We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“St David's, not Haverfordwest!”
Review of The City Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The City Inn
Ranked #15 of 18 St Davids B&B and Inns
Newcastle-upon-tyne
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“St David's, not Haverfordwest!”
Reviewed 9 August 2012

I was pleased to have a large, en-suite room on the top floor (so no noise from the lively bar downstairs), and didn't care that the view was simply on to other houses. A very comfortable night's sleep, and only a few minutes' walk from the city centre and the Cathedral.

What really raised this out of the 'average' category for me was the food; excellent value pub-grub (the chips were phenomenal) washed down with a good local pint or two, and served by cheerful staff. Breakfast was equally good the next morning. I'll certainly stay there again if my travels take me back that way!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhysPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    24
    33
    6
    3
See reviews for
11
27
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

I was there for 5 nights (with a group that had most of the rooms at the Inn reserved). I had one of the non-ensuite rooms (room 2). The two non-ensuite rooms plus the shared bathroom have a fire door separating them from the main hallway so it was almost like a private 3-room suite. It was less expensive than the ensuite rooms, plus only up one flight of stairs.

Other positive things: it was a good sized room for one person, with a full-sized bed, a nice towel rack, the tea tray included biscuits and hot chocolate, there were lots of pillows, the bathroom had a great shower!! and the place was very clean. Also, the breakfast was quite good, the staff attentive, and the packed lunches they made for us daily (as we were on a hiking trip) were also good.

Negatives: lumpy mattress, pale purple curtains that let in the daylight (a problem in June when the sun rises at 4-something a.m.), creaky floors/doors (it's an old building), and for some people the pub on the ground floor of the Inn was a problem friday and saturday night, with noisy people talking loudly late at night. My room faced away from the revelers, apparently, because I never heard anything (and I'm a light sleeper).

The City Inn itself is located a very short walk to the center of town and there's a nice grocery store just about across the street, great for buying snacks.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank gelana_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

One night stay....received a warm welcome and was shown to my room. It was clean and comfortable with en suite shower and toilet. I then went through to bar where the service was excellent. I had several drinks here and ordered food from the evening menu which arrived promptly and tasted very good. The locals in the bar were very friendly too.
Breakfast was excellent with plenty to eat and served up quickly.

Would recommend this hotel and would like to stay here again but for longer next time.

Thanks again

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyBaxter88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2011

Had a great stay, Weather wasn't too good, but the accomodation was great.Friendly & helpful staff.Lovely food.
A good location only a short walk from St David's breathtaking cathedral,
Will be booking to stay again next year!!!!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spuddog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffs
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2010

We stayed for just one night. The room had a brilliant view as we were at the top of the building. It was a standard room with the usual offerings but the mattress was very thin and lumpy. The bathroom was a bit dated but clean. The service at the bar took ages as the lady did not know how to use the till, when my pot of tea did eventually arrive, it was complete with a hair in the milk jug!
We didn't eat there in the evening as we went into town to eat and drink, arriving back at the hotel about 11.30pm we found it packed with party revellers, but as we were on the top floor (no lift) we did not hear them. We found breakfast very tasty and plenty of it, although the waitress did not wait untill my husband had finished his cereal before bringing his cooked breakfast, that then, sat going cold on the empty table next to us.
For the money, in an expensive area, it was ok and only a few minutes walk intow town.

Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank daffyStaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2010

if you are travelling through the picturesque and historic city o fSt. Davids in PembrokeshireWales; The City Inn is not the place to stay.
having travelled from the USA to visit home and look for accommodation for a family party in 2010, we were very disappointed to be treated so badly at The City Inn.
I arrived ten minutes late for breakfast, (they only have a 30 minute window) they sat me at a dirty table and could only offer me cornflakes, they refused to make anything else.
They threatened me with the police when I refused to pay for the breakfast I didn't get, they were racist and very unhelpful; I would not recommend this place to anyone that was hoping to stay in a warm and welcoming hotel, as this certainly was not.

Helpful?
4 Thank WalesGeoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these St Davids hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Davids hotels
0.3 mi away
Twr y Felin Hotel
Twr y Felin Hotel
#1 of 6 in St Davids
198 reviews
0.5 mi away
Warpool Court Hotel
Warpool Court Hotel
#3 of 6 in St Davids
229 reviews
0.4 mi away
Penrhiw Hotel
Penrhiw Hotel
#3 of 18 in St Davids
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ramsey House
Ramsey House
#1 of 18 in St Davids
451 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ty Boia B&B
Ty Boia B&B
#4 of 18 in St Davids
68 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ty Helyg Bed & Breakfast
Ty Helyg Bed & Breakfast
#5 of 18 in St Davids
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The City Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The City Inn

Property: The City Inn
Address: New Street, St Davids SA62 6SU, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > St Davids Peninsula > St Davids
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in St Davids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The City Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short walk from the centre of historic St. Davids, the City Inn is run by Howard and family, offers a relaxed atmosphere and is a popular inn open every lunchtime and evening. The inn also has 11 bedrooms, 9 of which are en-suite. Large car park available. Located near several Blue Flag award-winning beaches including White Sands Bay, and with many historic sites of interest to explore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Odigeo, LateRooms, Agoda and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The City Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The City Inn St Davids, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing