We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor quality seafood”
Review of Grove Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grove Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in St Davids
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Arrived for a meal with my wife at the Grove Hotel 'seafood restaurant' on the 14th July 2014 while visiting St Davids.
Very Very disappointed! I chose the 'Shell on prawn' special - what a mistake!
Prawns ( oversized shrimps! ) with NO TASTE at all. Like rubber and must have been in the freezer for ages! I complained to the waiter who said that they were 'Fresh this morning'
No offer to replace or refund! A waste of £30.10 and a complete rip off! - Beware - Never again!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
5  Thank Charles H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (304)
There are newer reviews for Grove Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

172 - 178 of 304 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014

Disappointing meal with family in the restaurant at the Grove. Unable to book a table, so down had to take a chance when we arrived.Pretty chaotic at the bar with people waiting for tables and to be served with drinks.
Service once we had ordered was good and food came quite quickly, but main complaint is the size of portions in relation to what the meals cost.
Fish and chips looked more like a childs portion and the blue cheese salad was a plate of leaves with scarce cheese and walnuts, a few segments of orange and drizzled with olive oil!
Would advise you to reserve a table at the Bishops!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mandy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We stayed for just one night as a part of our holiday from Canada--and found The Grove very convenient for our visit to this lovely 'City'.
Our room had no outside windows and we found it a little difficult to adjust to--although it was beautifully appointed and very comfortable.
We enjoyed our dinner and the breakfast was very good --the staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DOCKSIDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Just a one night stay at the Grove which is well located, about 5 mins stroll from the middle. Check in is a little haphazard, depending on the time of arrival, as you have to compete with the bar customers whilst checking in. The room we stayed in (5) was a small twin. It suffered from the same kitchen ventilation noise reported by other reviewers, and an unpleasant smell, but the bedding was good quality and the room was clean, although in need of refurbishment. The beds were rather hard for my taste. The slamming of doors from the other rooms with the enthusiastic door-closers is annoying.
The eventing meal was good and the wine list imaginative for a Brains pub. Breakfast was also very nice indeed, with excellent bacon!
St David's is busy in August, and many places struggle with parking - the Grove has a large car park which is a definite advantage.
With a little investment, and the management addressing the issues which are constantly highlighted in these reviews, the Grove could be a destination of choice. However, at the moment, it has a number of shortcomings which mean that you would probably choose to stay elsewhere in St David's if you could.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms 4 to 6 which suffer from kitchen vent noise.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank yamana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Have eaten here in prior years visits, stayed here this year and was not disappointed. Very friendly staff, nothing was too much trouble. Room (suite - room 3) was light, comfortable and clean. Breakfast was lovely though they'd run out of porridge by 8.30, but we had lovely poached eggs instead. Great location, not noisy even on Saturday night. Really enjoyed the stay and we will return.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank 5NB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Being attached to the Brains brewery - the range is very limited to the main Brains ales. Despite that, there is a good wine list. But when it gets busy you may have to get up from your table to order drinks, because if it is anything like the night we were there - you'll be told by waiters that they aren't taking drinks orders. However where it was difficult to have an opinion of table staff because we didn't see much of them, the bar staff were friendly. The food is reasonably priced and well-cooked, if unimaginative. Nice enough - but not worth going out of your way for; seeing as there are plenty of nice pubs in St Davids that serve food and good ale, with more atmosphere.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
4  Thank BrickTamland2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

I would have liked to have given four blobs but previous comments about the noise from the kitchen extractors are correct although they did NOT start up at 5.45am as one person said? But there was an unpleasant odour of cooking pervading the room - particularly the loo - which was not very nice.

And the other negative was the absolute chaos in the bar area with one young man trying to make the "screen" work - isn't technology supposed to speed things up? The one guy was trying to take orders for food and serve drinks which is ridiculous ?

However the food was excellent - the rump of lamb, then, the cheese and biscuits was maybe the best I have ever had.

Sort out the service at the bar I'd have given 4 blobs. The extractors, admittedly, are a bit more problematic.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank RichCotswoldChap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Davids
0.2 mi away
St. Davids Cross Hotel
St. Davids Cross Hotel
#2 of 6 in St Davids
351 reviews
0.2 mi away
Twr y Felin Hotel
Twr y Felin Hotel
#1 of 6 in St Davids
214 reviews
0.5 mi away
Warpool Court Hotel
Warpool Court Hotel
#3 of 6 in St Davids
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Ocean Haze Hotel
Ocean Haze Hotel
#4 of 6 in St Davids
56 reviews
12.5 mi away
Wolfscastle Country Hotel
Wolfscastle Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wolf's Castle
441 reviews
22.1 mi away
Best Western Lamphey Court Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grove Hotel

Address: High Street, St Davids SA62 6SB, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > St Davids Peninsula > St Davids
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in St Davids
Price Range: £71 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grove Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Grove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grove Hotel St Davids, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing