We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Old Smithy
Nearby Hotels
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$154
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$150
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$126
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$123
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$230
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Slebech Park(Haverfordwest)
US$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cleddau Bridge Hotel(Pembroke Dock)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lord Nelson(Milford Haven)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (24)
Filter reviews
24 results
Traveller rating
20
2
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
20
2
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main housedouble bedfreshwater westmeritonbosherstonwalkerschalet
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 24 reviews
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Beautiful house with delightful little decorative objects adorning the entire space. Felt like we were at a warm welcoming relative's rather than at a B&B. Big comfortable beds and spacious rooms. Good breakfast, though felt food laid out was measured and could've done with some generosity. That is not to say we were left hungry though. It was a pleasant stay, not far from local attractions - highly recommended!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anushaiyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

We found The Old Smithy when we were walking the Pembrokeshire Coast Path. My husband booked accommodation for the 3 previous days only, as he was not sure whether I would last that far, and if I did, we would find something suitable. After walking across wet fields into the village of Merrion, we realised that this was the only B&B within walking distance for the day. Unfortunately for us, there was nobody in. We waited patiently, talked to the neighbours who said that Pauline must have gone for a walk and she would be back soon. Our mobile 'phone had no signal and after 2 hours of waiting, in desperation to get a bed for the night, we decided to walk to another village. We were a mile down the road when a car stopped and a friendly looking woman waived to us. What a relief, to be driven back to a comformable place with a fairy-tale charm, a comfortable bed and good food. As we were tired, Pauline cooked a lovely meal for us. We chatted a lot about travelling, music, good books. There is an interesting library on the stairs and Ian was happy to share it with us.

Breakfast was excellent, with plenty of fresh fruit, as well as the usual full English. We ended up staying 2 nights. Paulin brough us back at the end of the day and gave us a lift the following morning so that we could continue our walk as planned.

Ian dried our wet walking boots for the next day - a very special touch that I have not experienced in 20 years of my walking holidays! We were lucky to find such pleasant and friendly hosts who made us feel so comfortable and relaxed.

Will we be back to The Old Smithy? We have already been back, and are planning to return again.

Room Tip: Every room is a little gem, in a quiet rural location.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olya C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

This B&B was a great place to stay and located just off the Pembrokeshire Coast Path. Pauline was a really good hostess, made us feel very welcome, and helped us with our queries and requests. Our room was comfortable, and the food was a particularly high quality! Since this B&B is in a very small village with no commercial eating places, Pauline cooked us a roast dinner just after we arrived and also supplied an excellent breakfast the following morning. Perfect for walkers at the end / start of a long day of walking!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We had a wonderful stay at The Old Smithy and one we shall never forget. Mrs Forsyth made sure we had a relaxing and enjoyable stay and could not do enough for us, what a source of local information she is, is there anything she doesn't know about Pembrokeshire!
The Old Smithy has to be the nicest B&B we have ever stayed in. It oozes olde worlde charm mixed with comfort and sophistication. The Old Smithy is a traditional old stone house with bags of character and is set in 1 1/2 acres of private land, perfect for peace and quiet and that get away from it all experience.
The B&B is situated alongside the National Park coastal footpath so is perfectly situated if you like walking and exploring the countryside. The stunning limestone cliffs of Stack Rocks and the Green Bridge of Wales along with St Govans hapel are only a stones throw from this delightful B&B. The Old Smithy is surrounded by a wealth of wonderful golden beaches. The village of Bosherston and the lily ponds are just a short drive of 5 minutes away.
Our bedroom was spacious to say the least with a big comfortable king size bed, colour tv and all tea and coffee making facilities are provided too. The room was spotlessly clean and tidy too.
The bathroom was really a marvel it has an old fashioned cast iron roll top bath (just like in the movies) and a marble wash stand, we felt like royalty!!
We had our own comfortable guest sitting room with a woodburning stove which really just made the evening for us after a hard days walking, the room was warm and so cosy, perfect!I have to mention the breakfasts as they really were out of this world, made from fresh local produce, we couldn't wait to wake up every morning just to tuck in to Mrs Forsyths gourmet feasts she really pulled out all the stops for us, we felt touched by all the trouble she went to.
We also had a few lovely evening meals here and again they never failed to live up to our expectations, Mrs Forsyth has high standards, what a chef she is!
At the old smithy we received the warmest of welcomes and service always with a smile and a story or two to tell. We shall definietly be back, we cannot wait.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danni1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews