We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must do event of the Holiday”
Review of Venture Jet

Venture Jet
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The original Pembrokeshire jet boat experience: the excitement of the New Zealand jet boats, the best of Pembrokeshire's wildlife (seals, dolphins, seabirds), rock-hugging cave exploration, fun jet manoeuvres. Choice of Family (suitable for age 3+) or Adult trips (for adults and older children wanting a bit more excitement). Dog friendly. Trips around Ramsey Island, dolphin spotting off Grassholm and the Smalls. Operating from St Justinian and Whitesands beach, St Davids, Pembrokeshire.
Warrington
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Must do event of the Holiday”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

This boat trip, (We did the wet and Wild option), is unbelievable !. We went as a group of mum dad and 9 year old. Booking on phone was easy , our first choice was booked but they were very helpful helping my wife find a suitable alternative. Book Early may be a day or two ahead its popular for a reason ! The trip is run by people who know what they are doing which is a good thing because Im not a brave person. Its both a thrill ride and a unique chance to get close to wild life. We go to this part of Pembrokeshire whenever we can because I don't think there is anywhere on the Planet as beautiful. This time to tear through the green sea, make fast turns, bounce over waves. We went through caves and under cliffs. I work with cameras so really tried not to take a camera with me most days on my holidays, I regretted it but it will get wet so ideally take a fully waterproof cover or Gopro. I cannot recommend this enough, very big thanks to the superb team at Venture Jet !!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank MDJ63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
venturejet, Owner at Venture Jet, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Thank you for your comments. It’s always useful for us to get passengers’ feedback. Ramsey is a stunning part of Pembrokeshire with some spectacular caves and wildlife. We recommend small cameras that can go in a pocket or inside a jacket when not being used. Larger cameras can go in the locker to protect them whenever we anticipate some spray but of course the seals are adept at popping up when you least expect them. We’re so glad that you enjoyed your time around Ramsey. Thank you for choosing to sail with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    9
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A thrilling fun packed adventure”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Thank you! I was celebrating my 50 th birthday and what a way do do it.
On a perfect weather day we set off towards Ramsey Island and soon were experiencing what this wonderful jet boat can do. After riding the waves like a Big Dipper we spun round losing all speed and then veering left and right banking round so one second you are near the waterooking up at the people opposite the vise versa.
The crew were not only expert with the boat but very knowledgeable about wildlife so we could learn a lot aswel as having a great time.
Would I recommend this trip? You bet!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Terence M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
venturejet, Owner at Venture Jet, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We’re so glad that we were able to get things right for you. The boat’s manoeuvrability is ideal for exploring Ramsey but also for having fun – there’s no reason our New Zealand cousins should have all the fun of jet boats :-). Ramsey is a beautiful place and after decades of seal watching we’re still fascinated by them so it’s great to be able to share that with our passengers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Get drenched - have a great time!”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We went on the Family Wet and Wild trip with 2 children aged 4 and 7. Before setting off, everyone was safely kitted out and seated followed by a safety briefing

The trip started off as planned, bobbing over the water, quite enjoyable etc. The Skipper pointed out some birds and we saw a couple of seals. The boat is fast and we whizzed through some caves, very close to the rocks but never felt unsafe.

The trip should have taken us around the island but as we approached the far side, the weather suddenly turned and we were crashing up and down on some big waves, (although the Skipper assured us they were quite small).

It was great fun smashing through the waves and flying over the top and then crashing back down. We did get completely soaked but at no time did we feel cold, probably due to the 5 layers that we were wearing in August.

The children enjoyed themselves too and just needed a bit of reassurance when the waves suddenly got high. Since returning they have enjoyed telling people about their exciting adventure.

As the weather had suddenly and unexpectedly turned, the Skipper made the decision to go back to shore. We still had a brilliant afternoon and the fact that we didn't see much wildlife was forgotten as it was such an exciting trip. We were actually given a partial refund as we did not go round the island as planned but this did not spoil the trip in any way. We all had a great time and would thoroughly recommend it.

Have a go - great fun but remember to layer up and have a towel and change of clothes in the car!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank mabel13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
venturejet, Owner at Venture Jet, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you for your comments. You had extraordinary weather conditions that day. It’s only the 2nd time in 32 years that we’ve had the wind spike up so suddenly in spite of all forecasts. The sea may not have been rough but the wind did make it turn suddenly very wet – not what we would want for young passengers, however well kitted up they were! We do our best to schedule trips for the best weather windows but if the weather changes suddenly all we can do is admit the weather has beaten us and try to make the best of it, which may mean shortening the trip. Others on your trip also felt that a refund wasn’t necessary but since the wind spike didn’t allow us to do what we had intended we felt it was appropriate. We’re delighted to hear that your young adventurers enjoyed themselves and hope that if ever we take you out again you enjoy more normal weather conditions :-).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Offshore Dolphin Adventure!!!”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We had a excellent boat trip out to Grassholm and The Smalls, with lots of wildlife. The weather was stunning thanks to Venture Jet keeping us regularly updated on weather conditions and whens best to come for a offshore trip. Fully recommend it to anybody who's thinking of going, your never regret it.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Reuben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
venturejet, Owner at Venture Jet, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Thank you for your comments. Offshore trips are terrific but we have to ask our passengers to work around the weather to enable us to give them the best available sea conditions and the best opportunities to spot dolphins. Lumpy seas are not comfortable for any length of time and make spotting wildlife very difficult so we schedule offshores for light winds and minimal swell. Thanks for bearing with us as we tear our hair out trying to read the forecast :-). We're glad we were able to make it work for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walwyn's Castle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wet, Wild and Great Fun”
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

We have been looking at taking a trip to see the wildlife on Ramsey Island for the last couple of years but haven't managed to fit it into our holiday. This seemed the best trip available and we were not disappointed. My 12 year old son and I lived every second of the high speed, well informed trip, seeing sea birds, porpoises, and lots of seals. Also entering several sea caves, getting very close into the beaches and cliffs of this RSPB Sanctuary. Will definitely take this trip again if we come back to Pembrokeshire.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
venturejet, Owner at Venture Jet, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We’re so glad we were able to get things right for you – we do really try! Ramsey is a terrific place, with some great caves to put our jet drive to the test :-) and some lovely wildlife. Thanks for sailing with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Venture Jet also viewed

 

Been to Venture Jet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing