really is one of the best - wonderfully well-preserved and presented and providing a brilliant guided tour of the castle's fascinating history. My wife and I managed to spend five hours here without getting bored and are keen to go back again. Would recommend to anyone with even the vaguest interest in medieval history!

Thank JP H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 days ago

We have visited the place during our summer holidays to Wales and it was great experience indeed! Impressive castle, great location and a long and rich history. It was often besieged, captured a very a few times and it is the place where the king Henry VII was born - you can learn about all of this (and much more) during your visit to the place.
You should pay the visit if the history of England is an interesting subject for you.

Thank CoventryCrusader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

This was the second ghost walk l’ve been on at the castle, with the atmosphere, stories and Halloween approaching, it all added to the exitment of the evening.
Well worth a visit.

Thank Karenfward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

I went here for midnight on Halloween with my roommate, it was really cheap at £10 for a two and a half hour tour that started at 10:30 and finished at 1am. Our tour guide was clearly very passionate about what he was talking about and full of information. He talked about all sorts of paranormal activity and historical events from all kinds of different time periods. Some were quite shocking. He managed to keep our attention! Would absolutely consider going here again next year.

Thank Coastal28976382865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

The castle has been a major local attraction over the ages and is an essential destination for any visitor. Several pleasant hours can be spent exploring the site and enjoying the refreshments on offer in the on-site cafe. Dogs on leads are welcome and as part of a family day out it would take some beating!

Thank Haydn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

Visited Pembroke Castle on a sunny October afternoon with the family and joined a tour. Fascinating and exciting history reported from Stone Age cave through Henry VII to Cromwell and beyond. My son was fascinated. Welcomes energetic kids, well behaved dogs on leads and includes a nice café for exhausted parents. None of the restrictions seen at so many English Heritage sites (its privately owned) so climbing into holes, on walls and spiral staircases that go on forever but worth it for the views. Great day out but do appreciate its a ruined stone castle with uneven floors!

1  Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Visiting tenby with 3 teenagers, what to do to get them away from shops and off their phones for a few hours...
An afternoon at Pembroke castle was the answer.
We enjoyed an excellent guided tour (included in the entrance fee) which lasted nearly 2 hours and gave a good incite into the history of the castle and the role it has played in shaping the country (who'd of thought that from sleepy Pembroke).
Nice cafe on site and parking cost a quid!

Thank Adventure66972574149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had an absolutely amazing experience thanks to Gareth. We couldn’t have got or understood so much about the castle’s history from the displays and posters alone. He brought it all to life. His passion and knowledge came across as he delivered his amazing and so well written stories with a brilliant sense of humour. I love how he still questions aspects of history in the light of new evidence and how some of his stories were told from the perspectives of historical women. He is a true asset to the castle’s trust and an inspiration to everyone who visits.

Thank Terrie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews