We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want a break away from it all then this is the place for you!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Davids
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ynys Barry Holiday Cottages & Lodges
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Lovely place to stay, close to the Pembrokeshire Coast path.. Spotlessly clean, well appointed cottage,which was modern and comfortable. Dawn and Ian were helpful and friendly hosts. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank LindaO165_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (25)
There are newer reviews for Ynys Barry Holiday Cottages & Lodges
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 25 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2012

Ian and Dawn were fantastic hosts. Showing up tired from a long day hiking, they made me feel welcomed and went out of their way to be helpful. The room came with breakfast fruit and bars which started me on my next day's hike. The pub in town is a bit of a walk on tired feet, but was all worth it.

Room Tip: Book ahead of time. Bring cash: they don't take credit cards.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

My partner and I wanted a last minute break for new year and decided to return to Ynys Barry.
We hadn't stayed in Toby Cottage before but would stay again! Perfect hide away for a break!
Owners also allowed us to look around other cottages that weren't occupied

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank traceypiprogers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

Used as a base for doing coastal walk and other activities. Cottages are well furnished and spotlessly clean. Surrounding scenery is breathtaking and a fifteen minute walk to a pub that does cooked breakfasts is a plus! Will be back.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DougReid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2011

I have just come back from my second stay at Ynys Barry and will definetly be going back for many more stays. I have stayed in both Grassholm and Strumble Cottages, both of which are gorgeous!

The cottages are surrounded by beautiful scenery and near Traethllyfn Beach which once found will be visited again!

The owners of these cottages Ian and Dawn are both friendly and have decorated the cottages beautifully

Phone signal can be difficult (especially if you are on o2) however i rather enjoyed being cut off for a week!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank traceypiprogers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2011

We booked Strumble Cottage at Ynys Barry at short notice as we wanted to stay near Porthgain to visit The Shed Seafood Restaurant, The Art Gallery and The Sloop Inn. The cottage was beautifully clean and well equipped and within a stone's throw of coastal paths leading to either the beach or the village. Please note mobile reception is very limited and there is no broadband facilities - great if you want to 'get away from it all' but was a bit frustrating as I own my own business and access to e-mails would have been useful. Will certainly visit again, Ian and Dawn excellent hosts.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HeatherCAbergavenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2011

Stayed in Barry cottage for one week. The cottage was out of this world and more than lived up to its 4* Welsh Tourist Board rating. The owners (Dawn & Ian) were really helpful and friendly and provided lots of valuable information about the area to enable us to make the most of our stay. The cottages are just a few minutes walk from a fantastic beach (check the tides). There was a great pub near by (The Sloop) and The Shed restaurant was excellent - I can recommend their fish & chip night! Lost of lovely coastal walks and St Davids Cathedral is a must. All in all a great holiday and we will certainly be going back.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Penfold63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Davids
5.4 mi away
St. Davids Cross Hotel
St. Davids Cross Hotel
#2 of 6 in St Davids
344 reviews
5.8 mi away
Warpool Court Hotel
Warpool Court Hotel
#3 of 6 in St Davids
233 reviews
5.4 mi away
Twr y Felin Hotel
Twr y Felin Hotel
#1 of 6 in St Davids
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Cranog Trefin
Cranog Trefin
#1 of 6 in Trefin
72 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Old School Hostel
1.4 mi away
Caerhys Farm
Caerhys Farm
#1 of 1 in Berea
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ynys Barry Holiday Cottages & Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ynys Barry Holiday Cottages & Lodges

Address: Porthgain, St Davids SA62 5BH, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > St Davids Peninsula > St Davids
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 19 Speciality Lodging in St Davids
Hotel Class:4 star — Ynys Barry Holiday Cottages & Lodges 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ynys Barry holiday cottages offers unique accommodation on the footpath to Traethllyfn beach. We are situated 1 field away from the Pembrokeshire coastal path. Its a 12 minute walk to the beach and a 12 minute walk to Porthgain village situated in the village is The Sloop Inn pub and the Shed Fish and chip Bistro. We have 6 self-catering cottages sleeping from 1 to 9 people. Barri cottage Sleeps 2 in 1 bedroom Ramsey cottage sleeps 6 in 3 bedrooms Grassholm cottage sleeps 6 in 3 bedrooms Caldey cottage sleeps 7 in 3 bedrooms Strumble cottage sleeps 8 in 4 bedrooms Skomer cottage sleeps 9 in 4 bedrooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ynys Barry Holiday Cottages & Lodges St Davids, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing