We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great cottages, great location, great hosts”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Davids
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ynys Barry Holiday Cottages & Lodges
London
Level Contributor
166 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great cottages, great location, great hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

Used as a base for doing coastal walk and other activities. Cottages are well furnished and spotlessly clean. Surrounding scenery is breathtaking and a fifteen minute walk to a pub that does cooked breakfasts is a plus! Will be back.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DougReid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
7
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2011

I have just come back from my second stay at Ynys Barry and will definetly be going back for many more stays. I have stayed in both Grassholm and Strumble Cottages, both of which are gorgeous!

The cottages are surrounded by beautiful scenery and near Traethllyfn Beach which once found will be visited again!

The owners of these cottages Ian and Dawn are both friendly and have decorated the cottages beautifully

Phone signal can be difficult (especially if you are on o2) however i rather enjoyed being cut off for a week!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traceypiprogers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abergavenny
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2011

We booked Strumble Cottage at Ynys Barry at short notice as we wanted to stay near Porthgain to visit The Shed Seafood Restaurant, The Art Gallery and The Sloop Inn. The cottage was beautifully clean and well equipped and within a stone's throw of coastal paths leading to either the beach or the village. Please note mobile reception is very limited and there is no broadband facilities - great if you want to 'get away from it all' but was a bit frustrating as I own my own business and access to e-mails would have been useful. Will certainly visit again, Ian and Dawn excellent hosts.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HeatherCAbergavenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2011

Stayed in Barry cottage for one week. The cottage was out of this world and more than lived up to its 4* Welsh Tourist Board rating. The owners (Dawn & Ian) were really helpful and friendly and provided lots of valuable information about the area to enable us to make the most of our stay. The cottages are just a few minutes walk from a fantastic beach (check the tides). There was a great pub near by (The Sloop) and The Shed restaurant was excellent - I can recommend their fish & chip night! Lost of lovely coastal walks and St Davids Cathedral is a must. All in all a great holiday and we will certainly be going back.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Penfold63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Davids
5.4 mi away
Twr y Felin Hotel
Twr y Felin Hotel
#1 of 6 in St Davids
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
19.6 mi away
Beggars Reach Hotel
Beggars Reach Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
5.4 mi away
St. Davids Cross Hotel
St. Davids Cross Hotel
#2 of 6 in St Davids
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Cranog Trefin
Cranog Trefin
#1 of 6 in Trefin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
1.4 mi away
Caerhys Farm
Caerhys Farm
#1 of 1 in Berea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Old School Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ynys Barry Holiday Cottages & Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ynys Barry Holiday Cottages & Lodges

Property: Ynys Barry Holiday Cottages & Lodges
Address: Porthgain, St Davids SA62 5BH, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > St Davids Peninsula > St Davids
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 18 Speciality Lodging in St Davids
Hotel Class:4 star — Ynys Barry Holiday Cottages & Lodges 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ynys Barry holiday cottages offers unique accommodation on the footpath to Traethllyfn beach. We are situated 1 field away from the Pembrokeshire coastal path. Its a 12 minute walk to the beach and a 12 minute walk to Porthgain village situated in the village is The Sloop Inn pub and the Shed Fish and chip Bistro. We have 6 self-catering cottages sleeping from 1 to 9 people. Barri cottage Sleeps 2 in 1 bedroom Ramsey cottage sleeps 6 in 3 bedrooms Grassholm cottage sleeps 6 in 3 bedrooms Caldey cottage sleeps 7 in 3 bedrooms Strumble cottage sleeps 8 in 4 bedrooms Skomer cottage sleeps 9 in 4 bedrooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ynys Barry Holiday Cottages & Lodges St Davids, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing