We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgetable experience a true gem”

The Old Post Office Bistro and Bar
Cuisines: Bar, International, Pub
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating
Letterston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Unforgetable experience a true gem”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We booked the Old Post Office for my fathers 60th suprise birthday party in June and Ruth and her family couldnt have done more for us. They helped us put banners up and practically have the run of the place. We booked the house band Ruth recommended and they were superb and hilarious in equal mesures. Ruths skills don't end in the kitchen either, she plays a mean violin too, what a night! 10/10.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JamesandJen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    1
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Wales
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“quirky and cute”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

The landlady cooked for us even if it was outside the restaurant hours, and special dietry requirement wasn't a problem. The bill was very reasonable, and the food nicer then in a big pub next door. The place has a character and we liked it a lot.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anna_in_Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A warm welcome awaits you at The Old Post Office”
Reviewed 21 January 2013

We have visited this wonderful place many times over the last year , and must say Ruth who owns and runs the place with her family is a very warm and welcoming host who works extremely hard and all hours !
Whether you are looking for a full home cooked meal or snack or afternoon tea , this place has it all . There is also a snug bar which serves very well kept beers and lagers etc .
The small community of Rosebush is very friendly . I can wholeheartedly recommend a visit . You will not be disappointed .

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Huw G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An Unforgettable Experience”
Reviewed 2 October 2012

We were going for a lovely afternoon walk as a couple, our first date in fact. I met Sam at family get together and sparks flew immediately. The atmosphere at the Old Post Office was perfect for our relationship flower to blossom. The food we had was exquisite (they didn't rush between courses which was a good opportunity to get to know each other better). It was all going swimmingly until a balding strawberry blonde came over and distracted me, apart from this slight hiccup I got lucky. BRILLIANT!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank henry f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food and a very warm welcome”
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Great food and a very warm welcome to all. We ate at the Old Post office on two evenings and the food was freshly cooked and delicious. We even joined in the local pub quiz.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AbigailSOU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Old Post Office Bistro and Bar also viewed

Pontfaen, Pembrokeshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing