We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely awesome”
Review of Venture Jet

Venture Jet
Ranked #4 of 13 Tours in St Davids
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The original Pembrokeshire jet boat experience: the excitement of the New Zealand jet boats, the best of Pembrokeshire's wildlife (seals, dolphins, seabirds), rock-hugging cave exploration, fun jet manoeuvres. Choice of Family (suitable for age 3+) or Adult trips (for adults and older children wanting a bit more excitement). Dog friendly. Trips around Ramsey Island, dolphin spotting off Grassholm and the Smalls. Operating from St Justinian and Whitesands beach, St Davids, Pembrokeshire.
Reviewed 4 June 2018 via mobile

As a family of 4 with 2 kids aged 6 & 8 we did the "wet and wild" 1.5 hour experience....and what an experience it was. A fabulous time was had by all. The local and wildlife knowledge was excellent and informative without being boring and over the top. Super adrenaline rush for the kids topped by seeing so many seals....so cute! We simply couldn't fault it and would love to return, so please don't give it up.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank nearlyalwaysright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (245)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"jet boat"
in 32 reviews
"great fun"
in 29 reviews
"ramsey island"
in 50 reviews
"handbrake turns"
in 5 reviews
"sea birds"
in 21 reviews
"seal pups"
in 15 reviews
"local wildlife"
in 11 reviews
"adrenaline rush"
in 7 reviews
"these guys"
in 10 reviews
"thrilling ride"
in 4 reviews
"other companies"
in 5 reviews
"great trip"
in 13 reviews
"ramsey sound"
in 6 reviews
"life jackets"
in 7 reviews
"great combination"
in 3 reviews
"safe hands"
in 6 reviews
"getting wet"
in 3 reviews
Filter

12 - 16 of 245 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2017 via mobile

Fantastic experience, we took two 12 year olds that loved the thrill of the boat and the local knowledge from Tim.Amazing, definitely worth it.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank Martin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017 via mobile

We took our 10 and 7year old on Venture Jet's wet and wild wildlife adventure 1.5 hr trips on 29 August. It was an experience well worth the money - the staff were very knowledgeable about the local area and the wildlife. They also obviously had the knowledge and experience to know where to find the seals and porpoises. We were lucky enough to catch the seals breeding season so we saw hundreds on seals of varying ages both out in the sea and in the hidden coves. Throughout the trip the wildlife was respected and an adequate distance was kept between the boat and the animals.

We've previously been on more "commercial" "dolphin spotting" trips elsewhere in Ceredigion Bay on 3 occasions, and failed to see any dolphins! Obviously there is a hit or miss element to this as you're out in the wild - but we felt that Venture Jet were a less commercial outfit who were determined to give their customers a good timed took time to work out where the porpoises were most likely to be (and they were right).

To cap off the adventure, the "wet and wild" element was great in itself. Impressive speed and stunts - but we felt safe throughout.....safe but wet!! Thanks Venture Jet. If you visit St Davids and want a fun, adrenaline filled, but educational experience for both children and adults - this is the trip for you!

Date of experience: August 2017
1  Thank ABJ77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
venturejet, Owner at Venture Jet, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2017

We try hard to find the right balance of wildlife, caves and fun for each group so we’re delighted to hear that we were able to get it right for you. The business is built on us being at sea sharing our love of wildlife and jet boats with our passengers so it is extremely important to us that people enjoy their time at sea with us.
Yes wildlife is unpredictable (particularly cetaceans); knowing their likely feeding areas helps (we’ve been working jet boats around Ramsey for over 30 years so we ought to have some idea :-) ) but the only thing we can guarantee is to take you out on a jet boat :-) .
Thank you for sailing with us and for taking the time to post such a detailed review. It’s really helpful to us to know what passengers value.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

The title of this review is taken from my eldest son's comment after we climbed the steps at St Justinian following this trip. It seems even a 20 year old can be cajoled out of being cool by the allure of the Venture Jet experience

The skipper was literally a mind of information and we learnt so much. He was so patient with everyone and gave everyone so many opportunities to ask whatever questions they wanted answering.

The boat is frankly breathtaking in its power and safety and the skipper seemed to have an effortless grasp of how to achieve that beautiful balance of giving everyone a day to remember whilst always having the keenest eye out for everyone's safety.

It was not rough on the first part of the trip but of course once you head round the far side of the island (Ramsey) there is obviously no getting away from the immense swells and that Atlantic wind! What we paid for in sea spray we were compensated for with beautiful sights of cliffs and nature in its rawest forms.

Thank you Venture Jet - I can honestly say you guys are a class act.

Hope to come back again next year - my nephews are now all over me to include them next time!

G

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank Giles H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
venturejet, Owner at Venture Jet, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2017

Shearwater's job is to keep people as safe as possible while giving them a real sense of adventure and freedom that is pretty unique to the sea. She’s also good at persuading teens and young adults to go on a wildlife trip and finding out that seals are actually really cool too :-).
You have to be quite tough to enjoy Pembrokeshire outdoors sometimes - there's always a cheeky bit of wind or spray about but the views and wildlife take some beating. Thanks for sailing with us and for taking the time to post this – much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2017

We booked onto the Ramsey Island trip in August, and were reliant on the weather for actually going ahead with the booking. On the day of the good weather, I took myself and my 2 children (aged 4 and 7) onto the boat. I was a bit worried how my 4 year old daughter would react - but they both listened carefully to the safety briefing, and I was reassured that they knew what to do should anything happen.
And then we were off! The boat moves really quickly over the water - the kids loved this. In the words of my daughter "this is coooool!!"
We saw loads of seals with their pups, and the kids enjoyed trying to spot the seals bobbing around in the sea. (If you want to see many more seals with pups, I would suggest doing the trip in September). We also saw lots of seabirds, and enjoyed learning about the various wildlife on Ramsey Island, as well as its history. The kids also enjoyed going into the caves.
Although the weather was dry and sunny we were prepared, and had wrapped up warm and in waterproof coats too - although next time I would wear my wellies or sandals as my feet got soaked! The kids loved the thrill of the boat going quickly through the waves, and laughed at me as a wave came over the side and I got soaked!
All in all, an excellent way to spend a sunny afternoon, and a great experience. I would thoroughly recommend (but remember to take the spare clothes!)

Date of experience: August 2017
1  Thank O6707YXemmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
venturejet, Owner at Venture Jet, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We're so glad that we were able to get things right for you. The seals really are the stars of Pembrokeshire wildlife trips. We've been spoilt by seeing so many seals this August & some early pups but yes September is their main breeding season. They're always lovely to watch & they're often as interested in people-watching as we are in watching them.
Thanks too for the excellent advice to prospective passengers: we always ask passengers to take spare clothes & footwear for after the trip - you may not need them (particularly if you’re a youngster sitting inboard) but it’s definitely better to be prepared in Pembrokeshire waters.
We are particularly careful with weather & sea conditions for small children so thanks for bearing with us while we found a good weather window for your youngsters.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Venture Jet also viewed

St Davids, St Davids Peninsula
 

Been to Venture Jet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing