We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great base for Explorations”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
19 reviews
rear sitting and BBQ area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
St Davids, St Davids Peninsula, Pembrokeshire, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Matthew C
1 review
“Great base for Explorations”
Reviewed 23 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

This is a stunning little cottage, very well presented, will all access to local amenities such as pubs, shops and even a small supermarket! The parking permit makes packing up to go and explore the South Pembroke Coast a doddle and in the evenings it was a real treat to come home to a working stove (logs and kindling already chopped for you) and a comfy bed with soft quality linen. The owners have clearly worked very hard to make this out an outstanding venue for their guests and I would urge everyone to skip the over-priced hotels and book this little gem.

We even met one of the owners on our way out. He was heading into clean and prep for the next guest - on a Sunday. He was a thoroughly nice bloke. If we are ever in the area again, this will be our first choice.

One down point - there's no wifi. On the one side it's nice to escape from work and all that, but with reception in St Davids being so poor for mobiles, it would have been a good idea so that we could plan our trips and review our visits in the evenings. Wifi, as they say, would be the 'icing on the cake'.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The wooden stove
Liked least: The lack of wi-fi
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Oct 2016
Thank you for booking with Best of Wales and for taking the time to leave such lovely comments. The cottage has been really well thought out and so good to see that you appreciate everything that has been done to make your stay special. The chance to escape from emails is part of the property but appreciate that it is important for people and will look at that again.
St David's and the local area have so much to offer with the beaches, little shops and great restaurants. The Coastal Path provides stunning views and the chance to walk off the lovely food that is available in the area.
Suzanne- Best of Wales Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
owlnest20...
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
“A delight for anyone looking for a weekend escape”
Reviewed 18 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We stayed at bythyn clyd st Davids for 2 nights, it was delight,a beautifully presented holiday cottage .The owners have restored the house to a very high standard, with great care and thought,making it a pleasure to stay in . It has everything you might need for a carefree stay including a picnic bag and rug, hairdryer etc . We really enjoyed our short stay,and wouldn't hesitate to return for longer .When you have explored the beautiful beaches and countryside ,return to bythyn clyd and settle down with a fire in the wood burning stove , pour yourself a glass of wine and relax .

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Sep 2016
Thank you for booking with Best of Wales and good to hear you had such a lovely holiday. St David's with the beaches, Coastal Path and restaurants make it a great place to visit. The cottage is so nicely renovated and the wood stove make it so inviting you just not want to go very far.
Hope to see you again soon
Suzanne - Best of Wales Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KShaw1963
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely, comfortable and convenient.”
Reviewed 5 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

My husband, teenage son and myself stayed here for a week in August. This is a quaint, character cottage in the centre of St. Davids. Very clean and cosy and had everything we needed. The little courtyard at the back was ideal for drying wetsuits etc. Fabulous bathroom! This cottage is in a perfect location for exploring the beautiful coastline. It's in the centre of St. Davids so easy access to shops and buses, and a really well stocked supermarket just around the corner. I would highly recommend both the area and this cottage. I would also suggest that guests make dinner reservations well in advance as this busy little town has a limited number of eateries and the popular Bishop pub (with WiFi) is generally at bursting point.
We had a brilliant afternoon on a boat trip with Blue Ocean and went kayaking with TYF Adventure, both worth the extra spend. It is hard to rave about any one particular beach/walk/activity because everything in this area is fantastic. Book it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cosy feel
Liked least: The under stairs cupboard!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Sep 2016
Thank you for the lovely comments and booking with Best of Wales. There are some fabulous restaurants in the area and it is difficult to recommend a particularly beach as there are so many to chose from. The boat trips are great as you see can see so such wildlife and the kayaking is great fun. Hope to see you again soon
Suzanne - Best of Wales Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pete364
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great cottage in a fantastic location”
Reviewed 6 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We had a week here in November and it was perfect. A lovely cosy cottage, nicely appointed and in a great spot in the centre of the village so convenient for the pubs and restaurants. It is within walking distance of the coastal path and we had some fantastic walks around the headland before settling down in front of the wood burner for the evening. all in all a great week.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Homely and cosy
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Sep 2016
Thank you for taking your time to provide a lovely review on your stay at Bwthyn Clyd. We are glad to see that you enjoyed your week at this cottage and that you ventured out for the great walks in the area. We look forward to welcoming you back soon or if you require a different cottage next time please don't hesitate in contacting us.
Best regards,
Ffion
Best of Wales Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottingha...
nottingham, UK
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage, perfect holiday.”
Reviewed 22 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

This was our first family holiday with our 9 month-old baby and we chose the cottage partly because it was baby-friendly and the owners provided a cot, highchair and stair gates which was really helpful. The cottage is beautiful, full of character and lovely touches like the pictures by local artists and Welsh textiles but also well-equipped and comfortable. After a day of walking it was lovely to relax in the roll-top bath!

The cottage is in a great location; around the corner from St David's main square, close to shops, pubs and local amenities and a short walk to the beautiful Pembrokeshire coastal path. There is no parking adjacent to the property but parking is available in a public car park (the owners provide a parking permit) a few minutes walk away which was convenient. The road that the cottage is situated on is quite busy (and people drive surprisingly fast...) but, apart from needing to be aware when manoeuvring the buggy out of the door, this did not disturb us during our stay. We had a lovely time and staying in this cottage really contributed to a perfect holiday - thank you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The style and comfort of the cottage and proximity to the coastal path.
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda A
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Must place to stay”
Reviewed 15 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

This is our second visit to this cottage. The cottage is full of its traditional character and has been beautifully and restored to bringing it up to all the modern conveniences without losing its character. It was very clean, tidy and well decorated. Every single appliance had the instructions to it which was really helpful. Their is an beautifully maintained back yard area where we were able to sit and eat or read or just relax. The cottage was ideal for being in the centre of life in St Davids but only a walk away from the coastal path. If you don't want to use the car there is a local bus service which for about £1 takes you to the nearby wonderfully clean beaches. The owners provided a parking pass for the nearby carpark as there is no direct parking with the property, not a problem though. The local people all around us where absolutely lovely, especially in the local shops and pubs like The Bishops and The Farmers and The Sloop at Porthgain. and made our holiday a real pleasure. Thank you Kevin and Lynda for the use of your wonderful cottage once again, I'm sure we will be back very soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole surroundings and convenience to local facilities and attractions.
Liked least: Having to come home.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deb L
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic, a great place to stay”
Reviewed 4 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012

We have a great stay, all we could have asked for. We have stayed in the area on many occasions, but this is the first time in the centre, and it has been excellent, the cottage is a little beauty. It has been completed to a high standard and has lovely touches, we loved the use of local materials and artists works. It is a great base for walking and cycling, we have not used the car for the week.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything about the cottage, all the touches
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing