We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mediocre at best”
Review of The City Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The City Inn
Ranked #16 of 18 St Davids B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 May 2014

A poor welcome.,whilst the hotel was clean could do with refurbishment. bedroom furniture needed repairing and upgrading. basic bathroom fittings. good breakfast and good service. location easy to find, parking available. five minute walk into town. no toilet facilities available in main body of hotel during the day. had to return to room on the second floor to use the facilities .

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (84)
There are newer reviews for The City Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2014

Once you can get past the smell of greasy food that pervades the air throughout the inn this is nice place to stay. I'd booked a "double room" for single use and found the room to be suitable for a single person but would have been a squeeze for 2 - the bed was a very small double. The floor of the room sloped somewhat so you had to watch out for that. Parking is free and right outside and it's just 2 mins walk from the "centre" of the city.

Breakfast was brilliant - really nice home cooked hot food - although with just an hour scheduled most people turned up 5 minutes before 9 and put a lot of pressure on the staff. I also ate in the bar one evening and enjoyed the food.

For the price this was a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ianjmorley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Super-friendly service both on arrival and during breakfast.
Room was freshly decorated, clean and spacious.
Double bed was a little tiny and the mattress was a little bumpy.
Overnight the noise was terrible - lots of shouting outside the pub!
Delicious breakfast.
All in all it was ideal, good value overnight stay but nothing luxurious.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CHARLIE J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

My friend and I had two single suplement rooms for a one night stay whilst walking the Coast Path. Both rooms were doubles with en-suite. The City Inn is a large public house with all that goes with that. Provided you accept the comings and goings, the City Inn has friendly staff, comfortable rooms and a great breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whitehall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

I had a lovely time staying here with my brother on our trip to Wales. We agreed the accomodation was all we needed. The welcome superb and the service great. Breakfast was beautifully cooked and better than at some hotels. Our rooms serviced everyday.Hot water great en suite shower. We had 2 rooms and both were warm but light and airy. Concierge service also reliable and useful

Room Tip: there is no lift
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peta_malthouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

On arrival parking was easy which is always a plus. We had booked the family room which was clean and the en suite bathroom was clean with plenty of hot water. We ate in on the first night (we were only there for 2 nights), the food was okay and there was lots of it and reasonably priced too. The only down sides we found were the smell of cigarette smoke drifting up through the bedroom window which was above the kitchen and we are guessing was a smoking point for staff. Also, we found the bar area very dark. Two large TV's dominated both bars. The breakfast was good - plenty of it and the staff were all accommodating and polite. The centre of St Davids village is within easy walking distance and there is a large supermarket virtually opposite which was very useful. If we were in St Davids again I think we would happily book in here.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheRedDragon3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

WE booked our ensuite room , one double bed and a single plus a sofa.. £75 a night BnB.
A light airey double aspect froom, well presented and spacious.
Pub bit v busy as a Ruby match was being shown, so straight to room. A serious warning for anyone over 6 foot..there is a residents entrance with a VERY dangerous low beam right in front of you as you go in SO poorly signposted as to be a severe hazard. I whacked my head on it so hard I nearly passed out! V V Poor!!
We decided not to eat there as the smell of rancid hot fat wafted up the stairs and was quite offputting.and you couldn't eat in the dining room, just in the bar.
However the breakfasts were excellent, and served by two charming ladies who made you so welcome.
St. Davids is a super little place, rather expensive: 2 large icecreams £8, fish chips peas and a cuppa £18! but if you've a bottomless pit, a fascinating place to visit.
Ambivolent about staying here again though

Room Tip: remember this can be a busy pub and therefore noisy
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Davidwalterdavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Davids hotels
0.1 mi away
St. Davids Cross Hotel
St. Davids Cross Hotel
#2 of 6 in St Davids
344 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grove Hotel
Grove Hotel
#5 of 6 in St Davids
302 reviews
0.5 mi away
Warpool Court Hotel
Warpool Court Hotel
#3 of 6 in St Davids
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Ocean Haze Hotel
Ocean Haze Hotel
#4 of 6 in St Davids
56 reviews
0.3 mi away
Twr y Felin Hotel
Twr y Felin Hotel
#1 of 6 in St Davids
212 reviews
0.4 mi away
Penrhiw Hotel
Penrhiw Hotel
#3 of 18 in St Davids
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The City Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The City Inn

Address: New Street, St Davids SA62 6SU, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > St Davids Peninsula > St Davids
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in St Davids
Price Range: £67 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The City Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short walk from the centre of historic St. Davids, the City Inn is run by Howard and family, offers a relaxed atmosphere and is a popular inn open every lunchtime and evening. The inn also has 11 bedrooms, 9 of which are en-suite. Large car park available. Located near several Blue Flag award-winning beaches including White Sands Bay, and with many historic sites of interest to explore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The City Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The City Inn St Davids, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing