We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good dinner”
Review of The Grove

The Grove
Ranked #14 of 28 Restaurants in St Davids
Price range: US$18 - US$27
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Really good dinner”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Excellent menu with plenty of fish.
The portions were BIG.
We had pre-dinner cocktails as there was a short wait for a table- we had been warned about this so went earlier. You cannot book on bank holiday weekends.
Shared a pint of prawns to start.
I had a whole mackerel with a lemon and garlic crust which was delicious. My partner had the lamb, peas and boulanger potatoes which he said was excellent.
We shared a lemon tart with elderflower icecream which was divine. All alongside a beautiful red wine.
Staff were helpful and friendly.
The bill was so reasonable I was shocked. Excellent! Would recommend and go back.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank SophieToddler27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    110
    58
    43
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely place for lunch”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We found this place by accident when visiting St David's. We had a relaxed delicious lunch, in lovely surroundings. The staff were so friendly and helpful, and were happy to be flexible on the menu, which, when you have children, is so important.

Would highly recommend to anyone

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice place, great food”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Called in for lunch whilst in St David's. Nice place, bright airy and modern. Food was lovely, I had the walnut and dolcelatta (not sure on the spelling!) tortellini... really nice. The kids menu too was nice, homemade real food instead of nuggets beans and chips.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travellinghappySY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
235 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Looks trendy but food was average.”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

The blue cheese salad had very little cheese and minimum amount of salad other than leaves. Hence the reason for having to order a pudding something we rarely do.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank bernie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leicestershire
Level Contributor
407 reviews
235 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Needs to get its act together.”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We called in for lunch as it looked good and there was promise of good seafood on the board outside. Despite apparent attention to writing down our drinks order the waitress got it wrong. We ordered our meals and waited; the restaurant was not busy. When it eventually arrived, the food was good. Round about us, tables were getting part of their orders and waiting with it getting cold until the rest of their party received their meals. Muddle and waiting prevailed around the bar/payment area. It could be very good - if they got the service side working.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stella317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Grove also viewed

St Davids, St Davids Peninsula
St Davids, St Davids Peninsula
 
St Davids, St Davids Peninsula
St Davids, St Davids Peninsula
 
St Davids, St Davids Peninsula
 

Been to The Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing