We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great home cooked, locally sourced food.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Royal George, Pembroke

The Royal George, Pembroke
Ranked #15 of 41 Restaurants in Pembroke
Price range: US$6 - US$20
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Validated Parking
Description: A traditional community pub established circa 1780. Situated on Pembroke Town Quay with ample "pay and display" parking. Come and enjoy our selection of beers,cask ales, wines and spirits. Serving hearty home cooking between 12:00 and 7:00 PM. (Come choose from our menu of Pub Grub and Bar Snacks and order at The Bar. Your meals will be served to your table. Currently not accepting card payments - cash payments only for the time being. Tafarn Cymreig traddodiadol ar lannau Pwll y Castell, Penfro. Gallwch chwi fwynhau ein detholiad da o gwrw casgen, gwinoedd a gwirodydd mewn amgylchoedd cyfeillgar groesawgar. Sieredir Gymraeg yn Y Siors.
Pembrokeshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great home cooked, locally sourced food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

Couldn't recommend The George highly enough, it really is the best pub in Pembroke. The menu consisted of good pub classics mixed with slight more upmarket-ish choices. My particular favourite aspect was the specials board, crammed with seafood and original, creative dishes. We stayed in Stackpole for four days but travelled into Pembroke for dinner at The Royal George every night. Great atmosphere, welcoming hosts and fantastic food. A thoroughly good time had on every occasion.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Foodiequeenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    15
    4
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South of England
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Pub Grub at its best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013

We went to the Royal George on a Sunday, such a friendly little pub with a good local crowd in and snacks on the bar, something I haven't seen for years. We booked a table for later in the day and all had the Sunday Roast.. Amazing!! so much food they had to bring out the yorkshires on a seperate plate. With all the pubs closing down these days it's nice to see a pub doing well and well supported by the locals

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fab!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

Me and my girlfriend went for a break away down to pembrokeshire. And on our visits we had a meal at the royal george hotel. To start we had garlic mushrooms and scallops which were absolutley gorgeous, although the bacon could have been cooked slightly more for my personal prefrences but i did not ask so it was me to fault. For main course I had the full rack of ribs and my partner had the hunters chicken - and both were absolutley fab - the ribs were full of flavour! The serivce was great, both attentive and professional - Nothing was to much trouble! The waitress was a very cheery lady who the locals obviously loved to ! We will definatly be visiting again on our next break to pembrokeshire can not fault!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“SUNDAY LUNCH”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

WHAT AN EXCELLENT lunch , one of my friends had Lamb as I did , my other friend prefered
Gammon egg & chips , we were all very pleased , first class meal (all three of us) very very good value for money indeed , lovely restaurant enjoyed very much , would RECOMMEND this place !!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank philip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“friendly pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2013

after being took over a few years ago it is great to see that this pub is going from strength to strength, the food is fab, and so is the service, i will be visiting again in September where i will most definitely be eating in the fine dining part.........looking forward to it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hazel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Royal George, Pembroke also viewed

Pembroke, Pembrokeshire
Pembroke, Pembrokeshire
 

Been to The Royal George, Pembroke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing