We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to eat if you arrive late.”
Review of Saffron

Saffron
Ranked #11 of 28 Restaurants in St Davids
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: I believe this use to be called Morgan's some time ago.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good place to eat if you arrive late.”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Most other restaurants stop serving at 9 so this is a good place to eat if you arrive late in St Davids. It is a large restaurant so they can usually fit you in. The service is very good, even when the restaurant is busy. The food is perfectly fine, the portions are large and the prices are very fair. It's not as good as our favourite Indian restaurant at home but we enjoyed our meal.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ceb56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    119
    38
    19
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bath, UK
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Decent takeaway”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Last ate here about 2 years ago... This time visiting St. Davids with 2 friends and we have had 2 takeaways so far to avoid the need for cooking! Between use we have tried the chicken tikka, duck tikka, korma, balti and biryani all have been pretty tasty... Not quite top notch takeaway and not as good as I remember from when I last ate here but still decent nonetheless and at fair prices. Would continue to recommend.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GaryAr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herne, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Tasty”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I'm usually not that into Indian Food, but this Restaurant was recommanded to us, so we gave it a try. And it was really good food.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Callisthenic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious authentic Bangladeshi and Indian cuisine”
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

Personal service by Rony combined with hot delectable food made this a memorable restaurant for dinner in St David's. Despite a crowded night the cook and waiters worked overtime to ensure everyone was highly satisfied. Dishes were served with varying level of heat/spice as individually desired.

Helpful?
Thank Moosetwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't Bother”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Average food, rude waiter, poor service.
All was fairly average until we asked for the bill; the waiter proceeded to clean and set a number of tables and then have a chat with the waiter behind the bar, clean a few glasses, chat a bit more, slowly write out the bill - stopping every few seconds to chat and laugh a bit more and then looked amused when I got fed up of waiting and went to the counter to pay. They need to find something they enjoy doing as they certainly aren't suited to the service industry.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MattTheobald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Saffron also viewed

St Davids, St Davids Peninsula
St Davids, St Davids Peninsula
 
St Davids, St Davids Peninsula
St Davids, St Davids Peninsula
 
St Davids, St Davids Peninsula
St Davids, St Davids Peninsula
 

Been to Saffron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing